Match Thread Saints v Crows Round 10 2022

Re: Match Thread Saints v Crows Round 10 2022

bangaulegend wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 12:36am
Wayne42 wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 12:15am
Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 12:00am
Wayne42 wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:56pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:53pm
Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:51pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:39pm
bangaulegend wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:35pm I'm not blowing my own trumpet but I have said Ben is the best thing that has happened to St. Kilda since Nick Riewoldt & he will only get bigger & stronger well IMO is a reason to believe we can win a flag & get Ming & watch out 😉
Are you a f@rking Suns supporter????

Ben King is with the Suns
M(ax K)ing is already here

Not sure what you are on!!!!
Maybe he's talking about Ben Long.
So who is Ming that he is getting to the club??
Chill SD, plenty get juiced on match day and post, it's not a crime, it's just embarrassing.
LOL - surely you know I jest - I would NEVER insult someone in earnest by calling them a Suns supporter!
:lol: :lol:
I haven't had a drink I'm working night shift tonight just socially excited I guess you guys are harsh but hey I don't GAF we won & I'm happy & I will get home tomorrow arvo & give it another crack :wink:
All good :lol:

Go Saints

Were there more St KIlda supporters there than Crows tonight? Seems like it.

My theory is ...
Sinclair is a bona-fide star and a consistent performer. He spoils us every week.
Other players who are not as consistent are seen as our barometers ... in that when they join the party and perform well, we usually win. So we give them votes hoping that they can keep it up and to thank them for pitching in and getting us over the line. We go overboard and they take votes away from Sinclair. Bastards.
Last edited by samoht on Sun 22 May 2022 12:50am, edited 1 time in total.

Wayne42 wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 12:41am
bangaulegend wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 12:36am
Wayne42 wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 12:15am
Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 12:00am
Wayne42 wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:56pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:53pm
Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:51pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:39pm
bangaulegend wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:35pm I'm not blowing my own trumpet but I have said Ben is the best thing that has happened to St. Kilda since Nick Riewoldt & he will only get bigger & stronger well IMO is a reason to believe we can win a flag & get Ming & watch out 😉
Are you a f@rking Suns supporter????

Ben King is with the Suns
M(ax K)ing is already here

Not sure what you are on!!!!
Maybe he's talking about Ben Long.
So who is Ming that he is getting to the club??
Chill SD, plenty get juiced on match day and post, it's not a crime, it's just embarrassing.
LOL - surely you know I jest - I would NEVER insult someone in earnest by calling them a Suns supporter!
:lol: :lol:
I haven't had a drink I'm working night shift tonight just socially excited I guess you guys are harsh but hey I don't GAF we won & I'm happy & I will get home tomorrow arvo & give it another crack :wink:
All good :lol:

Go Saints
I'm thick skinned mate & a passionate supporter so water of a ducks back to me I call it how I see it sorry if I offended anyone for Ming & Bing mix up :oops:

wasoncestkil58

Sinclair has turned out one of our greatest picks. He was a last pick and has been so consistent. I think he arrived in the same draft as Billings and has gone well past our early pick. Well done Sinclair

BadRossco wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:31pm Great last term got us over the line but should still look at a few changes, Webster should be the first to go surely Connolly or Highmore are a lot smarter than Jimmy, although a great finisher Sharman just does not do enough Higgins finds a lot more of the ball. Long appears to have become the master of the head high tackle and Wood could be a bit harder at it. A great win in the end but we did have a lot of passengers that need to lift especially with Owens, Byrnes and Bytel playing well at Sandy
Good post
A win like that papers over done obvious cracks
Always great to win but we aren’t playing finals against Adelaide
We need to be ruthless- to go deep in finals, to challenge Melb etc we can’t have passengers
We had too many tonight

NWM - definitely a spell in twos
Billing’s - needs to do much more
Long - can’t rely on cameos has to bring pressure
Sharman- great clutch goal but needs more ..King can’t kick 6 every week
McKenzie- battler but needs to lift
Wood - just doesn’t do enough for me
Our midfield beaten most night - will be smashed against top sides ….Steele loss was felt
Webster - I think he’s been just for a few weeks

I’d like to see some changes - this side still not playing 4 quarters is a worry…relying on burst quarters of footy

Higgins - Sharman?
Clarke - for NWM
Highmore - for Webster ?
Owens/Byrnes - Wood?

I’d love to give Bytel and Connolly a run but not sure who/how many changes we’d realistically make

Newman

I agree ... stressful. Only really enjoyed last 7 minutes. And with 7 minutes to go Crows were still in front and I admit I wasn't expecting a win. Then Membrey kicked straight ... then Max ... then Paddy ... then Marshall. What a wonderful 5 mins.

Was never going to be easy against a tricky opponent away from home

Not at our best but eeked a win under difficult circumstances

Well done Sainters :twisted:

It's rare that we win a match with straight kicking...

wasoncestkil58 wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 12:59am Sinclair has turned out one of our greatest picks. He was a last pick and has been so consistent. I think he arrived in the same draft as Billings and has gone well past our early pick. Well done Sinclair
Sinclair was the first Rookie selected (Pick 1) in 2014 the year after Billings was picked in 2013.

D- Mac does so much unrewarded running and pressure acts.
Tough to drop him.
I also don't see why people have turned on Webster.

NWM is superb by foot mostly but needs a clue of week in the Magoo's and just told to focus on tackling and pressure.

Long has been good but can't afford to drop his ratings like he did tonight.

Byrnes must be frustrated

If we start using Sharman when he leads up at the ball he will kick 3 or 4 every week. He made so many unrewarded leads tonight, it was like he was invisible. We become far too King centric at times. Ratten addressed it in his presser that our ball use going into the F50 needs work, hopefully we can start getting that balance right.,

Just watched the highlights Great effort to hang in there and finish it! What were the black armbands for? Bummers wore them too?

stevie wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 8:23am Just watched the highlights Great effort to hang in there and finish it! What were the black armbands for? Bummers wore them too?
No idea on the black arm bands - but with 40+ players on the list - and staff and families - I am surprised for the week that we do NOT wear black arm bands.

We need to deliver the ball better into the forward half- Gresh one of the culprits. I saw Sharman make position within range a few times and good disposal would have hit him, but was missed by a mile. Little things need fixing by Ratts.

There is a need to understand roles better I think.

Banger9798 wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 1:41am It's rare that we win a match with straight kicking...
??? We usually win matches when we kick straight. It's rare that we kick straight. We did, and it's why we won.

We bank the 4 points and move on.

Pleasing

Darcy Fogarty. Very fugly individual…but also…

Zero scoreboard impact, 6 disposals for the entire game and I think half were clangers

I reckon he’d be downing twice as many beers as that on a good night….and he looks he does too :twisted:

Wilkie. Is a machine

perfectionist wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 11:28am
Banger9798 wrote: Sun 22 May 2022 1:41am It's rare that we win a match with straight kicking...
??? We usually win matches when we kick straight. It's rare that we kick straight. We did, and it's why we won.
we have lost plenty we should have won (winning general play) due to poor conversion
very rarely do we reverse that trend (whereas Port and Geelong seem do it to us frequently)

Saintmike65

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 21 May 2022 11:58pm Sixty years ago this weekend my Dad bowed to my wishes and took me to my first footy match, Footscray v St Kilda at Western Oval. I wanted to see this "bald" bloke everybody was talking about play. He wasn't bald at all - a work in progress, for sure - but I became a passionate Saints supporter from that day on. I have lived through about ten terrific seasons and fifty years of mixed feelings ranging from disappointment to sheer gloom.

But I don't recall ever publicly bagging a Saints player or the Club over the long journey. That is because I am highly protective of my beloved Saints. Which is why I cannot comprehend how so many posters on a supposed Saints FAN forum can vent so much bile on the efforts of individual players, the Club's board, staff and anybody else they see fit. All from the comfortable anoniminity of a keyboard. I will acknowledge the difficulty of punching a keyboard while the main task is to objectively watch the match before posting emotive comments, some of which border on the ridiculous.

Anyway, enough of my Saintly sermon. What I saw tonight was a performance that sits comfortably in the 10 best of those 60 years. The game was there to be won, needed to be won and was won by kicking 8 last quarter goals whe we struggled to accumulate 6 in the first three quarters.

We ain't there yet but we are on our way. This was a very important win not to be dismissed lightly or to be the subject of derision. This was a win that only truly good teams win.

Go Saints!

Very well said…Daryl Baldock must have made quite the impression on you!
For me it was Carl Ditterich.
Regarding your point on supporters negatively on this site, I think a lot of comments are made when they are emotional…maybe not when they are more rational or objective.
Regardless, Saints supporters are usually very passionate and loyal.

The Doc is still my favourite Sainter and the best player I’ve seen. He did things on a football field that nobody since has done as well.

Like I said earlier. You have to play 4 quarters to beat us.
We've learnt how to win games in a quarter and are fit enough to stay in the game against anyone, but perhaps Melbourne, for 100 minutes.