And so it begins

D.B.Cooper

Re: And so it begins

B.M wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 3:56pm Coaches demand?

Interesting?

What I meant was how many wins would a ‘great coach’ get in a season with the CURRENT list?

Because I’d say 10-12
What is the difference with Collingwood in 2022?

2018- 3rd
2019- 4th
2020- 8th
2012- 16th

Clearly a club in decline.
Salary dumped some talent.

Enter McCrae and a different style of footy than under Buckley and they are having a very good season.

Does not mean it’s sustainable or they will be a force.

But I’d argue heavily that a new voice, attacking style of play and approach has refreshed the group and they are enjoying their footy and getting results.

The coach IMO has clearly impacted significantly in season 2022.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

They’ve won 11 games by 2 goals or less

Yes, they’ve been great, efficient, kicked well but they could have easily dropped 3 or 4 of those?

Are we calling McCrae a great coach? He’s had 20 games in the job.

Collingwood had 25 less i50s and less scoring shots than Melbourne
They just took their opportunities and Melbourne did not

Saintmike65

B.M wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 4:55pm They’ve won 11 games by 2 goals or less

Yes, they’ve been great, efficient, kicked well but they could have easily dropped 3 or 4 of those?

Indeed…they should have also lost to North, Suns and Essendon.
Credit where it’s due but is almost inconceivable that a team that’s won about 15 games only has a percentage of around 106!!

Do the Pies have a bad kick? If Jones cannot improve his kicking he might never get back in.
Those line breaking switch kicks left the rugby maul style of Melbourne's big 4, May & Lever just hanging.

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 8:05am
B.M wrote: Fri 05 Aug 2022 6:27pm

Jeans at Richmond

Jeans at St Kilda?

Was Jeans a great coach at StKilda?
Did he get the best out of his talent base?

Did Jeans cost us the 1971 flag by not making a move on Keddie? Keddie kicked 4 last quarter goals and missed two sitters.

I bet the 1971 fan forum went into melt down that night on Cat Colling.

Did Stan cost us the 1997 flag by not moving Burke onto Jarman.

Keddie/Jarman deja vu.
Stan absolutely lost us 97, I will never forgive him
Max should have played on barman after half time
Shanahan was a dumb matchup

D.B.Cooper

No need to take the extreme position, no one is calling McRae a great coach or the current results are sustainable.

They could have dropped close games but they didn’t, coulda, woulda, shoulda!

Please stick to the facts:
- something has turned Collingwood from a downward trajectory and 18th last season to a top 4 team this season.
- they are playing a far more attacking adventurous style of footy
- the players are up and about in the media talking of how much they are enjoying their footy this season

In my opinion the new coach has had a large impact in this turn around.

Do you agree?

They may bomb out in finals and finish last next season, but thus far the coaches impact is significant.

When realising the skunks improvement all I could think of was their coach

D.B.Cooper

The Fireman wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 6:30pm When realising the skunks improvement all I could think of was their coach
Maybe they sorted out a fair bit of backend issues when Eddie departed, maybe they have a new fitness team, maybe the players hated Buckley- who knows?

I do think he would have to be a significant part if the turn around.

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 6:41pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 6:30pm When realising the skunks improvement all I could think of was their coach
Maybe they sorted out a fair bit of backend issues when Eddie departed, maybe they have a new fitness team, maybe the players hated Buckley- who knows?

I do think he would have to be a significant part if the turn around.
Yep all of those things When you have a group of blokes do a 180 degrees turnaround you’d be crazy to think the coach doesn’t matter
We were too quick to sign Ratten. If he proves me wrong it will be a marvellous misjudgment on my part. But I sincerely doubt it

maverick wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 6:13pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 8:05am
B.M wrote: Fri 05 Aug 2022 6:27pm

Jeans at Richmond

Jeans at St Kilda?

Was Jeans a great coach at StKilda?
Did he get the best out of his talent base?

Did Jeans cost us the 1971 flag by not making a move on Keddie? Keddie kicked 4 last quarter goals and missed two sitters.

I bet the 1971 fan forum went into melt down that night on Cat Colling.

Did Stan cost us the 1997 flag by not moving Burke onto Jarman.

Keddie/Jarman deja vu.
Stan absolutely lost us 97, I will never forgive him
Max should have played on barman after half time
Shanahan was a dumb matchup
We lost '97 because we had no rucks

B.M wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 3:56pm Coaches demand?

Interesting?

What I meant was how many wins would a ‘great coach’ get in a season with the CURRENT list?

Because I’d say 10-12
That’s not what u asked - u asked what a great coach would do with the list
It’s pretty simple a great coach would know the type of players he wants and not allow a Petracca /McCartin fiasco to occur
I’ll give you 1 more cause I’m feeling generous- a GREAT coach adapts a game plan to suit his existing lists capabilities…do you think our current game plan maximises this lists strengths??? Say a gun key forward who in a top side I’ve no doubt would be killing it weekly ???
Your turn

8 shots at goal from 22 entries for St Kilda until half time in the game tonight. That’s 36% efficiency for inside 50’s

Geelong on the other hand had 13 shots from 21 entries

Geelong’s efficiency for inside 50’s up until half time is 62%.

We need new assistants and we need a new forwards coach

I just want to know how many wins would a ‘great coach’ get with this list?

That’s all??

Not what a great coach does… apparently

Kick-it-lace-out

tony74 wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 8:53pm Mc.Glynn is gone
When is Ratten going?

The Recruit

Kick-it-lace-out wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 11:15pm
tony74 wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 8:53pm Mc.Glynn is gone
When is Ratten going?
Please sack them all
Ratten great manager of people
Terrible football coach

Lade has to go, the forward line is amateurish
Batchelor has developed nothing since 2018…

We need better coaches and some proper talent. It’s all very middle of road garbage at the moment

Disagree on Batchelor

Op had me thinking about this tune

Not sure if Smokey and Suzi Q had the Saints players/game style in mind…or if they were talking about Saints fans

Our love is alive, and so we begin
Foolishly layin' our hearts on the table
Stumblin' in
Our love is a flame, burning within
Now and then firelight will catch us
Stumblin' in

B.M wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 10:30pm I just want to know how many wins would a ‘great coach’ get with this list?

That’s all??

Not what a great coach does… apparently
I just want to know if you think this side coached by Allistair Clarkson would slide from 8-3 to now be ranked 17/18th in the league on contested possessions and %

Or Ratten is as good as it gets in your world??
On that score ….you’re suggesting anyone could coach them and coaches aren’t worth the hundreds of thousands paid to them…..right??

I just want to know how many wins you thought Collingwood with their list debacle last year that you thought they’d get this year? Did you have them top 2???

Maybe the players just organised themselves into a new game style after Buckley left and told the new coaches this is how it’s gonna be ???? I mean you don’t even need a coach right ??

c**k on the block time Marty let’s hear it

Was Buckley a poor coach?

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 6:17pm

No need to take the extreme position, no one is calling McRae a great coach or the current results are sustainable.

They could have dropped close games but they didn’t, coulda, woulda, shoulda!

Please stick to the facts:
- something has turned Collingwood from a downward trajectory and 18th last season to a top 4 team this season.
- they are playing a far more attacking adventurous style of footy
- the players are up and about in the media talking of how much they are enjoying their footy this season

In my opinion the new coach has had a large impact in this turn around.

Do you agree?

They may bomb out in finals and finish last next season, but thus far the coaches impact is significant.
Thank you but you’re arguing with someone who just doesn’t want to get it
Coaches impact good ones positively

B.M wrote: Sun 07 Aug 2022 6:07pm Teflon

Why don’t you just answer the question? Instead of answering a question with a question?

Coaches have used by dates in my opinion. In the end they tie themselves in knots trying to overthink everything ( sometimes) which is why good assistants are crucial. A mate of mine played under Rocket Eade. Reckons by the end of his tenure at the Swans there was a team rule, set up, plan for every part of the game. Basically kick it to the boundary and set up. The players were infuriated by the end. Was he a s*** coach?

I reckon Bucks fell for the 3 card trick. Thought he had a premiership team. Overcommitted. Then over coached. Looked like he micro managed everything by the end.

I think you’re right and wrong. Of course coaches don’t kick and mark. But they drive standards, inspire, put in place game plans that suit the team they’ve got, ie Richmond in 2017 with one KPP fwd.

What, in your mind, is a bad coach? Our team is playing with zero cohesion, we transition fwd and have no one to kick to, opposing teams are walking in goals with zero pressure. When does it become a coaching problem? Or do we just acknowledge that the players are crap and move on?

Was Buckley a good coach?
Let’s play
I think he was , I think he got his teams into winning positions over a number of seasons
Ran his race in the end
What day you great question asker with little answers except after the fact ??

The list is a 9-12 list imo

Wouldn’t matter if Clarkson was coach

He wouldn’t have a Roughead, Lewis, Hodge, Mitchell, Burgoyne, Smith, Frawley, Gunston, Rioli type list

He’d have a list like he did at Hawthorn when he was given the lemonade and Sars!

Coaches are very important

But as far as influence on results go

The quality of the list is what gets it done?

Moods wrote: Sun 07 Aug 2022 6:25pm

Why don’t you just answer the question? Instead of answering a question with a question?

Coaches have used by dates in my opinion. In the end they tie themselves in knots trying to overthink everything ( sometimes) which is why good assistants are crucial. A mate of mine played under Rocket Eade. Reckons by the end of his tenure at the Swans there was a team rule, set up, plan for every part of the game. Basically kick it to the boundary and set up. The players were infuriated by the end. Was he a s*** coach?

I reckon Bucks fell for the 3 card trick. Thought he had a premiership team. Overcommitted. Then over coached. Looked like he micro managed everything by the end.

I think you’re right and wrong. Of course coaches don’t kick and mark. But they drive standards, inspire, put in place game plans that suit the team they’ve got, ie Richmond in 2017 with one KPP fwd.

What, in your mind, is a bad coach? Our team is playing with zero cohesion, we transition fwd and have no one to kick to, opposing teams are walking in goals with zero pressure. When does it become a coaching problem? Or do we just acknowledge that the players are crap and move on?
Yup
He doesn’t like talking about who drives the system and standards cause that leaves him nowhere to go
It’s just coach x y = good/bad
Very simple world ..