Ben King staying at the Suns in 2022

Re: Ben King staying at the Suns in 2022

Whatever Ben King decides to do with his future the Saints will have competitors for his services,
as said by Sam Edmond...

Ben King (Gold Coast)

(Regarding Essendon's need for a key forward).

“Ben King might be the one, they might play the long game on him I reckon.”

Surely paying

Sheil, Merrett, Parish, Ridley, Stringer, Smith, Draper, Caldwell

They have SC issues

Shiel is on a Mill

B.M wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 4:02pm Surely paying

Sheil, Merrett, Parish, Ridley, Stringer, Smith, Draper, Caldwell

They have SC issues

Shiel is on a Mill
And they gonna try and do a Collywobble and dump his ass.

I think Essendon have realised they mucked up with Shiel, can they offload him though, that's the question.

Who would be dumb enough to take him, oh, they wouldn't would they ?

Wayne42 wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 4:52pm I think Essendon have realised they mucked up with Shiel, can they offload him though, that's the question.

Talk on SEN is that they may need to subsidise his Salary with another Club :) What a shame - paying a player to play against you

Let them save $300K a year, we'll take him.

SAINT-LEE

Sainter_Dad wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 4:59pm
Wayne42 wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 4:52pm I think Essendon have realised they mucked up with Shiel, can they offload him though, that's the question.

Talk on SEN is that they may need to subsidise his Salary with another Club :) What a shame - paying a player to play against you
Like we paid Geelong to take Steven....

SAINT-LEE wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 6:14pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 4:59pm

Like we paid Geelong to take Steven....
Sorry - tonal inflexions don't work so well on the net!

Shiel would be ok at 600.

Nothing more.

In fact nah, fk him for not choosing us in the first place!!!

We dodged a 1.4M billet there!!!!

And got Max instead!!!!

Shiel would be a waste of a list spot, if he was of any value Essendon would keep him, their team is far from complete.

Shiel’s disposal is highly erratic

skeptic wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 9:29am Shiel’s disposal is highly erratic
This is true, a highly expensive turnover. We are better leaving Essendon with the complete headache.

GWS have some excellent young midfielders who are either not getting regular games or not going to be paid what they are worth. Best we go to the factory than the used car yard if we are going to pay big dollars.

My Essendon supporter friends are highly critical of him. One in particular said he'd prefer Sheil didn't play, such is his insanely bad disposal

Ben King 47 goals but didn't finish top 10 in Suns BnF?

Come to the Saints Ben, we'll show you some respect

SAINT-LEE

Yes yes....I'm sure Ben is drooling over the idea of going backwards.

He can't wait to come to St Kilda into his brothers shadow like the 19 years previous. Always second best, relegated to fullback.

He is chomping to get back under Max and lose himself in being the "twin".

Wake up!

He will never and I repeat, NEVER come to St Kilda.

ROLS-LEE

SAINT-LEE wrote: Mon 06 Sep 2021 6:06pm Yes yes....I'm sure Ben is drooling over the idea of going backwards.

He can't wait to come to St Kilda into his brothers shadow like the 19 years previous. Always second best, relegated to fullback.

Wake up!

He could also come to the saints, help win that elusive second flag and bask in all the glory and fan fare

For the team he and his whole family supported his entire life

How many players that make it to the AFL actually end up playing for the team they barracked for growing up, i would say not many.

Probably not a recorded stat though.

Wayne42 wrote: Mon 06 Sep 2021 11:32pm How many players that make it to the AFL actually end up playing for the team they barracked for growing up, i would say not many.

Probably not a recorded stat though.
Jack Higgins

sainterinsydney

Max King, Jack Higgins and Zac Jones were all Saint's supporters

Jack Sinclair

SAINT-LEE wrote: Mon 06 Sep 2021 6:06pm Yes yes....I'm sure Ben is drooling over the idea of going backwards.

Wake up!

I hope he thinks a little bit more of himself than that & has a resolve in him that wants to do something unique. To me that would be, in partnership with his brother, to create the most formidable forward duo in the AFL.

Not to mention a legacy for a Club their family follow, or the money / brand that would also materialise.

SAINT-LEE

Ghost Like wrote: Tue 07 Sep 2021 10:16am

Wake up!

I hope he thinks a little bit more of himself than that & has a resolve in him that wants to do something unique. To me that would be, in partnership with his brother, to create the most formidable forward duo in the AFL.

Not to mention a legacy for a Club their family follow, or the money / brand that would also materialise.
Mate I'm 156% with you!! I pray to the footy gods he comes home!

But I'm not getting that vibe....he's going to be a damn legend...it'll be hard to lure him.

cwrcyn wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 12:16pm My Essendon supporter friends are highly critical of him. One in particular said he'd prefer Sheil didn't play, such is his insanely bad disposal
Shame on you for having Essendon supporters as friends! :wink:

SAINT-LEE

ROLS-LEE wrote: Mon 06 Sep 2021 8:11pm

Wake up!

He could also come to the saints, help win that elusive second flag and bask in all the glory and fan fare
Preach it mate!!! I hope so.

But being an identical twin myself and having my younger bro tell me how hard it was for him in my
" shadow"....which I never realised or even thought was true....I don't reckon it will happen.

We both went to a family therapist in 1989 ( our parents passed in a auto accident, we were 15 and it fudged us 6 kids up) and it shocked me how he felt and the freedom he found by joining the army and being "out" from under both the "twin" and my stranglehold.
I was and am book smarter but I never thought that mattered. He was behind me athletically but he had all the ladies and I spent many a lonely night at the servo magazine rack....

I don't know if these twins feel the same unspoken struggle to find their unique self...I know that pain behind the laugh after hearing 78,000 times...."now which one are you?"

Hopefully they're healthier emotionally and we see a family reunion!!!!