Just announced on Channel 7 - Hannebery to retire

D.B.Cooper

Re: Just announced on Channel 7 - Hannebery to retire

Good news.

I was concerned we’d double down and give him another season.

The trade was a spectacular fail, glad common sense has prevailed.

There is no point for a farewell game, look to the future not the past.

Best of luck in your next chapter Dan, I’m sure you have it everything you had, but once the body is cooked your time is up, regardless of how great you once were.

Hopefully frees up cash to chase a free agent.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

Shame that it didn't work out. Superstar player. Most skillful player on our list and equally the most competitive.

It was a bit late this career to take him on with some injury concerns, but he tried hard when given the opportunity. I think the club needs to decide on going forward with young players rather than patching up a rusty bucket with older players, which is the easy way out.

One of just 22 players to have played in a St Kilda finals win since the 2010 Preliminary Final.

Beno88 wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 9:07am One of just 22 players to have played in a St Kilda finals win since the 2010 Preliminary Final.
That is one sad stat.

Gears didn’t get a farewell game and they won’t give Kent one either.

No farewell game.

I suppose we can now reflect on the whole saga for the foreseeable disaster that it was. Pity all those highly paid people employed by the club aren't very good at reading the writing on the wall.

Let's hope for Dan's sake he didn't invest too much of the millions we gave him in "beers" with all that spare time he had.

We gave Dan his superannuation for no return
Just another debacle to add to the list. Bad luck ? Not so sure

Persisting and developing young talent is the way to go May take longer but will be sustainable

The only reason to top up would be when you have a gun side to start with…..we have been run by peanuts for too long

It may be true but I find it somewhat strange, given that Hannebery's imminent retirement would normally receive widespread media coverage, that this has not been taken up by other news outlets - is it just another beat up by Tom Browne???

At least we won't lose Skeppers as a supporter now.

Sanctorum wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 10:34am It may be true but I find it somewhat strange, given that Hannebery's imminent retirement would normally receive widespread media coverage, that this has not been taken up by other news outlets - is it just another beat up by Tom Browne???
Scoop must be trying to impress dad with his journalistic prowess. :lol:

StPeter wrote: Wed 17 Aug 2022 9:04pm They also suggested that Ryder would also not be offered a contract and would also be retiring.

While both decisions seemed to be speculative, they seemed to think they had firm ground to be making them.
Sensible if true, Paddy has been great for us but his body has had enough

The Fireman wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 9:56am We gave Dan his superannuation for no return
Just another debacle to add to the list. Bad luck ? Not so sure….
Exactly

When we ask about St Killda and is it competitive-
There is exhibit number one

Wheel him in - (on his wheel chair) ..

Now what did we learn?

Everyone knew something was rotten in Denmark from the get go..

The money is paid for by the AFL…but the slot in the team and the hole in our pride is paid for by players, club and coaches ..

They have to work with marked cards.

Killa wrote: Wed 17 Aug 2022 9:12pm The question is what was in the email for such a response to be provided

The response covers the position of every Club which does not win the premiership - so the 17 Clubs which need to review performance to bridge the gap to the premiership Club

And even the premiership side looks for improvement to stay ahead of the chasing pack

That is the competition

And St Kilda is part of that competition

St Kilda has deficiencies across its List - as do all sides given the construct of that List (including salary caps)

A determining factor is a healthy List

Because the construct of the List (so Drafting players from the Under 18 competitions) will see injuries impact on any Club

In my opinion, in the first instance, you need mature players with class in key positions and build around them

Under them you introduce youth - that youth then transitioning to key roles as they gain experience

It is a never ending process

A process all at St Kilda (and every other Club) are committed to, 100%

That the Club has responded is a credit to the Club

That an email was sent resulting in a response not so much
Least you got a response. Many clubs ( depending on what the email says) may just bump it to the junk folder.

SaintPav wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 9:35am
Beno88 wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 9:07am One of just 22 players to have played in a St Kilda finals win since the 2010 Preliminary Final.
That is one sad stat.

No farewell game.
Don't be surprised if Kent plays.
I'm hearing that they are congratulating him at training. Maybe they're expecting another baby.

kosifantutti wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 12:35pm
SaintPav wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 9:35am
That is one sad stat.

No farewell game.
Don't be surprised if Kent plays.
I'm hearing that they are congratulating him at training. Maybe they're expecting another baby.
Hope the Kent does get a farewell game.

Let's hope the next number 10 for the Saints has better fortune...

Dan Hannebery - 17 games in four seasons.
Nathan Freeman - 2 games in three seasons.
Daniel Markworth - 0 games in four seasons.

All the best Dan. Wished your time at the club was remotely successful.
Absolute beast of a player at his best.

Beno88 wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 2:52pm Let's hope the next number 10 for the Saints has better fortune...

Dan Hannebery - 17 games in four seasons.
Nathan Freeman - 2 games in three seasons.
Daniel Markworth - 0 games in four seasons.
As our stats man might say, exponential growth.

As we learned the hard way (let's hope we have, anyway), past performance doesn't guarantee future returns.

samoht wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 3:08pm As we learned the hard way (let's hope we have, anyway), past performance doesn't guarantee future returns.
That’s given me a thought. The club could go with the theme next year of “We’re all in this together!”

Maybe not…we’d probably be breaching copyright…

Sebastian Tombs

Fun Fact

Dan was on more Footy cards as a StKilda player , then he played games 24 cards to 17 games

I wish him all the best in what ever he chooses to do after his time at St.Kilda. He was a great player but sadly for us he was cooked before he got here & never really had much impact but that's not his fault . I'm sure he had good intentions but his body just kept failing him. Time to move on now put it down as a very bad decision & hopefully learn from it.

saintkid

The Fireman wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 9:56am We gave Dan his superannuation for no return

Persisting and developing young talent is the way to go May take longer but will be sustainable

The only reason to top up would be when you have a gun side to start with…..we have been run by peanuts for too long
Yes, well said Fireman.
The AFL's laughing stock club to give Hannnebery his farewell game...lol.
It should have happened at the Swans.
If this review is fair dinkum by the St. Kilda Board, his mate Lethlean needs to be escorted through the exit door too.

saintkid wrote: Thu 18 Aug 2022 10:40pm

Yes, well said Fireman.
The AFL's laughing stock club to give Hannnebery his farewell game...lol.
It should have happened at the Swans.
If this review is fair dinkum by the St. Kilda Board, his mate Lethlean needs to be escorted through the exit door too.
Could be part of Dan's negotiated retirement.