Poker machines

farquhar

Poker machines

Does the club have an exit strategy for poker machines or do they intend to keep them?

Time for goal-kicking practice

Re: Poker machines

I believe the plan is that you exit the room immediately after you have emptied your pockets..........

farquhar wrote: Fri 27 Aug 2021 6:56pm Does the club have an exit strategy for poker machines or do they intend to keep them?
Should they?

yep

the $ will be spend in
someone elses pokies

but yep

community participation doesn't really include being parasitic
on its vulnerable
i wouldn't have thought

I never understood people taking a stance of Pokies - I know that it is Socially Responsible - but I know some gamblers and if they can't do it locally - they WILL find a place to gamble - I have even seen people gamble when the consequences are prison.

Unless you are locking down ALL pokies - there is no reason to lock ANY pokies
[And the government is not going to stop pokies - they make too much on the taxes]

farquhar wrote: Fri 27 Aug 2021 6:56pm Does the club have an exit strategy for poker machines or do they intend to keep them?
Hate the fuckers and never play them myself.

Should never been allowed into Victoria.

saynta wrote: Fri 27 Aug 2021 8:00pm

Since 1997 I feel the same way about Adelaide Supporters

Pokies on the other hand, have occasionally paid for dinner - my wife and I would go out for dinner - put the odd $5.00 into them and if we were lucky dessert would be on the house

There’s not many sadder places on Earth than the pokies lounge!

roskilde

asiu wrote: Fri 27 Aug 2021 7:38pm yep

the $ will be spend in
someone elses pokies

but yep

community participation doesn't really include being parasitic
on its vulnerable
i wouldn't have thought
Exactly. Why don't we just set up pay day loan shops that charge 10000000% interest if you're a day late while we're at it.

Has to be a better way.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Fri 27 Aug 2021 8:08pm
saynta wrote: Fri 27 Aug 2021 8:00pm

Since 1997 I feel the same way about Adelaide Supporters

Pokies on the other hand, have occasionally paid for dinner - my wife and I would go out for dinner - put the odd $5.00 into them and if we were lucky dessert would be on the house
:roll: :D :lol: 8-)

I totally agree they should never have come to Victoria. They definitely should not be in the possession of Mathieson & the Zagane group or any privately owned consortium.

Leave them with Sporting Clubs or RSLs.

People will find ways of satisfying their vice. May as well put the money to good use than line the pockets of leaches.

Freebird

The_Dud wrote: Fri 27 Aug 2021 8:14pm There’s not many sadder places on Earth than the pokies lounge!
Maybe a funeral parlor...
Bur yeah, they're very insociable

Freebird

How would kennett get his commission if he left it to sporting clubs?

Freebird wrote: Fri 27 Aug 2021 11:20pm How would kennett get his commission if he left it to sporting clubs?
From beyond blue. He has the bases covered.

They are a blight on the poor. Disgraceful money sucking machines.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

The first time I ever saw pokies was in Queanbeyan in 1966. The club was unreal. Carpet on the walls and ceiling even, at a time when I couldn't afford carpet for the floor.

The houses on one of the streets I travelled down to get to that club were hovels, with broken windows and car wrecks in their yards.

Turned me off pokies there and then.
Last edited by saynta on Sat 28 Aug 2021 7:45pm, edited 1 time in total.

roskilde

saynta wrote: Sat 28 Aug 2021 7:16pm The first time I ever saw pokies was in Queanbeyan in 1966. The club was unreal. Carpet on the walls and ceiling even, at a time when I couldn't afford carpet for the floor.

The houses 8n one of the streets I travelled down to get to that club were hovels, with broken windows and car wrecks in their yards.

Queanbeyan often has this effect on people. :)

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

Pokies, proof of Darwin's natural selection at work.

Freebird wrote: Fri 27 Aug 2021 11:20pm How would kennett get his commission if he left it to sporting clubs?
The nineties were nasty for Victoria. Pokies, Crown etc. Kennet and brutal Thatcher-like rationalism. Sent me scurrying.

Now only a family club like Hawthorn can enjoy the benefits of draining the poor and addicted, as well as the causal gambler.

Of course, we could say the same about alcohol, but …but..

But now it is a struggle to survive as the heat of exploding population, the mining boom, globalization etc. etc. How can the humble suburban club survive?

by the people
choosing local over global

which entails realising your neighbour
is your community
not your competition

give them your dollar
every chance you get

Poker machines have fast become the small earner with comparison to online gambling.

It makes me laugh how politicians and business and sporting organisations are now cleansing their image by taking an anti poker stance on one hand and raking in the cash with the other hand from online gambling revenue.

People who suffer from profit addiction don't give up their access to cash that easy.

Vortex wrote: Sun 29 Aug 2021 10:58am Poker machines have fast become the small earner with comparison to online gambling.

It makes me laugh how politicians and business and sporting organisations are now cleansing their image by taking an anti poker stance on one hand and raking in the cash with the other hand from online gambling revenue.

People who suffer from profit addiction don't give up their access to cash that easy.
Very true. Don't be sucked in by Collingwood's withdrawal from them. Their stocks were made of machines they had leased that weren't returning enough & licences they owned outright which they sold, yes sold for a handsome profit, they did not tear them up or burn them.

Oh...and remember to gamble responsibly.

Ghost Like wrote: Sun 29 Aug 2021 11:07am
Vortex wrote: Sun 29 Aug 2021 10:58am Poker machines have fast become the small earner with comparison to online gambling.

Very true. Don't be sucked in by Collingwood's withdrawal from them. Their stocks were made of machines they had leased that weren't returning enough & licences they owned outright which they sold, yes sold for a handsome profit, they did not tear them up or burn them.

Oh...and remember to gamble responsibly.
Yes, AFL and their gambling mates are expecting massive explosions in global gambling for footy…locally, gambling is so pervasive that even a score bulletin or game preview or review are interrupted by a switch to Nathan Brown and Sports Bet.

“Don’t let the game play you”, they proclaim.

I think the big machine has woken up to the fact that people compartmentalize everything. They know how to sell em a viable drug, a toothbrush and a clover, all at the same time, sponsored by Bunnings and McDonalds.

Eat responsibly.

roskilde wrote: Sat 28 Aug 2021 7:20pm
saynta wrote: Sat 28 Aug 2021 7:16pm The first time I ever saw pokies was in Queanbeyan in 1966. The club was unreal. Carpet on the walls and ceiling even, at a time when I couldn't afford carpet for the floor.

The houses 8n one of the streets I travelled down to get to that club were hovels, with broken windows and car wrecks in their yards.

Queanbeyan often has this effect on people. :)

Our club should be helping communities, not being parasitic, like for example, that 'so-called' Family Club...

Maybe people will gamble anyway. And they'll OD on illicit drugs too. So if that's one's argument, then maybe we should get into drug dealing???

Ok, that'd be illegal. So we should start running brothels then?

And dealing arms. (That's sorta' legal. :oops: )