Max

rexy

Max

Dont know what others will think and am not sure what I think really but is Max closer to retirement than many of us realise. When you look at his last 14 months of Footy he has missed a fair bit and to be brutally honest has not been up to his own standard in many games he has played. We need him next year but could that be his last. Is time passing an undersized Key backman by quickly because of the amount he has to put his body through to play out of his size division over the last 12 years?

Maybe this year?
duckduckduckgoose

are we talking about the same Max who comprehensively beat barry hall last week.

His right fist alone should be insured for millions.

I bought a shirt from Target once.
It had a hard tag on it too.

I know how Dal feels.
TimeToShineFellas

Re: Max

rexy wrote:Is time passing an undersized Key backman by quickly because of the amount he has to put his body through to play out of his size division over the last 12 years?
Time will tell - but from watching Max since he started playing for us, I reckon he's got a few tricks up his sleeve still. Still a cagey player capable of giving his opponent nightmares.

Demolished Barry Hall last week and showed his hunger and attack not only on the man but also the ball. He's still got that innate ability to spoil and use his closing speed.....

Would be nice if we can find a key backman next year who can take the pressure off Max next year so he can go to the 2nd or 3rd best opposition forward.

Destroyed Fevola in the second half.

Destroyed Johnson to the point where he limped off in tears.

Destroyed Hall and kept him to zero impact.

Maxie is the most in-form player at St Kilda at the moment, and has lost none of his closing speed or spoiling ability.

I reckon he has a solid 12 months left ... don't forget he didn't start until he was 22, so he hasn't had the grind for as long as some blokes.

Leo.J

I thought Max has been bordering on outstanding considering how much footy he's missed and how quickly he's been able to make an important contribution.

The only thing that will force Max to retire in the next couple of seasons will be injuries, repetitive soft tissue injuries in particular, IMO.

As long as he plays 16+ games in 2008, he should go around again in 2009. He is still easily the best spoiling defender in the competition and is the only player at St Kilda (except for maybe Gilbert) who can spoil without infringing.

He IS the best defender in the competition. I was concerned that he might've slowed down this year with all of his injuries, but now that he's got a decent fitness base, he is in outstanding form again. It amazes me that after all these years (and injuries) he can still be caught three meters behind a leading forward with less than a second before the ball gets to them and he gets a clean fist on it to save us another goal.

Ball_Breaker

Funny, I was thinking along similar lines to some of the above. Some of Max's spoiling has been phenomenal in recent weeks. Made me realise how much we missed him. Has to be the best in the comp at sticking with a leading forward then getting his fist on the ball - through the arms, around the body. Also the timing of his tackles when his opponent doesn't get to the flight of the ball is spot on. Completes our backline beautifully - I reckon he has at least 2-3 more years if the body holds up. Fingers crossed

Lost in the St. Kilderness
TimeToShineFellas

mad saint guy wrote:He is still easily the best spoiling defender in the competition and is the only player at St Kilda (except for maybe Gilbert) who can spoil without infringing.

It amazes me that after all these years (and injuries) he can still be caught three meters behind a leading forward with less than a second before the ball gets to them and he gets a clean fist on it to save us another goal.
Agreed and I get used to get annoyed (and slightly miffed these days) when commentators would start raving on about how great Mal Michael's spoiling was the best in business.

Just another case of Maxy flying under the football public's radar.

Relax with Max.... he will play on........ he is still a great defender.

Some of his spoils the last three weeks were just brilliant.
Looked like he was beaten, but he would launch himself horizontally and get that fist in.
Sheer class.

In one game he had 11 spoils.
He is our most reliable defender.
As long as the body holds out he can and should go on.

Good one Max.

Max is still in peak form, don't know where some of you are coming from. Took a little to get back to peak fitness after an interrupted pre-season, but will be pivotal for our finals chances this year.

Max has definitely still got it.

He definitely doesn't need to play for money, but I think he'll keep playing for as long as he enjoys it. Let's hope his body is sound & he can keep on keeping on.

its ridiculous this thread was even started.....

duckduckduckgoose wrote:are we talking about the same Max who comprehensively beat barry hall last week.

my thoughts exactly................. :wink: :lol:

midas_touch

His spoiling on the lead, along with his closing speed is one of the best in the comp, as seen in recent weeks i.e. some of his diving spoils on Johnson were phenomenal. As long as he doesnt become injury plagued, I can still see him playing for at least another year, maybe two.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)

Re: Max

rexy wrote:Dont know what others will think and am not sure what I think really but is Max closer to retirement than many of us realise. When you look at his last 14 months of Footy he has missed a fair bit and to be brutally honest has not been up to his own standard in many games he has played. We need him next year but could that be his last. Is time passing an undersized Key backman by quickly because of the amount he has to put his body through to play out of his size division over the last 12 years?
I agree rexy, but I do think his game against the Swans was very good last week. His best game for quite some time.

max leaves his man to help his team mate, max spoils instead of going for the mark, and max goes for the ball.

sometimes he is hurt by bad luck or poor support from his team mates, but he does the right things.

he was hurt when a team mate ran off from their position and didn't contest the ball and he copped the blame.

he does make mistakes, but usually its his team mates that make him look bad.

natural football one of the best defenders saint kilda have and on current form the best defender.

last year I would have placed him behind s. fisher and maguire, this year on his return straight to no.1

duckduckduckgoose wrote:are we talking about the same Max who comprehensively beat barry hall last week.

Exactly, I don't know why people don't seem to rate him all of a sudden??? :roll: