Freeman to Gold Coast?

SinCitySainter

Re: Freeman to Gold Coast?

Good for him I hope he gets to play a few years.

I for one hope he succeeds. He was just coming good for us when we cut him free.

What will happen if Freeman wins a flag with the GC before we win one.

Vortex wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 1:01pm What will happen if Freeman wins a flag with the GC before we win one.
It'll be a very cold year in hell.

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 1:05pm
Vortex wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 1:01pm What will happen if Freeman wins a flag with the GC before we win one.
So you think we are that much closer to a Flag than the GC, or think Freeman isn't capable of being a premiership player?

Freeman delisting one of our more bizarre decisions. And let's face it, there've been a few!

Vortex wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 2:04pm
So you think we are that much closer to a Flag than the GC, or think Freeman isn't capable of being a premiership player?
In some sense, Freeman's trajectory has paralleled GCs. Hope and failure. Disappointment, spark of hope, flat line, hope again..
If GC were to get there before us, without Freeman, it means they probably got a lot better, or it is so far into the future we be dead.
With Freeman, we will feel Luke Balled.

I expect GWS to be very sour.
And Carlton.
Maybe Carlton should merge with them.
Carlton Coast, before transferring to Dunedin, NZ.

Yes

Sainter_Dad wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 3:16pm
Yes
They have an impressive list build in progress that is only in need of some more experience and possibly a new coach which could be Clarko. I think they will rise pretty quickly over the next 2 seasons.

Everyone wishes Nathan well and he was unlucky Richo was in his final throes when he got a game in the firsts.

However GC just delisted a required player expecting to rehire and North said thanks very much. Despite the hype and rep their brains trust may not be the real deal.

And, yuk, every time I think deeply about GC - not often - I unfortunately remember the snap of the coach peering over his largish tummy peeing in a parking lot that was shared by one of his trusted lieutenants. Can't see that mob going anywhere despite the talent and dough shovelled into their bellies.

Both.

saynta wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 10:42am I for one hope he succeeds. He was just coming good for us when we cut him free.
I agree Saynta we put so much time & money into him to help get those hamstrings right & just when it seemed like he was finally coming good we cut him :?

I fear I'll be long gone.

Good luck Nathan. I wish you every success.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 10:25pm
I fear I'll be long gone.
Not forgotten though mate.

repta

I wish him and GC luck.
If all else fails they could use his hamstring tendons to play the violin (they are that tight).

repta wrote: Tue 30 Nov 2021 9:15am I wish him and GC luck.
If all else fails they could use his hamstring tendons to play the violin (they are that tight).
I hope Gold Coast struggle...fold..and are replaced by a Tassie club.

https://amp.couriermail.com.au/news/bre ... 1887608cf4

According to many Freeman is an absolute legend of a bloke and an awesome clubman. Gives his all to club and team mates and has remained absolutely positive regardless of his bad luck and terrible injuries. Just loves playing footy

I hope he has a career, gets paid well and has a real run of health. Would be awesome for him

MC Gusto wrote: Tue 30 Nov 2021 8:35pm According to many Freeman is an absolute legend of a bloke and an awesome clubman. Gives his all to club and team mates and has remained absolutely positive regardless of his bad luck and terrible injuries. Just loves playing footy

I hope he has a career, gets paid well and has a real run of health. Would be awesome for him
Totally agree. But wish it had been for us.

freely wrote: Wed 01 Dec 2021 11:12am
MC Gusto wrote: Tue 30 Nov 2021 8:35pm According to many Freeman is an absolute legend of a bloke and an awesome clubman. Gives his all to club and team mates and has remained absolutely positive regardless of his bad luck and terrible injuries. Just loves playing footy

Look on the bright side...
We were pumping games into Newnes, Weller, Savage + Armitage and Gilbert needed a few more to wind their careers down. That served us well

skeptic wrote: Wed 01 Dec 2021 11:58am

We were pumping games into Newnes, Weller, Savage + Armitage and Gilbert needed a few more to wind their careers down. That served us well
And don’t forget he was surplus to our needs once they’d secured the services of Dan Hannebury

And…I’m not kidding!

We invested in Nathan and after nearly 3 years and countless setbacks he finally played his first game of AFL in St Kilda colours. He probably should have played 6-8 games in 2018 but I reckon Lethlean had already convinced everyone that Hannas was coming

The discussions and negotiation to recruit Hannas led to the non selection of Freeman and the decision to delist him, despite the fact that he was finally injury free and starting to live up to his potential

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2018/07/28/ ... n-the-vfl/

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-20 ... 2f110866a9

Scollop wrote: Wed 01 Dec 2021 5:21pm
skeptic wrote: Wed 01 Dec 2021 11:58am

And don’t forget he was surplus to our needs once they’d secured the services of Dan Hannebury

And…I’m not kidding!

We invested in Nathan and after nearly 3 years and countless setbacks he finally played his first game of AFL in St Kilda colours. He probably should have played 6-8 games in 2018 but I reckon Lethlean had already convinced everyone that Hannas was coming

The discussions and negotiation to recruit Hannas led to the non selection of Freeman and the decision to delist him, despite the fact that he was finally injury free and starting to live up to his potential

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2018/07/28/ ... n-the-vfl/

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-20 ... 2f110866a9
Geeez i’d stopped thinking about that recruitment over the off-season so far beyond a little chuckle I get every time someone lists him as an integral part of the top 22.

What a disaster it really has been.

2-3 decent games in 3 years including a good performance in a final that has taken on the status of an urban legend despite the fact that he wasn’t even BOG

Hannabery sits comfortably with Barrot and Lovett in the trifecta of recruiting c**k-ups of the last 50years.
Freeman right up there with Hill in the top ten!

Faulky63

Unfortunately NO cigar, was overlooked.
Deserves a chance I reckon with someone.