De Goey 5 year deal 800 a year.!!

Re: De Goey 5 year deal 800 a year.!!

Wayne42 wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 2:36pm
Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 11:49am
SinCitySainter wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 10:53am They are thinking about paying De Goey $800 K a year for 5 years, that is $4M.
It would be fiscally irresponsible for a company in a stretched debt position like the Saints to do that without full support of the board.

The board are responsible for the broad financial and strategic direction of the club.
They are the ones that need to review the impact of any decision with potential impacts beyond just on-field.
With De Goey's history you would need to do your due diligence before offering him a contract.
What we pay the players has nothing to do with the debt.
The AFL requires all teams to pay the salary cap to its players. You may "bank" some of that for a certain amount of time, but you must spend at least 95% of the cap every year.

Wasting money on an "elite" training facility at Seaford wouldn't have helped our debt. Then building another one back at Moorrabbin didn't help.
Spending 800k per year on a player and still being under the salary cap is not an issue.
I don't think Seaford was a waste of money at that time.
Seaford was state of the art compared to the dump that was Moorabbin.

Not sure how much money the Saints contributed to Seaford but i don't believe it was big dollars.
Anyone know the facts on that ?
We did that move because of 10 poker machines! We should have stayed at Moorabbin and upgraded it.

It cost us $1.43M plus all additional costs and who knows what that ended up to move to Seaford.
It also cost us the ability to recruit anyone of note.
And "crushed the club" according to our former skipper.

Then we paid $5M to move back to Moorabbin.

saynta wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 2:03pm
Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 1:12pm
saynta wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 1:00pm De Goey has come under scrutiny this year after a video was released showing the player purportedly trying to remove the bikini top of a female friend at a Bali nightclub during Collingwood’s bye week. He was also arrested in New York last
That's a stretch!
Not condoning that action at all. But he didn't try and remove the top.
That's the herald sun reporter saying that , not me mate.
Aware of that...and you spelled "gutter trash" wrong. You spelled it "reporter". :wink:

happy feet wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 2:32pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 03 Aug 2022 1:25pm
B.M wrote: Wed 03 Aug 2022 4:22am I did the same as P66

I abused the moderators on purpose- bad - I was very critical of Chris Pelchen, and it didn’t sit well with the forum. I suppose most supporters wanted to believe in Lyle Lanley and bought the snake oil!
P66 who was generally a club apologist and me had a few stoushes over it!!!

The 2008/2009 off seasons tore the fabric that GT had built out of the club.
The 2011-2013 off seasons completely fkd the club for near on a decade!!!!

The spreadsheet or blueprint of whatever the fk it was crippled the joint

So I went hard at the moderators so they would ban me!!!

They did and I was off SS for years… eventually came back … not sure why?
Mate your stoushes with P66 were worth the admission alone, sought of like listening to the banter in the animal enclosure back in the day. As I say the site lost it's character after the coup and the PC mods moved in hence its steady decline to to where we are today.
I had a few blues with P66 too. Somehow we figured out we went to the same High School, although he was in the year above. I was in the same year as his sister. I remembered him quite well, he is a good bloke away from here and in school boy footy days was a very handy player. Had a bit to do with the club.
Bentleigh East High School?

Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 2:45pm
SinCitySainter wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 10:53am They are thinking about paying De Goey $800 K a year for 5 years, that is $4M.
It would be fiscally irresponsible for a company in a stretched debt position like the Saints to do that without full support of the board.

The board are responsible for the broad financial and strategic direction of the club.
They are the ones that need to review the impact of any decision with potential impacts beyond just on-field.
With De Goey's history you would need to do your due diligence before offering him a contract.
The AFL requires all teams to pay the salary cap to its players. You may "bank" some of that for a certain amount of time, but you must spend at least 95% of the cap every year.

Wasting money on an "elite" training facility at Seaford wouldn't have helped our debt. Then building another one back at Moorrabbin didn't help.
Spending 800k per year on a player and still being under the salary cap is not an issue.

Not sure how much money the Saints contributed to Seaford but i don't believe it was big dollars.
We did that move because of 10 poker machines! We should have stayed at Moorabbin and upgraded it.
Don't forget the Moorabbin Greenie fighting the Saints to save the trees.

Wayne42 wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 4:05pm
Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 2:45pm

Don't forget the Moorabbin Greenie fighting the Saints to save the trees.
Tipsy/Topsy?
IIRC she was trying to get rid of us from Moorabbin.

I’m glad we went to Seaford

Otherwise we’d have a 10 year old 10 Million dollar facility as was planned in 2009

As of now

30M dollar facility that is state of the art

Vortex wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 3:28pm
happy feet wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 2:32pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 03 Aug 2022 1:25pm
B.M wrote: Wed 03 Aug 2022 4:22am I did the same as P66

I abused the moderators on purpose- bad - I was very critical of Chris Pelchen, and it didn’t sit well with the forum. I suppose most supporters wanted to believe in Lyle Lanley and bought the snake oil!
P66 who was generally a club apologist and me had a few stoushes over it!!!

The 2008/2009 off seasons tore the fabric that GT had built out of the club.
The 2011-2013 off seasons completely fkd the club for near on a decade!!!!

The spreadsheet or blueprint of whatever the fk it was crippled the joint

So I went hard at the moderators so they would ban me!!!

They did and I was off SS for years… eventually came back … not sure why?
Mate your stoushes with P66 were worth the admission alone, sought of like listening to the banter in the animal enclosure back in the day. As I say the site lost it's character after the coup and the PC mods moved in hence its steady decline to to where we are today.
I had a few blues with P66 too. Somehow we figured out we went to the same High School, although he was in the year above. I was in the same year as his sister. I remembered him quite well, he is a good bloke away from here and in school boy footy days was a very handy player. Had a bit to do with the club.
Bentleigh East High School?
McKinnon HS

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

He was alright

In a way knew his stuff, but bit of a club apologist

Sometimes his pompous arrogance annoyed people.

He despised me because I was very critical of a number of things 09-13 and also criticised his boarder Jack Steven about his disposal and decision making.

He’s on Bigfooty if you miss him
I still skip his inane dribble
Just argues for the sake
Not a club apologist that’s Saynta or Mehebabblelots
But each to their own if you like that stuff

Teflon wrote: Fri 05 Aug 2022 12:20am He’s on Bigfooty if you miss him
Just argues for the sake
I certainly don't miss his dribble.
It's not like dribble stopped on here after he was gone.

Especially when the pandemic was fresh and in full swing, you could scoop it up by the bucket load. :lol:

Wayne42 wrote: Fri 05 Aug 2022 12:25am
Just argues for the sake
I certainly don't miss his dribble.
It's not like dribble stopped on here after he was gone.

Especially when the pandemic was fresh and in full swing, you could scoop it up by the bucket load. :lol:
Yeah I don’t miss him
I miss Barks4Eva and Rix Rox Ruck he was good value
I assume Rodgerfox is lurking still changing his name again??
We’ve had some good posters over the years but that’s heyday times

B.M wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 5:05pm I’m glad we went to Seaford

Otherwise we’d have a 10 year old 10 Million dollar facility as was planned in 2009

As of now

30M dollar facility that is state of the art
They do extensions and upgrades every decade or so.

Just argues for the sake
And I am too much of a gentleman to put in print what you are. :wink: :wink: :wink:

They didn’t do a renovation at Moorabbin for 55 years!

So next renovation in 2073 or so.

Brill!!!

B.M wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 11:05pm He was alright

This made me smile (& chuckle), thanks B.M, very funny!

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 05 Aug 2022 9:22pm
B.M wrote: Thu 04 Aug 2022 11:05pm He was alright

This made me smile (& chuckle), thanks B.M, very funny!
Mmm pots & kettles

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

B.M is saintsational royalty compared to that obnoxious f***wit.

Do you think the Board is watching tonight's game?

well coached team collingwood. not the greatest playing list but so well drilled and lots of self-belief. but nah, coaches pffft.

saynta wrote: Fri 05 Aug 2022 9:34pm B.M is saintsational royalty compared to that obnoxious f***wit.
FFS :roll:

Before tonight I felt DeGoey would stay at the Pies, after watching the game I'm convinced he most definitely will be staying. Absolute Jet and I would sell the farm to have him at the Saints but he's not going anywhere. But sheez he's exactly what our list needs...which side doesn't.

Yeah I reckon he will stay

The Fireman wrote: Sat 06 Aug 2022 12:31am Yeah I reckon he will stay

It is a NO brainer but agreed, why would he leave a better team for a worse one?!

Btw
I might be arrogant- in some peoples eyes, but far from pompous - I’ve made my own way in like and am not an entitled prick!