New Centre-half back - Holla a Marshall

Thank you Shane Grambeau...(not sure I can spell my own name)...

But seriously folks....

Sharman in the forward line.....

Marshall at centre half-back...

Think that West Coast Centre-half backs of the 1990s....

Think Val Perovic!!!!

Think Shane Grambeau at Melbourne!!

You beauty...

Let's be honest!

CHB is St Kilda's weak point!!

Re: New Centre-half back - Holla a Marshall

Shane. I understand it is the festive season. Even puritanical me, and my neighbour, have downed more than our fair share of stubbles down my back paddock tonight. Discussing the hay season, of course.

So what is your default excuse for your truly ridiculous statement?

Trev from the Bush wrote: Tue 21 Dec 2021 11:50pm Shane. I understand it is the festive season. Even puritanical me, and my neighbour, have downed more than our fair share of stubbles down my back paddock tonight. Discussing the hay season, of course.

Thanks Trev,

Well, I must give your enquiry/inquiry the its due.

Well...it goes like this...

1) We have No CHB
2) Mr. Battle, despite his glorious name, is not good enough, according to (stick with me Trev) ..our esteemed coach Mr. Ratten . No kidding around here - this is serious stuff- the spine, no ;ess. Cetre Half Back for F$%&'( sake!

I don't see our lack of Centre Half Back as an issue.

Centre Half Back is almost a non existent role in modern footy, mainly due to the fact that a genuine Centre Half Forward is rare.

Transition, unless on the counter, almost always moves from the wings, meaning agile flanks, spreading mids and deep forwards are the links. Intercept markers, like Jake Lever or Callum Wilkie, are the modern day defence between midfield and full back.

Hook line sinker

Josh Battle will play Centre Half Back. The club have already announced it.

Battle will have to play tall but he has done that before. He has the physicality and ability to punch the ball in marking contests. Up to now, I haven't seen him split packs like Carlisle could though.

Marshall is a follower really. Ruck interchanging with Ryder, and then moving up into the forward line where he can be damaging.

CHB is not even a position anymore

It really is the silly season.

Short answer "No". Why would you take a rucking/forward weapon away from that position when we have 5 players who could play CHB?

So how do our backs stack up against this forward line:

Billings. Marshall. Membrey
Higgins. King. Sharman

Particularly at CHB.

In the cool light of morning hangover ..I still think k ..
1) we need a hulking defender who can mark, has good sense, can swing up the ground

2) Carlisle (not so much in recent years) could do this

3) Marshall is nit a brilliant forward, tearing it apart

4) Max Gawn is a good blocking player for Melbourne at times

5) it doesn’t matter he be located and fixed in the old traditional CHB position like on a diagram

6) Cooper Sherman

shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 22 Dec 2021 1:20pm In the cool light of morning hangover ..I still think k ..
1) we need a hulking defender who can mark, has good sense, can swing up the ground

2) Carlisle (not so much in recent years) could do this

3) Marshall is nit a brilliant forward, tearing it apart

4) Max Gawn is a good blocking player for Melbourne at times

5) it doesn’t matter he be located and fixed in the old traditional CHB position like on a diagram

6) Cooper Sherman
Clearly the club doesn't agree with it's supporter base or the "footy experts" so they didn't go out and recruit a hulking defender.
Rattens gameplan apparently doesn't revolve around 2 big units in the back line, they are trying to have us think that that requirement is now passe".
An injury to the one big unit we have in the backline could derail the season. Someone at the club might call 1800 858 858 if that happens.

OK..good points, but look at this team!!

Webster Howard Wilkie
Sinclair Marshall Highmore
Hill Steele Billings
Higgins Sharman Membrey
Butler King Gresham

Ryder Crouch Jones
Hannas Clark Byrnes Geary

sendmehomehappy

shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 22 Dec 2021 12:03am
Trev from the Bush wrote: Tue 21 Dec 2021 11:50pm Shane. I understand it is the festive season. Even puritanical me, and my neighbour, have downed more than our fair share of stubbles down my back paddock tonight. Discussing the hay season, of course.

Thanks Trev,

Well, I must give your enquiry/inquiry the its due.

Well...it goes like this...

1) We have No CHB
2) Mr. Battle, despite his glorious name, is not good enough, according to (stick with me Trev) ..our esteemed coach Mr. Ratten . No kidding around here - this is serious stuff- the spine, no ;ess. Cetre Half Back for F$%&'( sake!
Hey mate, what brand of sake are you drinking? I want some.

There is still time before Xmas to hunt it down.

Marshall at CHB. Why not? For a while, during a game, if the opposition's CHF is reaming us a new one.

He is good enough to rest there.

And the reason why is simple, ( and I know I don't have to tell you this SG):

After all, St Kilda's flag formula = (Team talent + flexibility + game plan) - ( the crock of whatever the opposition has) x (good luck-bad luck) x Y (where Y is the universal constant, to be deciphered only from reading tea leaves, goats' entrails, and the palm-creases of the current club president.

It's all straight forward really.

" If thought corrupts language then language can also corrupt thought."

Politics and the English Language George Orwell

I think Marshall will at most, drop back and sit in the hole the way Ben McEvoy did so successfully over his career.

Ben’s pbly a better contested mark then Marshall albeit when being led to the ball… but a think Marshall is better at beating a direct opponent and creating opportunity to mark as a forward.
He’s also a better tap ruck then McEvoy but neither excel in this regard.

Ultimately… Roman Marshall’s success will be determined by his ability to stay fit, competitive in hit outs (not excellent or terrible) and utilising his marking/endurance in a genuine follower/around the ground role

He will absolutely sit up forwards for patches of time and drop back to fill the hole but he’s not a KPP

Battle had already staked his claim on CHB a couple of years ago.

He's the right man - he played some good games there when AR entrusted him to the role.

We should show some faith in our young players - especially when they're doing well.

samoht wrote: Thu 23 Dec 2021 5:50pm Battle had already staked his claim on CHB a couple of years ago.

He's the right man - he played some good games there when AR entrusted him to the role.

We should show some faith in our young players - especially when they're doing well.
Well said :wink:

saynta wrote: Thu 23 Dec 2021 6:46pm
samoht wrote: Thu 23 Dec 2021 5:50pm Battle had already staked his claim on CHB a couple of years ago.

Well said :wink:
Battle is not a good enough CHB and Marshall is not a good enough forward.

We had a dismal year kicking 230 odd goals for the season. Marshall kicked nine of them. If he plays every game, he'll kick 14 goals in the current set-up.
Cooper Sharman will kick more than 14 goals.

Marshall could be a real foil for opposition forward strategy set-ups. I know, because as a back pocket U/15Cs, I had a good view.

Marshall can mark.
Marshall can kick.
Marshall is a boss.
Marshall can marshall.
Marshall is no Marshmellow.

Seriously, when has Battle 'staked his claim'..He looks the goods..but is he rerally that good?

I get really pissed off when ignorant fans post unsubstantiated crap as gospel when talking about our young players.

But hey, it's christmas and the season for good cheer and forgiveness so I will let the comments about Battle and Marshall even, pass.

saynta wrote: Fri 24 Dec 2021 9:27am I get really pissed off when ignorant fans post unsubstantiated crap as gospel when talking about our young players.

But hey, it's christmas and the season for good cheer and forgiveness so I will let the comments about Battle and Marshall even, pass.
Yes, Saynta. Forgive the seasonal frivolous banter in the name of Saint Nic.

But you have to admit it is an idea worth some merit.

1) Battle is not a proven KPP..He has been around and around. If he settles, bravo. But if he is found wanting..too slow? , can't leap, can't switch sides fast enough etc., then he will not be a regular KPP in a top 8 side.

2) Marshall is a champ, but he's not a killer in the forward line.

3) Cooper Sharman has shown something special already.

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 24 Dec 2021 10:13am
saynta wrote: Fri 24 Dec 2021 9:27am I get really pissed off when ignorant fans post unsubstantiated crap as gospel when talking about our young players.

1) Battle is not a proven KPP..He has been around and around. If he settles, bravo. But if he is found wanting..too slow? , can't leap, can't switch sides fast enough etc., then he will not be a regular KPP in a top 8 side.

I don’t think there’s anything to forgive here Shane, we all have to endure things on this forum we dislike it’s just that some of us self reflect better than others. At least your posts are generally about football.

The key point with Marshall for me is that he doesn’t need to be a super forward. We have King, Membrey, possibly Cooper and our smalls specifically for that purpose. Marshall is just a point of difference that can sit and either take a grab or take attention away from the others.

I do take your point on Battle... yea there is an argument to make that his best spot is CHB but it doesn’t exactly seem to be the perfect fit either with question marks of height/speed. Still, coming in to 2021 he looked ready to elevate his game and unfortunately didn’t settle all season. The midfield idea was a terrible one IMO. Will be interesting to see how this all plays out, especially if Bing does in fact arrive.

No worries mate. Have a happy christmas. 2022 is a year full of promise. :wink:

I think Battle is a lock for CHB. His form only dropped off when they started playing him elsewhere.
Marshall was oroginally a forward. He is more of a Follower or Ruck Rover than a Ruckman. Paddy is our #1 Ruckman.

The stuff about Sharman I'll drink to.

What do you want Battle to do, wrestle beanpoles and gorillas or run and leap and change sides.

Get hold of some 2019replays of Battle playing CHB.

While it would have been great if he turned into a big mid, he didn't, but he is a tough competitor and highly skilled at reading the play.

Marshall is a midfielder and a decent ruckman. He will definitely find himself cutting off HB at times but its moronic to suggest we should waste him at CHB.

CQ SAINT wrote: Fri 24 Dec 2021 4:45pm

What do you want Battle to do, wrestle beanpoles and gorillas or run and leap and change sides.

Get hold of some 2019replays of Battle playing CHB.

While it would have been great if he turned into a big mid, he didn't, but he is a tough competitor and highly skilled at reading the play.

Marshall is a midfielder and a decent ruckman. He will definitely find himself cutting off HB at times but its moronic to suggest we should waste him at CHB.
Yes
It won’t happen, I suppose..
We can’t afford to spare Marshall. Ryder will not play every game and will frequently be rested when playing.

But I do think our defense is vulnerable and as Carlisle faded and disappeared it became more obvious.

I know there is exciting talent in Paton, Coff, Highmore and reliability in Wilkie, Howard and Webster, but we were regularly ripped apart last year around the Centre and we always look vulnerable on kick outs from behinds.

Anyones guess whether Clark, Geary, Coff and Paton can provide in 2022.

I’m sure Marshall will spend time there..

Another thing is that I don’t think he is a brilliant forward..(nine goals last year)