VFL R9 Carlton v Sandy

Re: VFL R9 Carlton v Sandy

Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 4:21pm No I watched it all CQ - footy and forums are a subjective topic, I have no problem with that and respect your opinion. I played and coached for 30 years at a reasonable level so I believe I see the game pretty well, but I am not that conceited to believe that others dont notice things in players and games that I dont.

I know that has been the perception of Paddy Dow but on Sunday he thought he was very good inside and out.

Saynta just cant stand anyone commenting on our players, whether its constructive or not. He carries on like its some kind of 'hate crime' and takes others opinions on players like its some kind of affront on him personally.

I just want the best for our kids and want to see them all get the best out of themselves and become the best players they can for our club.
Fair enough.
Like wise. Im a footy tragic too. 400 games in 3 states mostly country footy and some state league games. 11 years coaching and junior development between 15 and 45.
I follow your posts. Saynta is just Saynta, God bless him. Id like him on my side though. Lol.
I thought your assessment was spot on for the first half.
I did have to check the score again though because I thought I saw a pretty different 2nd half.
You are right though, it's all perspective.
I was a lazy forward. What would I know. Lol

Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 4:21pm No I watched it all CQ - footy and forums are a subjective topic, I have no problem with that and respect your opinion. I played and coached for 30 years at a reasonable level so I believe I see the game pretty well, but I am not that conceited to believe that others dont notice things in players and games that I dont.

I know that has been the perception of Paddy Dow but on Sunday he thought he was very good inside and out.

Saynta just cant stand anyone commenting on our players, whether its constructive or not. He carries on like its some kind of 'hate crime' and takes others opinions on players like its some kind of affront on him personally.

I just want the best for our kids and want to see them all get the best out of themselves and become the best players they can for our club.
What o load of crap. Positive comments are fine with me. It is the negative s*** that you and others like you put on very good Saints players, which is in the main undeserved crap.

You obviously didn't read the interview with Hill in which he stated that all the negative comments on social media had a very bad adverse effect on him and his footy. I am just trying to avoid that where possible.

You should take a leaf out of Trev from the bush's playbook.

For the record hell would have to freeze over before I would take any comment on a footy forum personally FFS.

You are so far wrong on your comments in regard to Bytel yesterday, one would have to doubt you even watched the game sober.

If you really do want the best for our kids, cut out the negative bulls***.

Saynta I dont know why I bother, but please take off your rose coloured glassess.

Did you hear what Batchelor said at 3/4 time, basically he was conceding the centre and stoppage clearances but was happy to win the ball back at the next phase. What does that tell you? What I said about Bytel was that I thought his possessions were scrappy didnt impact the game, if he hasnt heard that from his coaches they are not doing ther job!
Last edited by Impatient Sainter on Mon 23 May 2022 5:17pm, edited 1 time in total.

You do spend a lot of time grumbling about what other ppl post about. I reckon 50% at least is forum commentary

skeptic wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 5:11pm You do spend a lot of time grumbling about what other ppl post about. I reckon 50% at least is forum commentary
Exactly but he doesnt react or get offended by others opinions???

Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 5:10pm Saynta I dont know why I bother, but please take off your rose coloured glassess.

Did you hear what Batchelor said at 3/4 time, basically he was conceding the centre and stoppage clearances but was happy to win the ball back at the next phase. What does that tell you? What I said about Bytel was that I thought his possessions were scrappy didnt impact the game, if he hasnt heard that from his coaches they are not doing ther job!
Geelong had Ablett Bartal and Selwood in the middle and wanted to lose the center clearences.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 5:21pm
skeptic wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 5:11pm You do spend a lot of time grumbling about what other ppl post about. I reckon 50% at least is forum commentary

Of course I react to crap. but crap doesn't offend me personally. The players
might be different.

Other poster. like my stalker I just ignore

Doesn't take much for you to start commenting on the poster though, and not the post.

And I wish you wouldn't bother with me. Period.
Last edited by saynta on Mon 23 May 2022 6:10pm, edited 1 time in total.

Although Campbell is competitive and dominant in the VFL, his taps are the big problem. They are rarely predictable or to advantage.
Bytel and Clark are both contested footballers, they don't set up to run through stoppages. That's Byrnes' go. He only got three. Most of the one possession clearances we got, came off the hand of Heath, who attacks the ball at the ruck contest, not the other ruckman like Campbell.
I'm pretty excited about Max Heath. Going to be a dangerous fwd/ruck specialist.

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:05pm Although Campbell is competitive and dominant in the VFL, his taps are the big problem. They are rarely predictable or to advantage.
Bytel and Clark are both contested footballers, they don't set up to run through stoppages. That's Byrnes' go. He only got three. Most of the one possession clearances we got, came off the hand of Heath, who attacks the ball at the ruck contest, not the other ruckman like Campbell.
I'm pretty excited about Max Heath. Going to be a dangerous fwd/ruck specialist.
Yep. I agree. But don't back down on Bytel. His stats as quoted by you are impressive.

Would you say another 40% is posting rolly eyes, then 5% of links to pages behind paywalls and the remaining 5% is pulling up posters for being poor spellas.

Apologies in advance for being a bit mischievous.

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 3:54pm
Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 12:18pm
Devilhead wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 4:40am So Bytel beaten .... had no impact .... yet had 26 possessions and 8 tackles

Where did he get his possessions?

Surely must have had some impact
Most were inclose and scrappy, he simply doesnt have the tools to give himself room to use the ball cleanly. Carlton via Dow, Williamson etc just marched out of the centre and provided overlap run coming out of defence. Bytel just couldnt go with them or impact the game when in transition. He is another version of Dunstan, can win the ball on the ground.

Its not about hating Saynta, its about being realistic about a players capacities and how they played. Thats not to say he cant improve because many players do, but he needs to work on his 'instinctive movements' when he wins the ball to give himself room. That plus his running capacities on the spread got really exposed against Carltons quality VFL midfielders. Id bet my left nut thats the exact feedback he would be getting from Batchelor and Ratten etc.

There is no doubting he has the ability to win the ball and pressure in close, but its about what he does with the ball and his work without the ball on the spread that will decide whether he makes it at AFL level or not. He is a better kick than Dunstan but very much plays in a similiar manner.
I think you stopped watching at half time mate. Bytel was rarely out of screen shot in the 2nd half and the Bluebaggers spent all their chips in the 1st half.

Dow and Williamson are soft, outside footballers and the space they found in the first quarter was shut down quickly with zone structures across the middle and half back as both teams started circle work trying to avoid the zones, that we forced. Lienert, Highmore and Joyce were impressive.

Dow had 24 touches and 2.1, three minutes into the 3rd and was all but completely shut down after that. Soft as butter under pressure.

Bytel just got better as the game went on and he and Watson shut the Blues mids down, while Clark, Byrnes, Connolly and McHale created run off the rebound and through zones. We took control of the pace of the game while they had the faster team.

Bytel tackled (8) and harassed at stoppages, when he wasn't in and under in clearance work, (5) mostly by hand (15) and while he doesn't always get the last possession in a clearance chain, he gets his hands on the ball often and uses his body well. He didn't feature in many centre bounces. Clearly the role he was asked to play with the AFL in mind. Our stoppage clearances are where we are weakest.

He also linked through zones and played the corners of the centre square, following the play, as Carlton tried to circle around the zone defence and forward pressure. Sandy's gameplan is finally aligning with ours, now we have more experienced players available and its shows. The coaches have recruited with a mid of developing young players in the VFL, that is clear.

Most of his kicks (11) came in the second half, in general play. Finally, he looks fit and is playing out games. He was instrumental in turning the game around and played his role well.
So what do we conclude if he doesn't get selected this week?

saynta wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:12pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:05pm Although Campbell is competitive and dominant in the VFL, his taps are the big problem. They are rarely predictable or to advantage.
Yep. I agree. But don't back down on Bytel. His stats as quoted by you are impressive.
It was clear he was playing against instinct and to instruction Saynta.
Its good coaching. I thought he played a role that will eventually get him a run in the 1's.
Jamming up stoppages is what we need. We lose too much ground in field stoppages and our defensive runners are set up to spread and close in on their opponents. When that goes wrong, we leak 50 entries and scores.

SunnyErnie

saynta wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:02pm
Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 5:21pm

Of course I react to crap. but crap doesn't offend me personally. The players
might be different.

Other poster. like my stalker I just ignore

Doesn't take much for you to start commenting on the poster though, and not the post.

And I wish you wouldn't bother with me. Period.

St Kilda should never trade with Essendon and Sydney ever again!!!

NeXus

Vortex wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:17pm
Devilhead wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 4:40am So Bytel beaten .... had no impact .... yet had 26 possessions and 8 tackles

Most were inclose and scrappy, he simply doesnt have the tools to give himself room to use the ball cleanly. Carlton via Dow, Williamson etc just marched out of the centre and provided overlap run coming out of defence. Bytel just couldnt go with them or impact the game when in transition. He is another version of Dunstan, can win the ball on the ground.

Its not about hating Saynta, its about being realistic about a players capacities and how they played. Thats not to say he cant improve because many players do, but he needs to work on his 'instinctive movements' when he wins the ball to give himself room. That plus his running capacities on the spread got really exposed against Carltons quality VFL midfielders. Id bet my left nut thats the exact feedback he would be getting from Batchelor and Ratten etc.

There is no doubting he has the ability to win the ball and pressure in close, but its about what he does with the ball and his work without the ball on the spread that will decide whether he makes it at AFL level or not. He is a better kick than Dunstan but very much plays in a similiar manner.
I think you stopped watching at half time mate. Bytel was rarely out of screen shot in the 2nd half and the Bluebaggers spent all their chips in the 1st half.

Dow and Williamson are soft, outside footballers and the space they found in the first quarter was shut down quickly with zone structures across the middle and half back as both teams started circle work trying to avoid the zones, that we forced. Lienert, Highmore and Joyce were impressive.

Dow had 24 touches and 2.1, three minutes into the 3rd and was all but completely shut down after that. Soft as butter under pressure.

Bytel just got better as the game went on and he and Watson shut the Blues mids down, while Clark, Byrnes, Connolly and McHale created run off the rebound and through zones. We took control of the pace of the game while they had the faster team.

Bytel tackled (8) and harassed at stoppages, when he wasn't in and under in clearance work, (5) mostly by hand (15) and while he doesn't always get the last possession in a clearance chain, he gets his hands on the ball often and uses his body well. He didn't feature in many centre bounces. Clearly the role he was asked to play with the AFL in mind. Our stoppage clearances are where we are weakest.

He also linked through zones and played the corners of the centre square, following the play, as Carlton tried to circle around the zone defence and forward pressure. Sandy's gameplan is finally aligning with ours, now we have more experienced players available and its shows. The coaches have recruited with a mid of developing young players in the VFL, that is clear.

Most of his kicks (11) came in the second half, in general play. Finally, he looks fit and is playing out games. He was instrumental in turning the game around and played his role well.
I think we are going well enough and the players have finally bought into the gospel coming from Ratts and co enough, to not have to expect that Bytel will be the messiah and be rushed in because of his body size. He isn't anywhere near as good as Captain Courageous or at that level of two way AFL football. If he can tag, link with rebounds and spam stoppages though, he is a chance and could get a realistic role.

I called the changes last week and we out run and out gunned a feisty Adelaide, who could have buried us in the first half, but got buried in the last

We have the confidence, fitness and stamina to grind it out and brains trust worth trusting. Too many changes aren't necessary.

We have a gun defence, quick and accurate outside players and forwards that score from minimal chances but can explode for a quarter. We also have a game plan that works.

Owens is the Steele clone. Bytel is more Crouch and needs to learn to be like Seb Ross, versatile.

The kids will come in for cameos. But, the structure will fall around known entities, like Sinclair, Paton and Jones, who can play inside and out already.

That's my take. We need a bit more pace than last week, against North.

Maybe Byrnes and Higgins in this week.
Id drop Billings and Sharman.

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:19pm
saynta wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:12pm
It was clear he was playing against instinct and to instruction Saynta.
Its good coaching. I thought he played a role that will eventually get him a run in the 1's.
Jamming up stoppages is what we need. We lose too much ground in field stoppages and our defensive runners are set up to spread and close in on their opponents. When that goes wrong, we leak 50 entries and scores.
At least you know your footballers and their abilities. Pity there are not more posters like you mate.

Young guys like Bytel are to be encouraged and not put down.

Vortex wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:15pm
Would you say another 40% is posting rolly eyes, then 5% of links to pages behind paywalls and the remaining 5% is pulling up posters for being poor spellas.

No more articles behind paywalls from me :roll: :roll: :roll:

That ship has sailed.

Spellers, mate ,spellers :roll:

Vortex wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:15pm

Nope.

At least 30% is endlessly bringing up the paywall, threatening to stop posting articles, banning people from his lists etc

It reminds me of a school kid being made a hallway monitor and relishing the power

Tx for the insight QC

Great to see Allison showing some progress.

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 6:49pm

I think we are going well enough and the players have finally bought into the gospel coming from Ratts and co enough, to not have to expect that Bytel will be the messiah and be rushed in because of his body size. He isn't anywhere near as good as Captain Courageous or at that level of two way AFL football. If he can tag, link with rebounds and spam stoppages though, he is a chance and could get a realistic role.

I called the changes last week and we out run and out gunned a feisty Adelaide, who could have buried us in the first half, but got buried in the last

We have the confidence, fitness and stamina to grind it out and brains trust worth trusting. Too many changes aren't necessary.

We have a gun defence, quick and accurate outside players and forwards that score from minimal chances but can explode for a quarter. We also have a game plan that works.

Owens is the Steele clone. Bytel is more Crouch and needs to learn to be like Seb Ross, versatile.

The kids will come in for cameos. But, the structure will fall around known entities, like Sinclair, Paton and Jones, who can play inside and out already.

I think Bytel needs to make a strong case he is AFL grade while Steele is out. If he can't can't establish himself in the side soon I think he is in fear of becoming permanent fringe material.

On Billings, it would seem harsh to drop him but at some stage you'd think Ratts will have to put the blow torch on his inconsistencies. Being only his 2nd game back from a lengthy time between competitive hitouts, does he get a reprieve.

The write up from the Sandringham FC site -

Final Score: Sandringham 9.15.69 defeated Carlton 9.11.65

Goals: M. Heath (3), M. Allison (2), M. Owens (2), D. Butler, G. Lok
Best: J. Geary, H. Clark, J. McHale, R. Byrnes, T. Milne, M. Heath

It would seem those at Sandringham also have different opinion to others - who would have thought!

Saynta I can't believe you are trying to call me out for making it personal, when thats exactly how you respond to everyone on this forum. You have attacked most at some point with your over the top rhetoric. Now just for the sake of the discussion here is what I wrote regarding Bytel's game in my match write up -

"Bytel got plenty of touches but had zero impact IMO. I think he got tagged today but he struggled against the mobile opposition".

Now please explain how that is anything other than a constructive observation (my opinion)? Its hardly a put down or negative comments as you have labelled it? Again its a common theme with yourself not being able to accept anything other than glowing endorsements of our players. Well believe it or not they can all improve and until we win flag/s (plural) I will continue to have an opinion on how our players play and if you cant cope with that you had best find another outlet other than Saintsational.

Vortex wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 9:30pm

I think Bytel needs to make a strong case he is AFL grade while Steele is out. If he can't can't establish himself in the side soon I think he is in fear of becoming permanent fringe material.

On Billings, it would seem harsh to drop him but at some stage you'd think Ratts will have to put the blow torch on his inconsistencies. Being only his 2nd game back from a lengthy time between competitive hitouts, does he get a reprieve.
Bytel played 16 games of football between 2018 and 2021 Vort. 16 AFL games.
I'm not sure he is under any pressure, other than to stay fit and healthy this year.
As he is out of contract, there is absolutely no need to play him in the AFL. He just needs to play and increase his fitness.

Billings will play and he better do something because I think there will be no punches held after the bye

Impatient Sainter wrote: Tue 24 May 2022 12:27am The write up from the Sandringham FC site -

Final Score: Sandringham 9.15.69 defeated Carlton 9.11.65

Goals: M. Heath (3), M. Allison (2), M. Owens (2), D. Butler, G. Lok
Best: J. Geary, H. Clark, J. McHale, R. Byrnes, T. Milne, M. Heath

It would seem those at Sandringham also have different opinion to others - who would have thought!

Saynta I can't believe you are trying to call me out for making it personal, when thats exactly how you respond to everyone on this forum. You have attacked most at some point with your over the top rhetoric. Now just for the sake of the discussion here is what I wrote regarding Bytel's game in my match write up -

"Bytel got plenty of touches but had zero impact IMO. I think he got tagged today but he struggled against the mobile opposition".

Now please explain how that is anything other than a constructive observation (my opinion)? Its hardly a put down or negative comments as you have labelled it? Again its a common theme with yourself not being able to accept anything other than glowing endorsements of our players. Well believe it or not they can all improve and until we win flag/s (plural) I will continue to have an opinion on how our players play and if you cant cope with that you had best find another outlet other than Saintsational.
Geez IP, we both missed Geary.

Thanks IP & CQ for your constructive and informative opinions on Bytel

CQ SAINT wrote: Tue 24 May 2022 2:00am
Vortex wrote: Mon 23 May 2022 9:30pm

Bytel played 16 games of football between 2018 and 2021 Vort. 16 AFL games.
I'm not sure he is under any pressure, other than to stay fit and healthy this year.
As he is out of contract, there is absolutely no need to play him in the AFL. He just needs to play and increase his fitness.

Billings will play and he better do something because I think there will be no punches held after the bye
A player in his his 4th year of an elite sporting organisation not feeling any pressure to make the grade? Gee I hope that isn't the case, I hope he is under immense pressure and I hope the club has a time limit in mind for how long they will invest in his spot on the list. Gotta be ruthless.

This is just a guess but if he hasn't made a strong case to prove he is best 22 by seasons end then I think he'll be under immense pressure in his 5th year. Has to be.