Saints add son of club great to Next Generation Academy

Faulky63

Saints add son of club great to Next Generation Academy

St Kilda have confirmed Boston Everitt, son of club great Peter, has joined the Saints' Next Generation Academy for the 2022 season.

Boston has been previously affiliated with the Saints' junior ranks, having been part of their 'Futures' squad in 2019 as an U15s prospect.

The teenager is now in line to follow in the footsteps of his father, who played 180 games and booted 300 goals during his 10-year stint in the red, white and black.

Boston would also be accessible to the Saints as a father-son prospect, however the club has looked to create early links with the potential draftee in adding his name to their NGA cohort.

Re: Saints add son of club great to Next Generation Academy

Which is more beneficial for us points-wise and to prevent from poachers, father-son or NGA?

Munga wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 12:04am Which is more beneficial for us points-wise and to prevent from poachers, father-son or NGA?
Father son is better. Academy next year is only helpful if he is outside top 40. Father son gets him even if he is top ten.

good that the club is getting him down. lets hope he dominates and becomes a top ten prospect and we get him for a bunch of late picks

Munga wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 12:04am Which is more beneficial for us points-wise and to prevent from poachers, father-son or NGA?
Father son is better. Academy next year is only helpful if he is outside top 40. Father son gets him even if he is top ten.

good that the club is getting him down. lets hope he dominates and becomes a top ten prospect and we get him for a bunch of late picks

Can the kid play. His dad went alright.

Saintmike65

Faulky63 wrote: Mon 24 Jan 2022 10:19pm St Kilda have confirmed Boston Everitt, son of club great Peter, has joined the Saints' Next Generation Academy for the 2022 season.

Boston has been previously affiliated with the Saints' junior ranks, having been part of their 'Futures' squad in 2019 as an U15s prospect.

The teenager is now in line to follow in the footsteps of his father, who played 180 games and booted 300 goals during his 10-year stint in the red, white and black.

Boston would also be accessible to the Saints as a father-son prospect, however the club has looked to create early links with the potential draftee in adding his name to their NGA cohort.

At training last Friday I overheard Nick Dal Santo talking up a male player that had just started training…wondered who it could’ve been but likely is young Everett!

wally

Spider does brekky / morning show on Gold Coast radio l assumed he & family lived up here

wally

Well he did last year maybe has moved back

Is he a big unit like his dad?
And how old is he?

We are due some good fortune with a father son pick

Despite some of his challenges… I always loved Spider Everite

wally wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 9:47am Spider does brekky / morning show on Gold Coast radio l assumed he & family lived up here
On December 20, 2021 there was some real estate news that they were selling their home, and that indicated that Boston would be at the Saints in 2022.

Spida was to move down to Melbourne for at least some of the 2022 season as Boston was to join the NGA. So while only announced this week Spida and Boston have known since at least then.
The wife has indicated that longterm that Sanctuary Cove was where they will live. Not sure if it is just Spida and Boston in Melbourne in 2022 or not.

"Despite Spida set to spend more time in Melbourne next year with son Boston, who is part of the St Kilda father-son academy and has ambitions to pull on a Saints jumper one day, Sheree said they had already bought another flipper, which they want to make a start on in the new year.

“It’s only a few doors down the street,” Sheree laughed. “We’ll never leave Sanctuary Cove. The security is a real draw. It offers a lifestyle where kids can play in the street like we did growing up. It’s what you pay for.”"

See
https://www.realestate.com.au/news/pete ... ands-reno/

mcadam05

How can someone who has never shown any Respect for this Club or his former team mates be called a "great"?? Peter Everitt was and will forever will be a selfish clown and the fact that hes in the Hall of Fame ahead much more deserving players is a f****** disgrace

mcadam05 wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 2:12pm How can someone who has never shown any Respect for this Club or his former team mates be called a "great"?? Peter Everitt was and will forever will be a selfish clown and the fact that hes in the Hall of Fame ahead much more deserving players is a f****** disgrace
Interesting take

Like many former players that left in less than pleasant circumstances, Spida showed his bitterness towards the club for some years but in the last decade or so, he’s always given off the impression (to me at least) that he’s a Saints man at heart

Got to let go of the bitterness at some point. Nothing good comes from it
Last edited by skeptic on Tue 25 Jan 2022 2:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

Had of stayed

We win the flag in either 04 or 05

Only missing ingredient was a good ruckmen

B.M wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 2:28pm Had of stayed

Absolutely

A testament as to why you don’t trade champions away for potentials and less thans

We got 6 and 22 for him
Traded that for Barry Brooks (along with pick 31) and drafted Matthew Ferguson at 22

Not exactly win win

Not to mention whatever we spent to get Trent Knobel to the club
Then Cain Acland later
Then Michael Rix
Then Matthew Clarke

How old is he ?
How big ?
Can he play ?

Just goes to show that we are champions at trading in duds for super stars,. Been doing it since I was a teenager.

saint6709 wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 2:48pm How old is he ?
How big ?
Can he play ?
When Boston was 15, they were comparing him with Darcy, who was 16 and a little taller.
I hope that comparison sticks.
One has been in Melbourne developing can't find much on Boston.

mcadam05

saynta wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 2:52pm

Just goes to show that we are champions at trading in duds for super stars,. Been doing it since I was a teenager.
Evertt has gone from "great" too now "super star" your f****** taking the piss now arn't you , I do find it funny that some on here continue push the line that any player who leaves St Kilda and who 's over 6ft suddenly becomes some sort of reincarnation of Farmer, the Madden bothers and Cazaly all rolled in too one

Grant Thomas cleaned out the trash and Everitt was one of the first to go and too say we would of won a flag in 2004,05 if he had stayed is laughable too say the least

The Fact that he played at three clubs and he's disliked at all of them does take some skill
Last edited by mcadam05 on Tue 25 Jan 2022 4:06pm, edited 1 time in total.

mcadam05 wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 3:19pm

Evertt has gone from "great" too now "super star" your f****** taking the piss now arn't you , I do find it funny that some on here continue push the line that any player who leaves St Kilda and who 's over 6ft suddenly becomes some sort of reincarnation of Farmer, the Madden bothers and Cazaly all rolled in too one

Grant Thompson cleaned out the trash and Everitt was one of the first to go and too say we would of won a flag in 2004,05 if he had stayed is laughable too say the least

The Fact that he played at three clubs and he's disliked at all of them does take some skill

Saintmike65

saint6709 wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 2:48pm How old is he ?
How big ?
Can he play ?
If you google him you’ll find a picture of him taken the other day with Dal and Peter his dad.

skeptic wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 2:33pm

Absolutely

A testament as to why you don’t trade champions away for potentials and less thans

We got 6 and 22 for him
Traded that for Barry Brooks (along with pick 31) and drafted Matthew Ferguson at 22

Not exactly win win

Not to mention whatever we spent to get Trent Knobel to the club
Then Cain Acland later
Then Michael Rix
Then Matthew Clarke
Paid up big for Hickey and Longer too, it really has been one area we've had a long struggle with. Peter was let go because he was hard to control off field but he was a big loss. It would be nice if Boston turns out to be a facsimile of his old man.

wally

Peter was injured and missed 97 granny maybe a better result if he was available. Trading yes how about mc evoy then try to replace. Lots of naughty boys playing footy

wally wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 4:57pm Peter was injured and missed 97 granny maybe a better result if he was available. Trading yes how about mc evoy then try to replace. Lots of naughty boys playing footy
For sure. We lost Spider one week and Lazar the next. Two aggressive men who had played most of the year. Was a massive hole for us in that GF.

mcadam05 wrote: Tue 25 Jan 2022 3:19pm

Grant Thomas cleaned out the trash and Everitt was one of the first to go and too say we would of won a flag in 2004,05 if he had stayed is laughable too say the least

Gotta say sir, your dislike of Everite seems very intense and your not providing a lot of reasoning behind it.

I don’t think it’s much of a stretch to say that Everite was one of the best rucks in the AFL over 96/98 and it’s no coincidence that when his form fell away so did we.

More so than that however… I’m shocked by your position that you don’t think a fit and firing Everite could have been the edge we needed over 04-06.
We had a great team but we’re seriously deficient in one area… the ruck
Lost lost him for little and then relied on Knobel then Brooks/Acland and Rix with Jason Blake and Matt Maguire pinch hitting

None of them can hold a candle to him on the middle

I don’t know that he was particularly hated at Sydney either

Regardless, if your argument is that we were better off for losing him the way we did… I’d love to see a justification because it seems pretty gobsmacking to me.

Am a huge GT fan but IMO this along with his influence to leave the Tassie deal we’re two disastrous decisions that cost us