ASHES 21/22

Re: ASHES 21/22

St Plugger wrote: Mon 10 Jan 2022 10:41am Err, um, Greens not from NSW, he's a Sandgroper!
yeah..my bad.

But I still think we declared too late.

Khawaja plays for Qld too, not NSW.

Khawaja deserved to get his ton, declared at the right time

If their wasn’t 7 overs lost to rain on day 5 their would’ve been a result

B.M wrote: Mon 10 Jan 2022 4:12pm Khawaja plays for Qld too, not NSW.

Khawaja deserved to get his ton, declared at the right time

If their wasn’t 7 overs lost to rain on day 5 their would’ve been a result
Hey, wait a minute..

Forget about my NSW rant..

You think we shouldn't have declared earlier because Khawaja deserved his century?

My evidence is that once Green went on a slogathon and failed, we declared.

You might argue he was giving Green his chance too!

I am sure if we had declared even four overs earlier we would have won the game, and the series 5-0.

(and won the first four of the home and away season too..as well as Sandy..with Geary as captain)

We had 100 overs to bowl out the Poms ..... plenty enough time on a 5th day wicket that was turning ..... no issue with the declaration timing

The only bizarre thing was sending Carey out to face 1 ball.

The declaration had everything to do with time of day, and overs remaining

They didn’t want to start day 5 with a 20 over old ball
Instead have 12 - 15 at them and make them start again the next day with a relatively new ball.

Once the juice went out of the ball - batting looked much easier

Declaration was not an issue

I suspect 400 was the target, I think they believed Carey would not go out and get the team there quickly in a couple of overs. No one else had the pads so they had to declare.

Some rain and dropped chances cost the win, not the timing of the declaration.

Even the rain played no part on the last day as we still were able to bowl 91 overs

I think the Aussies were a bit gun shy due to stuffing up a few 4th innings recently.

The previous 4 days had shown the pitch wasn’t too hard to bat on once the ball got a bit older. When you bat teams out of the game you give them no incentive to take risks trying to chase the target. If you dangle a carrot you’ve got a better chance of bowling them out IMO.

You gotta risk losing sometimes to win.

Declarations targets are always easier to make after the game is over. As it turned out, we could have declared any time after 159 (end of over 51) and still not lost - although the dynamics of the game might have been different. I would have declared after Usman got his century i.e. at the end of over 67. He batted on for another 2 overs. Pretty close.

I think it was a good declaration. Not too conservative and still leaving 100+ overs a fifth day wicket. Bairstow and Stokes were going there for a while in the first innings and they were scoring at 6 an over easy. 8-10 overs and 50 runs less on the target would have completely changed the fourth innings and perhaps the Aussies were aware that England, for all their batting frailty, have some guys who can score in a hurry.

Some good arguments above.
yes..
1) keep the ball fresh is an interesting one...2/5 (just do more damage in the evening? )
2) Should have declared after Usman made 100 ..well, but we look weak mentally (not team first) ...3/5
3) Aussies gun shy...mmnn ..maybe yes...3/5
4) 91 overs was not enough + ...yes 4/5..hard to argue given how piss-weak Eng have been..

I know it is easy in hindsight, but I wonder what could have been!!

The POms are obviously looking better.

Glad Usman got his ton. Looks like he's been unlucky at the selection table.

I wonder if the Cummins and Langer had a word in Khawaja's ear to the tune of, 'Look, we are gonna declare at over so and so...'. ???

Devilhead wrote: Tue 11 Jan 2022 8:47pm Even the rain played no part on the last day as we still were able to bowl 91 overs
98 were the allotted number of overs for the 5th day, they lost 7 overs when someone spat out the window driving past the ground.

roskilde

I thought it was a perfect declaration. Enough runs on the board to just about put victory out of the English reach -- though Headingley of course would have been in the back of all their minds -- and more than enough overs to bowl them out. We fell one wicket short. Ho-hum. Great captaincy from Cummins and the game was a dead rubber anyway.

As much as I'd love a whitewash I've learned to never be greedy as a Saints fan.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

Sanity has prevailed. Khawaja holds his spot and moves up to open with Warner. Head comes back in. Harris dropped.
Waiting on a fitness test this arvo (i.e bowl in the nets) to see if ScoBo comes up after injuring himself in Sydney. Some conjecture also around that Starc may need a rest.
https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2022/ ... arris-axed

https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/ashe ... rt-1296663

Harris finally dumped. Good. He might be much loved by his team mates but he isn't up to the job as a test opening batsman. Not yet anyway.

Murmuring about ScoBos injury might be seeding expectations for Hazelwood to slip back in

shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 13 Jan 2022 6:17pm Murmuring about ScoBos injury might be seeding expectations for Hazelwood to slip back in
They've already said Jhye Richo is his replacement should he not make it to the line.

roskilde

ScoBos??????

Is that a Martian moon?

Reported both of you to the appropriate authorities for using ludicrous nicknames. :)

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

roskilde wrote: Thu 13 Jan 2022 6:47pm ScoBos??????

Is that a Martian moon?

Reported both of you to the appropriate authorities for using ludicrous nicknames. :)
I quite like 'ScoBo'. Nice play on the other Sco. Ludicrous is good I reckon when it comes to nicknames.

The weather forecast is for showers in the late afternoon and evening for the first three days.

perfectionist wrote: Fri 14 Jan 2022 1:30pm The weather forecast is for showers in the late afternoon and evening for the first three days.
A day/night Test in Tassie wasn't the brightest of ideas!

roskilde wrote: Thu 13 Jan 2022 6:47pm ScoBos??????

Is that a Martian moon?

aha!

Not original but convenient.

With career figures of 14/121 at an average of 8.74, you can't really call him SloBo..SloBro...LoSlo....I'll stop while I'm ..too late..f4567K!

I've seen ripe avocados not as green as this pitch. The weather may be the only reason the Test lasts 3 days.

Marcus Harris is the happiest bloke in the dressing room. At least his career is still on life support. If he'd played, the plug would have been pulled.