Bowes

axcellence

Re: Bowes

I am not a betting man… but saints not being in the deal discussion is a joke. This whole situation just shows how dire things are at the Saints HQ.

Absolutely no hope.

axcellence wrote: Mon 03 Oct 2022 3:58pm I am not a betting man… but saints not being in the deal discussion is a joke. This whole situation just shows how dire things are at the Saints HQ.

Absolutely no hope.
Why because you don't agree with it?
Tell us all what the list strategy is.

Bowes apparently wants to go to Geelong. If he doesn't want to come to us, he doesn't want to come.

Now, a few clubs are interested, so Bowes will only go to another club if the $$$ are better. He's owed $1.5 million over two years on a back ended contract. He'll go to Geelong probably on a 5 year deal worth $2.4 million. Now, if we or another club go knocking his manager will say "He wants to go to the Cats. We'll think about it if you can cough up $2.8 million over 5 years, otherwise forget it." Then we have the risk of it becoming a bidding war and the price keeps going up. Where are you prepared to stop? My guess is Gold Coast will facilitate the Geelong move as quickly as it can.

It's fine to sit here and sh#tcan our club around this, but there may be other things at play we don't know about yet. Either way, once a player indicates a strong preference for where he wants to go, it's pretty damn hard to stop that from happening.

D.B.Cooper

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 03 Oct 2022 1:39pm Hawkins+wife bought 62 ha farm, 20 mins from Geelong.
I saw an article on them.
They had a flat in South Yarra that they renovated (rental) and sold it early this year for 1.6mil.

They're both 'brand ambassadors' for an Aussie company.
That might give some $$ as well.
He's been assisted along the way, I suggest, by Geelong supporters who are keen to make his life easier.
He drives a Ford Ranger or something (there's a recent video of his team-mates pranking him with a loud buzzer hooked up to his reverse lights). Was the Ranger offered at Mate's Rates?

Our club cannot play with the big boys like the Cats, Pies, Tigers, etc.
The Bombers keep imploding, don't worry about them.
But despite our top guy being a self-made millionaire, the club is simply making up the numbers.
If we moved to Tassie, we could do what the Cats are doing.
Exploit the location and harness all it has to offer.
If it gets us 2 flags in 5 years, I'm sure the Vic-based supporters would be grateful.
I would think that quite normal and not excessive at all for a guy who has played professional sport at a very good standard for 16 years.

I know an 18 year old Commonwealth Games athlete (yet to appear in an Olympics or win an individual medal) who drives a sponsor supplied Mustang.

Rooey drove AMG Mercedes promotional vehicles for years. Ask Fly at Mercedes Brighton how many players get vehicles supplied?

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

Tom Hawkins last contract was in the millions. His father attended Melbourne and Geelong Grammar and owns a 3500 hectare farm in Finley and also has interests in a much larger farm owned by his father since the 50's. There is no shortage of wealth in the Hawkins family

Bowes wants to go to Geelong

Do they have different salary cap!!

Gain pick 7 too......

chook23 wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 3:21pm Bowes wants to go to Geelong

Do they have different salary cap!!

Gain pick 7 too......
Yep, smoke & mirrors. David Copperfield is their List Manager.

Saint 58

Bowes picks Geelong
What a f****** hero he is

So lets see ...
he's owed $1.6 mil for THE LAST TWO SEASOMS, I.E. BACK PAY
Geelong players play for unders $$
They'll somehow squeeze him in cos he'll obviously take a pay cut as everyone does at Geelong
They also get pick 7
All good, nothing to see here

What a f****** joke this comp is 😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

Will be a good VFL player at Geelong

spert wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 3:59pm Will be a good VFL player at Geelong
Pick 7 might be a gun though

chook23 wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 4:18pm
spert wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 3:59pm Will be a good VFL player at Geelong
Pick 7 might be a gun though
Especially if that gun is Cam McKenzie. That will sting!

They’re also likely to pick up the 20 year old brother of current Cats player Jack Henry

Oliver was taken at pick 17 a couple of years back by Collingwood.

Nice for Geelong to have a spare $800,000 in their cap.
I wonder how they manage that?

Scollop wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 5:11pm They’re also likely to pick up the 20 year old brother of current Cats player Jack Henry

Pies should demand pick 7 for Henry

Banger9798 wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 5:29pm
Scollop wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 5:11pm They’re also likely to pick up the 20 year old brother of current Cats player Jack Henry

Pies should demand pick 7 for Henry
And they might get it. O Henry could be the perfect replacement for G Rowan

Banger9798 wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 5:29pm Nice for Geelong to have a spare $800,000 in their cap.
Apparently its for 2 years aswell. Even if they smooth it out over 4 years HTF do they fit 400k per year into their salary cap for a VFL player?

Be very interested to see what outside/external payments are being made down there? There is something very smelly - they would be hoping no one ever looks under the carpet.

So Geelong can fit his salary under their cap but we can't?!

One of us is doing something very wrong.

D.B.Cooper

The_Dud wrote: Thu 06 Oct 2022 8:38am So Geelong can fit his salary under their cap but we can't?!

Are they mutually exclusive?

We had a player they (Suns) wanted and we still weren’t in a position or did not want to do the deal that would have handed us #7 and a reasonable player.

Seems mind boggling to a layman like me.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

The_Dud wrote: Thu 06 Oct 2022 8:38am So Geelong can fit his salary under their cap but we can't?!

Where does it say we can't fit it in?

Impatient Sainter wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 8:37pm
Banger9798 wrote: Wed 05 Oct 2022 5:29pm Nice for Geelong to have a spare $800,000 in their cap.

Apparently its for 2 years aswell. Even if they smooth it out over 4 years HTF do they fit 400k per year into their salary cap for a VFL player?

Be very interested to see what outside/external payments are being made down there? There is something very smelly - they would be hoping no one ever looks under the carpet.
That's the furphy they are trying to sell. How can anyone buy it? Why would anyone who is due to be paid $800K a season for two seasons agree to being paid $400K over four seasons - unless it will take those additional two years to build a waterfront townhouse on the Bellarine to house stray / retired cats???

It's the significant advantage the 6 unassisted clubs now have over the 12 assisted clubs, they can hide all manner of dodgy dealings. For those who aren't aware, the AFL forced 12 clubs to hand over complete control of thier finances in return for financial assistance during the Pandemic.

It's why Geelong and Richmond have been able to win flags and buy the comps best players.

Vortex wrote: Thu 06 Oct 2022 2:22pm It's the significant advantage the 6 unassisted clubs now have over the 12 assisted clubs, they can hide all manner of dodgy dealings. For those who aren't aware, the AFL forced 12 clubs to hand over complete control of thier finances in return for financial assistance during the Pandemic.

It's why Geelong and Richmond have been able to win flags and buy the comps best players.
Some of those 12 assisted clubs contributed massively to the AFL buyback of Docklands through their rent and buy payments for each game played at Docklands.
All clubs now indirectly own a share of Docklands with some contributing nothing.
Now the AFL owns Docklands maybe those unassisted clubs should be referred to as the bludger clubs including Richmond, Melbourne, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Geelong, West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide, Port Adelaide

Then remember this
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/clu ... 54i0g.html

Geelong pay a future 3rd rounder for Bowes and pick 7

How the f*** does that happen!!

Banger9798 wrote: Tue 11 Oct 2022 8:28pm Geelong pay a future 3rd rounder for Bowes and pick 7

How the f*** does that happen!!
Like capitalism, the system needs reformimg.

CarlD

The AFL making it up as they go along so that it helps out their Gold Coast love child. Mismanagement by the Gold Coast got themselves into that mess and they should have had to work their own way out. There is no way that trade should have been permitted.