Poker machines

Re: Poker machines

Dave McNamara wrote: Tue 31 Aug 2021 7:46pm Our club should be helping communities, not being parasitic, like for example, that 'so-called' Family Club...

Maybe people will gamble anyway. And they'll OD on illicit drugs too. So if that's one's argument, then maybe we should get into drug dealing???

Ok, that'd be illegal. So we should start running brothels then?

And dealing arms. (That's sorta' legal. :oops: )
LOL - Dave

Why not run brothels - I would never frequent them - but some do as a choice - sex is now a commodity - and I guess it always was. I have known quite a few girls who you would never know worked in the game [and are thankful for a safe place to 'ply their trade] - some corporate - some nurses - some PCA's - if guys are stupid enough to pay for it - then if a girl wants to sell it then who am I to condemn it - and then there is the argument about Social Responsibility of giving an outlet for some people and safety of the Girls

If it turns a quid (and I believe 30% is the going House Rate) and helps us to a Flag - and is legal.

Arms dealing - yeah - not my bag:
Every [life] is sacred
Every [life] is great
If a [life] is wasted,
God gets quite irate

Sainter_Dad wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 9:30am
Dave McNamara wrote: Tue 31 Aug 2021 7:46pm Our club should be helping communities, not being parasitic, like for example, that 'so-called' Family Club...

Maybe people will gamble anyway. And they'll OD on illicit drugs too. So if that's one's argument, then maybe we should get into drug dealing???

LOL - Dave

Why not run brothels - I would never frequent them - but some do as a choice - sex is now a commodity - and I guess it always was. I have known quite a few girls who you would never know worked in the game [and are thankful for a safe place to 'ply their trade] - some corporate - some nurses - some PCA's - if guys are stupid enough to pay for it - then if a girl wants to sell it then who am I to condemn it - and then there is the argument about Social Responsibility of giving an outlet for some people and safety of the Girls

If it turns a quid (and I believe 30% is the going House Rate) and helps us to a Flag - and is legal.

Every [life] is sacred
Every [life] is great
If a [life] is wasted,
God gets quite irate
Some very shady types run brothels. Yea- not my bag:

saynta wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 10:55am Some very shady types run brothels. Yea- not my bag:
Some Windscreen Replacement Places are as well - and Building Sites - .......

Sainter_Dad wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 11:21am
saynta wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 10:55am Some very shady types run brothels. Yea- not my bag:
AND Football Leagues, and Casinos, and Banks...

Ghost Like wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 1:17pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 11:21am
AND Football Leagues, and Casinos, and Banks...
Well yeah to casinos and banks. :wink:

LOL - Dave

Every [life] is sacred
Every [life] is great
If a [life] is wasted,
God gets quite irate
It's only my belief, but God is not real so how do you know he gets irate?

Vortex wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 7:45am

LOL - Dave

Every [life] is sacred
Every [life] is great
If a [life] is wasted,
God gets quite irate
He told me!
So did his Son!

Just consider a blade of Grass!

Had a friend once, not real close but more than a casual acquiescence. His son worked in the local court and his mother ran the canteen at the local footy club on match days. She also worked for the Feds in a fairly important and responsible position.

Friday nights we ran a meat raffle at the local footy club to raise money for the team. Every time I attended my friends wife would be on her lonesome playing the pokkies. When I asked her she always told me she knew her limit.

Anyway, eventually she was arrested, locked up and appeared before the court her son worked in for defrauding the Commonwealth of tens of thousands of dollars.

That is only one story I could tell you.

I hate poker machines.

They certainly are parasitic and once their tentacles are in someone they are very hard to remove. Again though, that's the case with any addiction whether that's alcohol, cigarettes, prescription meds. Gambling is just another stream, a type of voluntary tax for some, involuntary to those addicted. The government makes too much money from all to seriously want their impacts addressed.

Friends & families become those most affected but they are also the ones best placed to assist those addicted if that person seeks help.

25 years ago I worked with a guy who put $50.00 into the Pokies EVERY lunchtime

You may call it addicted

He had separated from his wife - no kids
She got the house - he got the super
He lived with his mother

$50.00 was his MAD money and he chose to spend it on Pokies
Not $250 a week on drugs
Not $250 a week on smokes
Not $250 a week on drink

As far as he was concerned - he put the money in - played the Pokies - whatever he won he kept aside - it was his fun

My issue is the Tax Raised does not go to assist those affected - same as Petrol Tax does not go towards Roads.

We spend $500.00 a month on maintaining our hobby [more in Winter] - would not have it any other way.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 1:15pm 25 years ago I worked with a guy who put $50.00 into the Pokies EVERY lunchtime

You may call it addicted

He lived with his mother

Not $250 a week on drugs
Not $250 a week on drink

As far as he was concerned - he put the money in - played the Pokies - whatever he won he kept aside - it was his fun

My issue is the Tax Raised does not go to assist those affected - same as Petrol Tax does not go towards Roads.

We spend $500.00 a month on maintaining our hobby [more in Winter] - would not have it any other way.
That's really sad mate. You have gone from putting a few bucks in hoping for a win to buy dessert to putting 500 bucks a month, that's 6,000 bucks a year, through those evil addictive money gobblers.

You do know that the odds are stacked against you and that they are programed to eventually take all your money, don't you?

Feel for you, I really do.

saynta wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 1:22pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 1:15pm 25 years ago I worked with a guy who put $50.00 into the Pokies EVERY lunchtime

You may call it addicted

He lived with his mother

Not $250 a week on drugs
Not $250 a week on drink

That's really sad mate. You have gone from putting a few bucks in hoping for a win to buy dessert to putting 500 bucks a month, that's 6,000 bucks a year, through those evil addictive money gobblers.

You do know that the odds are stacked against you and that they are programed to eventually take all your money, don't you?

LOL - Saynta - Pokies are not our hobby - but thanks for the concern!

We have 34 pets!

I said that to use as a comparison to his hobby.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 1:46pm
saynta wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 1:22pm

You may call it addicted

He lived with his mother

Not $250 a week on drugs
Not $250 a week on drink

LOL - Saynta - Pokies are not our hobby - but thanks for the concern!

We have 34 pets!

I said that to use as a comparison to his hobby.
Ok well done then. Phew. I thought you had a problem. We spend a fortune on ours too. but we only have one dog and two very spoilt and fussy cats.

saynta wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 1:50pm
Ok well done then. Phew. I thought you had a problem. We spend a fortune on ours too. but we only have one dog and two very spoilt and fussy cats.
We do what our kids ask - lol!

Brothel idea does not align with the values at St Kilda Football Club, but if we move to the JO it would be easier to manage. Very reluctant to mention distateful and corrosive topics but it would derelict not to pursue all avenues to success on and off field.

Another option maybe a floating brothel tied to a berth at St Kilda Yacht Club. Do you think they can be bought? Give them a model of the original ketch, Lady St Kilda or whatever it was, and a cricket bat bought on Yahoo Auction from Cricket Victoria's firesale.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 9:52am
Vortex wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 7:45am

LOL - Dave

Every [life] is sacred
Every [life] is great
If a [life] is wasted,
God gets quite irate
He told me!
So did his Son!

Just consider a blade of Grass!
I'm an atheist, I believe grass is for smoking.

farquhar

I've sent an enquiry to the club to find out what the position on poker machines is, i.e. whether they intend to keep them or exit as some other football clubs have done.

Time for goal-kicking practice
roskilde

farquhar wrote: Sat 04 Sep 2021 10:54am I've sent an enquiry to the club to find out what the position on poker machines is, i.e. whether they intend to keep them or exit as some other football clubs have done.
Please let us know what their response is. I'd be very interested to hear it.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

roskilde wrote: Sat 04 Sep 2021 3:18pm
farquhar wrote: Sat 04 Sep 2021 10:54am I've sent an enquiry to the club to find out what the position on poker machines is, i.e. whether they intend to keep them or exit as some other football clubs have done.
Please let us know what their response is. I'd be very interested to hear it.
I thought club said not long ago that in the long run they would like to get get out of pokies but in the short term we still needed money from them. So until there are other revenue streams we’ll be keeping them.

farquhar

Pokies have provided a good cash flow pre-Covid but copied from the 2020 Annual report, the CEO’s report:

Social Club: The Moorabbin Social Venue operated for 143 days during the period as a result of the forced closure of the venue on 22 March 2020 due to Victorian Government restrictions. For the period, the venue made a loss of $409,845, a decrease of $1,028,531 from the prior year.

Time for goal-kicking practice

Seems like they don't own their machine licences. A key issue that the government, in its haste to move them into our communities, allowed the likes of Tattersalls, Mathieson, Zagames to control licence distribution and their value. For any club, be it RSL or Sporting, if they did not own their own licences they were leasing of these vultures / loan sharks - not a hope in hell there would ever be much money going back into the community once the licence owners demanded their cut.

We could do what Collingwood and other clubs have done and turn the narrative of a losing venture into a stand against gambling. If we are losing that much as a result of lockdowns then perhaps we should join the others on their high horse.

If people want to spend their hard earned by throwing it down the drain - at least they’re throwing it in the direction of our club!!!

So, as per Farquhar and Ghost Like's comments, our humble little casino operation made half a million in 2019? And that means the license holdees, e.g. Tattersalls, Mathieson, Zagames made a fair quid too, as did the State Government.

Imagine if Moorabbin has been running hot for ten years and is well established...they'd be making a 'fair' quid or two. Imagine what the Hawks have made over the years...Crown?

Ghost Like, that is a pretty explicit, dry/cynical reading on it re. Collingwood and turning our Casino stance from lame duck into a high horse.

It fits the profile St Kilda and most clubs wanna project and the AFL, which is supposed to be for the clubs. Then the AFL can really get their claws more deeply into gambling vis SportsBet and the like, and start making some big money especially on the global gambling scene. They've done their forecasts no doubt, and no all about the potential for India and Dubai and who knows where else to explode.

Ring Ring..
Hello, St Kilda Footy Club.
yeah, hello, its the AFL..
yeah what now?
We want you to stop losing money and project a good community image.
OK..no more tinnies will be sold at training in the car park.
No, what is the situation with your pokies?
Who is asking? The Kingston council...? Did they call? Do they want more cash?
Look...I'm not gonna say anything...just tell us you have a plan.
How much?
?
How much you gonna pay us?
Look, we got global gambling going on big time...It'll be worth 200 billion in twenty years...You do the right thing now..and we'll be sure to give you a little extra. But we don't want to encourage gambling at footy clubs...the councils don't wan't to either...well, actually, the counsellors all want it but 'the council' doesn't.
So what are your saying? Close down the Casino?
MOve to Launceston and you can do a deal the casino there...that way, it'll be all them...and you'll be true Saints.

I like the Chilli's machine.

The Fireman wrote: Sun 05 Sep 2021 10:12pm I like the Chilli's machine.
You deserve no less...