Team v Dockers

Re: Team v Dockers

Correct B.M., totally get your percentages. Jack though has a 100% reliance on his dominate side. If you are that small and you know your chances are limited, work on a glaring deficiency. He certainly cannot get taller.

Some great games for the Saints but better players available. Personally I can't wait for him to be running around with his brother at Seaford. I hope he brings Hunter with him, I'm a chance to ruck for them at this stage.

B.M wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 7:10pm
He’s even received Brownlow votes on a couple of games, including a BOG. Not an easy thing to do as a forward pocket.
An exhausted bunch of umpires get together at the end of a match after putting up with swearing and lip from players on both sides, and after copping abuse and aggression from supporters….

In a high pressure game at the top level of AFL footy, the umps have to do their final job…put in the votes for the Brownlow

There is no way in hell that Lonie has ever been the best on ground in my opinion

Do you reckon it’s in their key performance indicators to make sure umpires thoroughly evaluate the game breakers and most influential players on the day?

The answer is No! So perhaps the voting is an afterthought and when you can’t find a clear BOG, may as well give it to the highest goal scorer

I’ve heard interviews with current and former umpires and they all agree it’s a difficult job unless you have 2 or 3 outstanding players on the day. Some of them admit that they need to listen to the radio or go to other media to get a feel or some guidance.

Scollop wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 7:32pm
B.M wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 7:10pm
He’s even received Brownlow votes on a couple of games, including a BOG. Not an easy thing to do as a forward pocket.
An exhausted bunch of umpires get together at the end of a match after putting up with swearing and lip from players on both sides, and after copping abuse and aggression from supporters….

In a high pressure game at the top level of AFL footy, the umps have to do their final job…put in the votes for the Brownlow

There is no way in hell that Lonie has ever been the best on ground in my opinion

Do you reckon it’s in their key performance indicators to make sure umpires thoroughly evaluate the game breakers and most influential players on the day?

The answer is No! So perhaps the voting is an afterthought and when you can’t find a clear BOG, may as well give it to the highest goal scorer

I’ve heard interviews with current and former umpires and they all agree it’s a difficult job unless you have 2 or 3 outstanding players on the day. Some of them admit that they need to listen to the radio or go to other media to get a feel or some guidance.
Oh, didums, the poor poor maggots. Doesn't your heart bleed for them. Pig's arse as that f****** brown baggers creep would say. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

FFS scollop

Let go of your bias for a second and give him some credit

That game

20 possessions
3hb
7 contested possessions
5 tackles
4 goals 3 behinds

I remember that game well, he was clearly BOG

If Max (or any forward) got those numbers, we’d be spoofing all over the place!!!

Because it’s a whipping boy, we down play it because it doesn’t suit an agenda

What is Battle’s best game forward?

I was at the game

2 of those goals were for free kicks that he got for ducking his head and 1 goal was for a bloke tackling him and the ump called it in the back when it could have easily been holding the ball

Scollop wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 7:42pm 2 of those goals were for free kicks that he got for ducking his head and 1 was for a bloke tackling him and the ump called it in the back when it could have easily been holding the ball
To be fair Scollop, not only was it his best game for us, he was best on ground. A fair effort for a small forward, something to get excited about but ultimately disappointed over.

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 7:54pm
Scollop wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 7:42pm 2 of those goals were for free kicks that he got for ducking his head and 1 was for a bloke tackling him and the ump called it in the back when it could have easily been holding the ball
To be fair Scollop, not only was it his best game for us, he was best on ground. A fair effort for a small forward, something to get excited about but ultimately disappointed over.
Was he?

Not according to most of the esteemed panel of judges on the Eastern Memorial player of the year votes for that game 8-) :wink:

http://saintsational.net/viewforum.php?f=1

Scollop wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 8:26pm
Ghost Like wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 7:54pm
Was he?

Not according to most of the esteemed panel of judges on the Eastern Memorial player of the year votes for that game 8-) :wink:

http://saintsational.net/viewforum.php?f=1
My apologies Scollop, I failed to read the ultimate commandments. I bow & retreat quietly in the hope of forgiveness 🙏😉👍

What’s spoof?

avid

Lonie kicked at least two genius goals I'll always remember -- one this year from the pocket and one quite a few years ago against Essendon at the dome -- from almost at the behind post. You could see the premeditation in it and the almost impossible execution.
Unfortunately, he didn't do it very often.

I've been away for a while, but feel compelled to return.

Lonie's a spud, at best a 'quality' VFL player. If we think retaining him on the list will make us better, we're imbeciles.

How many games? 70 odd? And, how many 'rippers'? One?!

He is so one sided it would be embarrassing if I didn't 'understand'. Game earlier this year, running wide toward the boundary line, BUT! under FA physical pressure, almost stopped, propped on his right foot, dropped the ball across his left foot, and the result? Ball travelled about 7 metres in the air, before being carried almost the length of the ground by the other mob.

Some 'events' just stick in one's mind.

If we are to be any good, any time soon, Lonie CANNOT be part of the side. He lacks strength or, 'power', if you like, meaning he 'plods' off the mark, can't break or beat physical opposition (either way), can't kick over a jam tin more than 40 metres away, and is so one sided his right leg is obviously only in place to stop him falling over - and I'm a left footer!

All power to the bloke, he's given it a crack - but come up waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay short.

We have to be better than that.

So quality VFL players are spuds now?

And he’s played 87 AFL games

Exactly what standard did you tear it up at???

Give me Lones career anyday!!!!

And

Doesn’t him not getting votes on SS when he was clearly BOG prove my point
There are supporters on here with whipping boys, who refuse to give credit!!!
Lonie isn’t even the biggest whipping boy!!!

BTW
Besides the aforementioned game in 2019
In a 4 week patch in 2018
He had
21 and 2g
21 and 2g
11 and 2g
18 and 4g

Oh and he kicked 3-5 from 17 in another game

He should be delisted due to a pretty poor output at senior level over the last two years
But to act like he’s never played a decent game, and he’s a ‘spud’
Is ridiculous rubbish

darylcowie

If Lonie has kicked less goals than games played then that record is poor for a midfielder, let alone a specialist forward pocket.
I'm sure that he has had at least twice as many shots at goal as games played, but usually from the left forward pocket, where his opponents hem him in, knowing that he can't kick with his right foot and can barely kick 40m with his left!

its time to make a name for yourself like you've never made before!

Scollop wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 7:42pm I was at the game
fre
2 of those goals were fore kicks that he got for ducking his head and 1 goal was for a bloke tackling him and the ump called it in the back when it could have easily been holding the ball
Best we disregard about a third of Milne's goals then!

B.M wrote: Fri 20 Aug 2021 7:39pm FFS scollop

Let go of your bias for a second and give him some credit

That game

20 possessions
3hb
7 contested possessions
5 tackles
4 goals 3 behinds

I remember that game well, he was clearly BOG

If Max (or any forward) got those numbers, we’d be spoofing all over the place!!!

Because it’s a whipping boy, we down play it because it doesn’t suit an agenda

What is Battle’s best game forward?
Clearly best on ground you say.

Some clueless flogs didn’t agree.
B.M wrote: Mon 22 Jul 2019 7:18pm 5-Clarke
4-Lonie
3-Marshall
2-Billings
1-Steele

CURLY wrote: Thu 19 Aug 2021 8:54pm
B.M wrote: Thu 19 Aug 2021 8:49pm The vitriol he receives on here suggests otherwise

Not hard to work out favs equally not hard to work out whipping boys!!!

Carlisle, Long, Battle, Dunstan - Favs
Players who have done little but are rated

Ross, Lonie, Billings, Kent
Some of the Whipping boys
Lonie is the most selfish player I’ve seen play at StKilda.
Watch butler a bit more closely.

Hopefully this is the last time we will see Hunter in a Saints jumper. He is the original example of 'white men cant jump', he is a shocking ruckman and even worst around the ground. The recruiter who plucked him out of the SANFL should be forced to pay his his salary for the year.

Why is our home game being played in Hobart ?

Seems that Fremantle did not want to play in Victoria.
Why is that.
Fremantle fly in, play the game at Marvel and go home what is wrong with that ?

Well, I can not say because it would make this a political post.
But I hope I can say that the AFL fixturing is all about accommodating evil politics.

ace wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 9:04am Why is our home game being played in Hobart ?

Seems that Fremantle did not want to play in Victoria.
Why is that.
Fremantle fly in, play the game at Marvel and go home what is wrong with that ?

Well, I can not say because it would make this a political post.
But I hope I can say that the AFL fixturing is all about accommodating evil politics.
Travel restrictions in WA may cause issues with Freo returning to play finals - or wherever other finals are.

Put simply - we cannot go to the game - I am not sure if they can get a crowd at Tassie - but if so - it is good to see some Tassie Saints see their boys play - because it means nothing - we will probably play a blinder.

Cooper to kick 5
Membrey to kick 3

Open - free flowing football

Would have liked to see Byrnes get another game or Connolly back in if available.
Even at the expense of Ross or Jones.
This is a game we are better off losing, may as well get as many games into young players as possible.

Banger9798 wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 10:14am Would have liked to see Byrnes get another game or Connolly back in if available.
This is a game we are better off losing, may as well get as many games into young players as possible.
Lose, St Kilda finish 12th with pick 7.
Win St Kilda jump over Richmond finish 11th with pick 8.

If Collingwood beat Essendon then Fremantle could finish in the 8 if they beat St Kilda.
But if Collingwood win they lose pick 3 (it could easily be pick 2 if Adelaide beat North) and get pick 4.
Fat chance Collingwood winning.

Today is about the future which is code for optimising draft picks.

ace wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 10:39am
Banger9798 wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 10:14am Would have liked to see Byrnes get another game or Connolly back in if available.
Lose, St Kilda finish 12th with pick 7.
Win St Kilda jump over Richmond finish 11th with pick 8.

If Collingwood beat Essendon then Fremantle could finish in the 8 if they beat St Kilda.
But if Collingwood win they lose pick 3 (it could easily be pick 2 if Adelaide beat North) and get pick 4.
Fat chance Collingwood winning.

Today is about the future which is code for optimising draft picks.
Hey Ace - I think GWS has Collingwood's first round draft pick.

I also think, at this stage, Collingwood's first pick is tied to Bulldogs 2nd rounder - so about pick 33ish and completely out of Collingwood's control

Not going to be a good draft year for them.

Nick Daicos

We only need to beat Freo by 10 points to pass them on percentage.

To pass the Eagles, we need to score 91 points plus 93% of Freo’s score.

9th place is ours for the taking.

B.M wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 10:58amNick Daicos
LOL - B.M.

Yep - just Nick Daicos

If someone bids - they need to buy him with their draft picks

They have 33,41,43,44 so unless he is nominated in the 1 or 2 position will be able to do so - but that is all