What will Saints do with their first pick 2021 draft

Re: What will Saints do with their first pick 2021 draft

We will take a kid rated about 25-35 in the hope he turns out a ripper.

The decision will be supported on SS for about 3 years and then he’ll become a whipping boy.

Those who then question will be branded hindsight hero’s

I reckon we will trade it out for 2 picks in return

Yallingupsaints

A Luke Jackson type would be handy. Should seriously be looking at Jacob Van Rooyen but doubt we are smart enough

magnifisaint wrote: Fri 10 Sep 2021 4:40pm Just get someone that's going to make a difference.
I agree but do we have the blokes in charge to deliver watching Petracca tonight made me feel quite delusional they get him & what do we have :(

bangaulegend wrote: Sat 11 Sep 2021 12:00am
magnifisaint wrote: Fri 10 Sep 2021 4:40pm Just get someone that's going to make a difference.
I agree but do we have the blokes in charge to deliver watching Petracca tonight made me feel quite delusional they get him & what do we have :(
There wont be many of Trouts recruits left at the club shortly, which says a lot given he was in charge of recuiting for 7 years.

I now believe he was a 'trojan horse' planted by Sheedy to cause as much damage as he could in his time at the club.

As long as we don't draft a HBF and try to turn him into a mid or a one sided mid with poor disposal.

Melbourne are showing how important a gun midfield is, that’s what we need!

They’ve also got three AA defenders

A potent forward line and no injuries

Their forward line looks potent due to the midfield.

The backline looks better due to the midfield.

The Melbourne midfield broke Geelong’s back in the 3rd last night, it had nothing to do with the backline.

BadRossco

If our recruiters are true to form our first pick will be traded to the filth for Mason Cox, perhaps should be careful as many a true word is said in jest. Quick, skilled, young outside mid should be the first priority.

Had a bit to do with Max Gawn

Saints58

If we got as many first round draft picks as Melbourne in the last 10 years we would have some gun players all over the ground as well.

Melbourne...this is where they built their list

2013...pick 9: Salem
2014...pick 2: Petracca
2014...pick 3: Brayshaw
2015...pick 4: Oliver
2016....traded for May
2017...traded for Lever
2019...pick 3 : Jackson
2019...pick 12: Pickett
2019..traded for Tomlinson
2020..traded for Langdon and Brown

In two drafts selected themselves and A Grade midfield group. In two trade periods brought in two elite defenders

avid

Saints58 wrote: Fri 10 Sep 2021 12:46pm After watching lighlights of mac Andrew wow I won’t him plays like a young Nic Nate jumps and runs like him from center bounce and a similar build at same age. He turned out ok.
Was Nic Nat a project player as his family were from Fiji.
From that pretty amazing highlights reel, he's playing like a skilled and creative midfielder who's 200+ tall -- who can dominate the ruck while he's at it, and control the air in the forward line and the back line. He's nimble, like Max King. He looks slow-paced, but his paces are vast. He has silky skills.
I understand our need for a classic, almost ready to go midfielder. But I wouldn't mind waiting for this guy.

SAINT-LEE

older saint wrote: Thu 09 Sep 2021 12:08pm
saynta wrote: Thu 09 Sep 2021 11:51am
ace wrote: Thu 09 Sep 2021 2:24am
Saints58 wrote: Wed 08 Sep 2021 10:49pm there is mac Andrew a 200cm athletic running forward/Ruck/Defender he is tipped to go 7-12 range and would be a good prospect for a KPB but he is very light will take some work but has good skills.
Lets be smart and get what we need so Willkie will not have to play on a player 8 cm taller we have plenty of Mids.
https://www.afl.com.au/video/655053/dra ... 7588800001
Not bad . Pretty good actually. Speedy, quick hands, good footy brain. If we take him at our first pick, payback for those dee pricks taking Bowey.
Problem is in the last bit "light and will take some work". Window is opening now, can we afford to wait 2-3 years for a return? We also have a terrible record of developing young key defenders - Claravino, Austin, Goddard.
Pass and take a silky outside mid and trade in the future for Key back. Also guessing what the game will look like in the future with a speculative pick

It's OUR record? So what club picked up these legends and sculpted them into KPP?

NONE.

they were almost...but not good enough.

I would take him. He has all the skills. Besides it would piss Melbourne off and be a pay back for them taking Bowey.

I would hope that we will try to get 2 picks inside top 20 this year, it seems the top 4 or 5 are fixed but 5-22ish are reasonably even.
If it meant using a future second and splitting our first into 14 and 18 I'd do it.

2 top 20 midfielders and 2 NGAs would be a good replenishment for the youth brigade.

Saints58

Could we trade some players for picks Lonie is out but we wouldn't get much for him I would say a 4th rounder.
What about Seb Ross if he goes we might get a early 3rd rounder other wise who would we trade.
There is a player in the SANFL he plays for Central District Leek Alleer he is a KPD 196kg intercept mark and could get him for a late pick would be handy.

8. Mac Andrew (Dandenong Stingrays)

The Melbourne Next Generation Academy prospect has probably been the biggest bolter across the season. He would have to put on size and ultimately be a long-term prospect for any club that picked him up, but his athleticism and ability to play across all thirds of the ground at 200cm excites AFL clubs. Excluding his NAB League match where he got injured, Andrew averaged 15.2 disposals from his five games – the most of any ruckman – according to Champion Data. His hit-out-to-advantage rate of 18.1 per cent was also ranked fourth among the NAB League’s top 50 ruckmen for ruck contests. The AFL has changed the in-draft NGA bidding rules for 2021, with clubs with existing links to multicultural and Indigenous Academy players unable to match bids inside the top 20 selections. While Andrew is raw, recruiters believe there’s “no chance” he’s slipping outside of the top 20, especially after his performance in a Vic Metro trial game at Windy Hill earlier this year. It means the Dees are almost certain to miss out on him.

You would rather a pick 40-60 than Seb Ross?!

FFS

B.M wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 8:03pm You would rather a pick 40-60 than Seb Ross?!

FFS
Madness.