Wealthy St Kilda figure Gerry Ryan and former coach Grant Thomas endorse Larry Benge to join Saints board

Re: Wealthy St Kilda figure Gerry Ryan and former coach Grant Thomas endorse Larry Benge to join Saints board

longtimesaint wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 5:14pm
……could be… AA…Marshall, King and Hunter Clark.

At this time last year none of the so called experts thought Melbourne could make the eight let alone win the flag.
Yep, for sure. I thought Ross Lyon would coach Melbourne in 2023.

What makes Melbourne so good it was it a flash in the pan? Leicester City?

Thing is, if we do get sixth, win a final, some will say we ain’t much better than 2020 and it’s two years on, and then those guys are 30ish.

Safe to say we aren’t at all sure of where we are now. Less sure than a year before…so does that mean much? The fact that we don’t know our value on the scale. I think we’ve from a 6th to 10th team to a 4th to 12th..

Anything could happen in ‘22.

Re: Wealthy St Kilda figure Gerry Ryan and former coach Grant Thomas endorse Larry Benge to join Saints board

Sanctorum wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 4:21pm
Teflon wrote: Thu 04 Nov 2021 11:55pm
I’d be wanting top 6 and finals win
I don’t buy the whole “we just need intent and belief and we can overcome anyone...” it’s lazy GT mumbo jumbo
IF we have injuries like this year facts are we’ll struggle to get there
Whilst the club is and has been doing a lot right (it’s not easy changing a list with not much draft picks and not being a destination club after 7 long years in the Richo wilderness..) reality is we are thin depth wise and it’s worse in key spots eg
- ruck, if we can’t get Roma/Ryder on the park often enough in good stretches of games we’ll struggle
- Z Jones/Gresham are our genuine mid running options...lose them like this year for extended periods we struggle
- D Howard should he go down....we might be in strife ..

So to say injuries don’t matter ...it’s all about intent is rubbish. Melb win the flag this year and we’re consistently one of the top sides and had bugger all injuries..no mystery
The things you've listed Teflon confirm that the St Kilda Football Department has made some very poor decisions in the past 5 years, especially in the crucial areas of recruiting, fitness and player development.

From 2015 to 2019 the team failed to get a single player named All Australian, and even in 2020 when the team played finals there were only 2, one of whom, Dan Butler, came from Richmond. This year only Jack Steele made AA, which says heaps about the lack of star quality on the list and reflects poorly on the current administration.

With pretty well every single AFL commentator writing off any chance of St Kilda making the top 8 in 2022, it is little wonder that the likes of Gerry Ryan and Grant Thomas have come out to demand a change in direction....
Yes ..... cause the AFL expert commentators are never ever wrong :roll:

As for fitness levels ..... it was pretty clear that the Bulldogs were NOT fit enough going into the GF because .... hey ...... they lost by 13 goals

longtimesaint wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 5:14pm If we play to anywhere near our potential and have a reasonable run with injuries we should easily make the eight.
I think the current administration are doing a good job and stability in the off field areas are what you need.
We have several players that could become AA players in the future including Marshall, King and Hunter Clark.
At this time last year none of the so called experts thought Melbourne could make the eight let alone win the flag.
Agree stability is important. But it's a short step from stability to stagnation. That's the danger.

Sanctorum wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 4:21pm
Teflon wrote: Thu 04 Nov 2021 11:55pm
I’d be wanting top 6 and finals win
I don’t buy the whole “we just need intent and belief and we can overcome anyone...” it’s lazy GT mumbo jumbo
IF we have injuries like this year facts are we’ll struggle to get there
Whilst the club is and has been doing a lot right (it’s not easy changing a list with not much draft picks and not being a destination club after 7 long years in the Richo wilderness..) reality is we are thin depth wise and it’s worse in key spots eg
- ruck, if we can’t get Roma/Ryder on the park often enough in good stretches of games we’ll struggle
- Z Jones/Gresham are our genuine mid running options...lose them like this year for extended periods we struggle
- D Howard should he go down....we might be in strife ..

So to say injuries don’t matter ...it’s all about intent is rubbish. Melb win the flag this year and we’re consistently one of the top sides and had bugger all injuries..no mystery
The things you've listed Teflon confirm that the St Kilda Football Department has made some very poor decisions in the past 5 years, especially in the crucial areas of recruiting, fitness and player development.

From 2015 to 2019 the team failed to get a single player named All Australian, and even in 2020 when the team played finals there were only 2, one of whom, Dan Butler, came from Richmond. This year only Jack Steele made AA, which says heaps about the lack of star quality on the list and reflects poorly on the current administration.

With pretty well every single AFL commentator writing off any chance of St Kilda making the top 8 in 2022, it is little wonder that the likes of Gerry Ryan and Grant Thomas have come out to demand a change in direction....
We won a final in 2020 beat a much more fancied opponent without “star power”....had a tough draw riddled with injury this year and you somehow feel Board upheaval is the tonic?

And when we were poor 2015-2019 where feck was Grant “come lately” ???????
Nowhere to be seen.
Don’t follow the press or popular opinion try be objective and look at the motivation
It’s pretty obvious stuff.

longtimesaint wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 5:14pm If we play to anywhere near our potential and have a reasonable run with injuries we should easily make the eight.
I think the current administration are doing a good job and stability in the off field areas are what you need.
We have several players that could become AA players in the future including Marshall, King and Hunter Clark.
Excellent post could not agree more
Ofcourse if they mismanage this pre season no excuse (other than injury which anyone in footy with half a brain...except Grant...knows IS a legitimate factor in losing games).
But we must maintain stability and we must continue to grow the list and invest in development
Not interested in going back to ‘hasbeens’ who’ve had their go

So...No consequences at all for Finnis who is the 'reason' St Kilda stagnated for a five or six year period before Ratten was appointed

And ...Lethlean ...What does he do again? Oh that's right...he provides stability. Has the board and CEO ever investigated the Hannebery deal?...enough said.

Sanctorum wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 4:21pm With pretty well every single AFL commentator writing off any chance of St Kilda making the top 8 in 2022, it is little wonder that the likes of Gerry Ryan and Grant Thomas have come out to demand a change in direction....
Before I endorse the overthrow of the StK Board (slight exaggeration but GT's waffle doesn't sound like a gentle whisper to get a mate a Board spot) on AFL commentators not picking StK to make the Top 8 in 2022. How did those same commentators go in selecting Melbourne at this time of the year back in 2020?

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 10:03pm
Sanctorum wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 4:21pm With pretty well every single AFL commentator writing off any chance of St Kilda making the top 8 in 2022, it is little wonder that the likes of Gerry Ryan and Grant Thomas have come out to demand a change in direction....
Before I endorse the overthrow of the StK Board (slight exaggeration but GT's waffle doesn't sound like a gentle whisper to get a mate a Board spot) on AFL commentators not picking StK to make the Top 8 in 2022. How did those same commentators go in selecting Melbourne at this time of the year back in 2020?
It is waffle and agree re Melb ....experts didn’t see that coming
Anyway if we fail through poor fitness , game plan execution etc in 2022 I expect coaching change at minimum and maybe Finnis
But going back to failed Grant Thomas days is not the answer

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 10:03pm

Scollop wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 9:26pm So...No consequences at all for Finnis who is the 'reason' St Kilda stagnated for a five or six year period before Ratten was appointed

And ...Lethlean ...What does he do again? Oh that's right...he provides stability. Has the board and CEO ever investigated the Hannebery deal?...enough said.
You left out all the good things they’ve delivered including rebuilding a list with eff all draft hand in recent years and you’ve just banged on about Hannerbury ....is that it ? One injured recruit equals over throw the Board and burn the place down and bring back “culture cliche King” Grant???
You’d be great in the trenches .....really good at holding your nerve..

Why are we even in the trenches?
Because we keep making the wrong decisions.... that's why.

As an example....
We keep overlooking the top young midfielders - the ones with skill and outside run - year after year with our first draft pick.

I want to see what happens this year - if we finally recognise and prioritise this need.
It is what our team has been crying out for.

I will judge our club based on this.

Our club has dug its own ditch.

I'm all for someone new on the board. A clear thinker.

samoht wrote: Thu 04 Nov 2021 8:45am We need someone new and motivated on the board to make sure we are indeed turning the corner and now on a new track.
To keep the incumbents honest.

This is St Kilda we are talking about ... things need to change.
You want someone new? Jason Blake has been nominated by the board. I would rather have him then a dentist who probably has never played the game

If Blake's the right person, has ideas (is not just a yes/consensus man) and is a clear thinker - why not?
Does he have the expertise/gravitas?
You need someone who will command respect.

Teflon wrote: Fri 05 Nov 2021 9:04pm
....you somehow feel Board upheaval is the tonic?
By any measure, you can hardly call the nomination of one individual to contest a seat on the St Kilda FC Board of Directors an "upheaval".

Since this drama has unfolded in the media (and on this forum), it has got Bassat and Finnis off their backsides to rally support and make the following points:

"We became aware of areas we needed to improve. Those diagnostics said to us we had some more work to do around the how we go about it, as much as what we do. And they were things like standards around our preparation, are we team-first enough? Even just some of our communication. Relationships were really high.

"But other things, when we shone the torch on ourselves, we weren't where we needed to be, and that led to a program of work around bridging the gap, where we honestly thought where we were against the teams competing for flags, year in, year out.

"The non-negotiable now is that we are competitive to the end, that's the ingredient we are missing."

It has also triggered the resignation of Danni Roche and the nomination of Jason Blake to take her place.

We'll never know, but I would be surprised if either Finnis, Lethlean, Bassat and the Board consider the action by Ryan and Thomas, including the latter's media appearances, anywhere near as dramatically or ill-tempered as supporters on this forum.

It really is nothing more than a wake-up call after a poor season and the 55 year premiership drought!

Sanctorum wrote: Sat 06 Nov 2021 1:36pm
By any measure, you can hardly call the nomination of one individual to contest a seat on the St Kilda FC Board of Directors an "upheaval".

Since this drama has unfolded in the media (and on this forum), it has got Bassat and Finnis off their backsides to rally support and make the following points:

"We became aware of areas we needed to improve. Those diagnostics said to us we had some more work to do around the how we go about it, as much as what we do. And they were things like standards around our preparation, are we team-first enough? Even just some of our communication. Relationships were really high.

"But other things, when we shone the torch on ourselves, we weren't where we needed to be, and that led to a program of work around bridging the gap, where we honestly thought where we were against the teams competing for flags, year in, year out.

"The non-negotiable now is that we are competitive to the end, that's the ingredient we are missing."

It has also triggered the resignation of Danni Roche and the nomination of Jason Blake to take her place.

We'll never know, but I would be surprised if either Finnis, Lethlean, Bassat and the Board consider the action by Ryan and Thomas, including the latter's media appearances, anywhere near as dramatically or ill-tempered as supporters on this forum.

It really is nothing more than a wake-up call after a poor season and the 55 year premiership drought!
That’s if you accept Thomas motive as just helping Larry the dentist on the Board
I don’t expect it ends there have seen this before
He’ll sit off to the side, leak rumblings to media, destabilise until he gets his way
Larry (whoever he is) is a puppet for Grant - maybe not Gerry as I think he’s fair dinkum.
Anyway, you’re clearly happy to drag the club through the media ...as if that’s a professional way to approach Board change.
I think it’s poor.

It seems like Bassat has listened to the Gerry and GT view and then in conjuction with his board they have picked their own candidates for board positions.

It also seems like all this GT paranoia is for sweet FA, but don't let it stop ya.

Errrr ..... I am pretty sure the board knew of areas that needed to be fixed well before Thomas went to the media

samoht wrote: Sat 06 Nov 2021 11:41am If Blake's the right person, has ideas (is not just a yes/consensus man) and is a clear thinker - why not?
You really think the current board is full of consensus "Yes Men"?? :lol:

The only time our board was full of "Yes Men" was when Thomas was in charge of literally everything ...... cause it was his way or the highway

samoht wrote: Sat 06 Nov 2021 11:41am If Blake's the right person, has ideas (is not just a yes/consensus man) and is a clear thinker - why not?
as a member of the board, will the dentist command respect ? Especially as he will probably will go and tell Grant everything that happens in board meetings

If there are people involved with St Kilda, especially at Board level, who do not know it's a 50+ year drought, they do not need a wake up call, they need a burial.

BUT...

To be fair though, when it is only the one Premiership since 1878, we may still be in fertile ground as the Flag came after 80+ years???

Ghost Like wrote: Sun 07 Nov 2021 9:34am
If there are people involved with St Kilda, especially at Board level, who do not know it's a 50+ year drought, they do not need a wake up call, they need a burial.

BUT...

To be fair though, when it is only the one Premiership since 1878, we may still be in fertile ground as the Flag came after 80+ years???
Fair enough GL, the Directors are certainly aware of the club's miserable history in only having one premiership cup in the trophy cabinet. The point I was trying to make is that it is no coincidence that Bassat and Finnis came out with all that positive spin on the state of the club last week, it was clearly in response to the nomination of Larry the Dentist by Ryan and Thomas to a position on the Board.

As a staunch financial member for many decades I have rarely seen evidence that the Board acknowledges that the need for team success is really really urgent. And now more than ever....

Saying that the club is in a strong position in terms of record membership numbers is quite meaningless, given that there is now a choice of 14 different membership packages, some for as little as $30!

A far more significant indication of how the club is rated, for me, is the status of official club sponsors - worthy as they may be, neither Deliveroo nor Pepper Money, the current principal sponsors, are hardly "household names", unlike many other clubs that carry the branding of big corporate entities.

I don't consider the airing of a Board challenge in the media is a problem, nor do I worry about Thomas going on air to underline the utter need for St Kilda to mount a real challenge to win another premiership - it's no big deal to fire a rocket up the proverbials of the Board, senior executives, coaches and players to get their act together and get the club to achieve consistent success.

I repeat what I said a while ago, both Richmond and Melbourne had their dirty washing aired publicly in past years, and look at what those 2 teams have achieved since then!

I'm no fan of Grant Thomas, far from it, but in this instance I firmly believe he is merely saying what I and many others have been thinking for quite a long time, which is that some things have to change, and remaining complacent is no longer acceptable.

Sanctorum wrote: Sun 07 Nov 2021 12:15pm I repeat what I said a while ago, both Richmond and Melbourne had their dirty washing aired publicly in past years, and look at what those 2 teams have achieved since then!

I'm no fan of Grant Thomas, far from it, but in this instance I firmly believe he is merely saying what I and many others have been thinking for quite a long time, which is that some things have to change, and remaining complacent is no longer acceptable.
No dramas sancto but I cannot see how airing "dirty washing" as you put it equates to winning a Premiership. The two clubs you use as examples have aired plenty of "dirty washing", some of that causing fractures within that held them back. Include St Kilda in that, we have had numerous airings, yet here we are.

This is the point or conjecture about Thomas's timing, it would have made more sense 4 or 5 years ago. Plus I do not believe the reasoning behind this is because Thomas fears we've become complacent. Again, the quote "one good fight left" is not the quote of a person merely wanting a new Board member is it?

Devilhead wrote: Sun 07 Nov 2021 2:30am

Errrr ..... I am pretty sure the board knew of areas that needed to be fixed well before Thomas went to the media
So we can expect more trades from Lethlean and recruiting of senior players like the Hannebery deal and more mortgaging the future rubber stamped by an incompetent board for any player out there like Brad Hill who has a full belly and wants a nice retirement package

So Lethlaen and co (who were behind these ridiculous trades) are going to be the group that ‘fixes’ things that they have already stuffed up.

Noice
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 07 Nov 2021 1:10pm, edited 1 time in total.