Will Hanners be in Ratts best side in 2022

Re: Will Hanners be in Ratts best side in 2022

Hopefully the new fitness staff can get him going again.

Behind the paywall. What does it say?
If Hannebery is fit and can consistently get on the field and play to what he's offered so far, then surely in the best 22. Excellent ball user and vision. It's just his fitness that has made him a bust so far. Hope it changes.

Worst case scenario if he's fit would be Hannebery in the side on reputation keeping a young fella like Byrnes out of the side.
1. Get match fit and stay match fit
2. Deliver to high standard

He aint the future though is he.

st.byron wrote: Thu 30 Dec 2021 1:33pm Behind the paywall. What does it say?
If Hannebery is fit and can consistently get on the field and play to what he's offered so far, then surely in the best 22. Excellent ball user and vision. It's just his fitness that has made him a bust so far. Hope it changes.

Worst case scenario if he's fit would be Hannebery in the side on reputation keeping a young fella like Byrnes out of the side.

Just pick the best available 22 each week based on form and fitness.
Byrnes may have a few challenges from the new crop, let alone Hanners.
Can't see any off them holding out a fit Hannerbery though.

Same article as the one in this thread
http://saintsational.net/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=103565

just a different heading and opening about third or fourth time the heraldsun has done this to this article and pretended it was something new.

I agree if fit & injury free he would be a great asset but that hasn't happened for 3 years with us or his last 2 years with the Swans so don't hold that much faith that he can sustain the fitness & stay injury free with his history. Yeah I'm a skeptic & I really want him to prove wrong but all up to Dan now

Agree

IMHO, Hannas might train the house down, be super careful with prep n recovery, but will still be lucky to play 3 games on the trot.

I expect him to get maybe 4-5 games for the year.
Would be rapt if he proves me wrong

bangaulegend wrote: Thu 30 Dec 2021 10:13pm

I agree if fit & injury free he would be a great asset but that hasn't happened for 3 years with us or his last 2 years with the Swans so don't hold that much faith that he can sustain the fitness & stay injury free with his history. Yeah I'm a skeptic & I really want him to prove wrong but all up to Dan now
I'm sorry, but how many good games has Hanners played in the red, white AND black? Two? Three? And has he ever played two good games in a row?

His output when he has played has been okay at best with 2 or 3 good games but nothing particularly elite. His best game was the elim final which has become a little overstated IMO because of the occasion. He started very well but faded the longer the game went on much like the rest of the team and he wasn’t the game winner.
He had another good match vs Syd maybe? But, he’s not in the team as a middle tier mid, with the odd good game. He came as an elite tier mid with the view of being an onfield general. Has not been that at all often enough but obviously the challenge for him has the been inability to build to form due to injury.

Maybe there’s some big off-field value he’s provided but that was supposed to be part of the package anyway.

He’s pbly best 22 but if his out isn’t better than say a Seb Ross or a Jack Billings at least, then I’d rather pump the games into Bytel/Burns/Connolly/NWM

Players dont forget how to play. Hanners hasn't been at his best for sometime because his body keeps failing. If he can achieve some continuity with his body he is in our best 22, if not the club need to put a line through his name and play the kids. If he doesnt play 15 or more games in 2022 the club should ask him to retire. You just cant keep carrying players that cant get on the park and we need to be ruthless going forward.

Definitely!
He's only thirty and when he plays our midfield is better.
I'm sick of losing to sides like the Crows, Port Adelaide and Geelong every single year, bar one, so I would have him in every week - to teach and mentor the younger players, as well as helping Crouch and taking the focus off Steeley.

Saintmike65

Equation is simple…Hannebery makes us a better side.
He and Gresham would make a massive difference to our outcome for season 2022 and beyond.

shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 30 Dec 2021 11:26pm
bangaulegend wrote: Thu 30 Dec 2021 10:13pm

I'm sorry, but how many good games has Hanners played in the red, white AND black? Two? Three? And has he ever played two good games in a row?
Nah mate he hasn't because he hasn't been able to stay fit & injury free IMO

Easily in the best 22 if fit

Probably in the best 10

B.M wrote: Fri 31 Dec 2021 12:51pm Easily in the best 22 if fit

Probably in the best 10
Top 10!

Steele
Crouch
Sinclair
Wilkie
Jones
Howard
Ryder
Marshall
King
Membrey

It’s not apples to apples but I’d take all 10 of them ahead of him easily

Then this next tier…

Hill
Billings
Gresham
Ross

In terms of importance… I’d take those four too. Mmm… maybe not Ross.

Who would you pick if both were competing for the same spot?

Equally the best decision maker and ball user in the team. Nearly every possession is to advantage. He's a great footballer when fit

cwrcyn wrote: Fri 31 Dec 2021 8:10pm Equally the best decision maker and ball user in the team. Nearly every possession is to advantage. He's a great footballer when fit
I can't see how you can make that statement based on the minutes he has played with us.

It is five to seven years since his glory days at Sydney which if I remember rightfully, was a team he played less and less effectively in his final years with them..to the point Sydney fans said they'd be better without him.

Or then, the rest of the mob aren't to flash in that department.

He looks serious. I hope it works.

Outside of Steele,

Bytel hasn't blossomed.
Crouch is a good 'B' grader
Jones is a burst player and injury prone.
Clark is an unknown crash recovery, and possibly not a mid.
Ross is somewhere on the periphery
Gresh probably up forward
Byrnes still new
Hill is the most skilled but now in defence

Hanners isn't exactly competing with the league's classiest and surest midfield, so he lives on as a prospect. If we had a strong midfield, I reckon he'd struggle to be best 22.

I agree he looked classy as a 'link man' on the few occasions I saw him during a match, but not as a play-maker.

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 31 Dec 2021 10:04pm
cwrcyn wrote: Fri 31 Dec 2021 8:10pm Equally the best decision maker and ball user in the team. Nearly every possession is to advantage. He's a great footballer when fit
I can't see how you can make that statement based on the minutes he has played with us.

It is five to seven years since his glory days at Sydney which if I remember rightfully, was a team he played less and less effectively in his final years with them..to the point Sydney fans said they'd be better without him.

Outside of Steele,

Bytel hasn't blossomed.
Byrnes still new

Hanners isn't exactly competing with the league's classiest and surest midfield, so he lives on as a prospect. If we had a strong midfield, I reckon he'd struggle to be best 22.

I agree he looked classy as a 'link man' on the few occasions I saw him during a match, but not as a play-maker.
shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 31 Dec 2021 10:04pm

Outside of Steele,

Bytel hasn't blossomed.
Byrnes still new

I agree the games he has played he has had some good moments but a shadow of what he was . The last game against Freo in Tassie had a few touches but his disposal was ordinary IMO

Meaningless
The best 22 side will never take the field together.
Whatever side does take the field, if fit Hannebery will be in that 22.

ace wrote: Sat 01 Jan 2022 6:34pm Meaningless
Disagree with this way of framing 'the best 22'...

I think you can, and you should have an idealization of the best 22, regardless.

But it has to include robustness.

And Hannebery is not robust.

Two or three good games in three years. I don't think he has played two good games in a row.

Now if he comes on and plays 22 great games, wins the Brownlow, then bravo, fine and all that. But calling it as we see it now, it doesn't seem likely.
He may still squeeze into our best 22 despite everything, because we have a really mediocre midfield.

He may surprise us all.

cwrcyn wrote: Sun 02 Jan 2022 8:36pm He may surprise us all.
Lets hope so :wink:

Shaggy

shanegrambeau wrote: Sun 02 Jan 2022 2:56pm

I think you can, and you should have an idealization of the best 22, regardless.

Two or three good games in three years. I don't think he has played two good games in a row.

Now if he comes on and plays 22 great games, wins the Brownlow, then bravo, fine and all that. But calling it as we see it now, it doesn't seem likely.
He may still squeeze into our best 22 despite everything, because we have a really mediocre midfield.
Dan averages more possessions per time on ground then any other Saint since he joined us.

He is generally not on the park long enough to make the best because he is playing underdone. This year he averaged 20 possessions in 60% game time.

Regardless his ability to find the ball is a fair effort given his lack of match fitness.

Most players really struggle when they miss large chunks of seasons. Robbo, Jack Steven and Carlisle as examples. Dan shows a resilience most players do not have.

If Dan gets game continuity in 2022 he will be top 5 at the club.

Shaggy wrote: Mon 03 Jan 2022 8:16pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Sun 02 Jan 2022 2:56pm

..... he is playing underdone.....60% game time.

... ability to find the ball is a fair.... lack of match fitness.

..... Dan shows a resilience most players do not have.
Mnn..
So he wasn't ready to play?
It's a bit chicken and egg isn't it.
If he lacks match fitness then he has to run those legs off at Sandy until he is ready, and doesn't have to be treated with kid gloves.

But such was our predicament, that he was thrown into the ring. Given the evidence, he obviously wasn't fit enough to play a series of games in the reserves (sorry Sandy fans), so he was 'wheel-chaired into these games.
It is not an indictment of his robustness.
Hopefully, he'll turn back the clock to 2014, but I see him at best as being a 'linking player'. Perhaps he could be a goal sneak, but I don't think he is especially known for silky disposal and kicking. He certainly can (could) pick up the ball nicely.

There’s a difference between not being fit and being injured.

Hannebery injury free would be in the fittest 5 at the club

His body keeps breaking down.

Last year, pre season he won the time trial.