Ben King staying at the Suns in 2022

Re: Ben King staying at the Suns in 2022

Freo well and truly reemed us in the Hill deal

Finna

The_Dud wrote: Wed 08 Sep 2021 3:56pm Freo well and truly reemed us in the Hill deal
How did we get reamed exactly? Hill is still playing and you have no idea what his output will be for the rest of his career. He may win a norm smith yet.
IMO he will keep getting better with time. What did Freo do with those picks? Acres is no loss and we have at least another 5 years to get out of Hill. How did we get reamed?

Oh When The Saints Go Marching In.......

Finna wrote: Wed 08 Sep 2021 4:35pm
The_Dud wrote: Wed 08 Sep 2021 3:56pm Freo well and truly reemed us in the Hill deal
How did we get reamed exactly? Hill is still playing and you have no idea what his output will be for the rest of his career. He may win a norm smith yet.
IMO he will keep getting better with time. What did Freo do with those picks? Acres is no loss and we have at least another 5 years to get out of Hill. How did we get reamed?
A top 10 pick + a second round pick + a young player for a bloke who couldn’t even crack the b&f top 10 in his first season and will struggle to in his second.

At 28 he should be in his prime or coming to the back end of it. He’s not going to get better at 30.

The highest paid bloke at the club and isn’t a top 10 player. Laughable!

Going by those rates B King would be 3x FRDP at least!

It’s like we were so chuffed by Hill selecting us, we felt compelled to trade for him, at any cost!!!

We all thought Hill was a good pick up at the time, but we did play overs.

First and Second round pick and 24yo who was initially a pick 19

Payed way overs for Hill for sure but is way better value for money than Hanneberry at least he has played a majority of games so far . Hopefully both have a decent pre season & stay on the park & perform to expectation so we can actually get some bang for our buck.

Has Hill missed a game? At all??

B.M wrote: Wed 08 Sep 2021 11:38pm Has Hill missed a game? At all??
I have a feeling he might have missed one game in his first season with a leg soreness issue, but I might be wrong.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

This is very interesting

From a trade perspective if you are going to commit to a player and woo them across you have to follow through otherwise your rep in the market is sullied.

Having said that, on this individual deal we paid overs, but in all sincerity acres was never coming on the way we wanted and we did some other trading which at least softened the blow

Remember
We swapped pick 6 for pick 12 and 18
We then swapped pick 12 and 18 to port for Howard Ryder and pick 10 plus a swap of 3rd and 4th round
So effectively we got hill Howard and Ryder for pick 6 2019 pick 58 pick 40 2020 and acres

Not bad in my book
Freo weren’t happy when we split pick 6 either
Hill not performing is a development issue for mine

Hill development??

He was 26 and a B&F winner when we recruited him

To me it’s a fitness and strategy problem

He not all of a sudden a worse player.

Yep fitness and strategy which to me is development
I still maintain we were not fit enough this year and that is part of development for mine

Isn’t development improving a players ability?

ROLS-LEE

SAINT-LEE wrote: Tue 07 Sep 2021 2:38pm
ROLS-LEE wrote: Mon 06 Sep 2021 8:11pm
SAINT-LEE wrote: Mon 06 Sep 2021 6:06pm Yes yes....I'm sure Ben is drooling over the idea of going backwards.

He can't wait to come to St Kilda into his brothers shadow like the 19 years previous. Always second best, relegated to fullback.

He is chomping to get back under Max and lose himself in being the "twin".

Wake up!

He will never and I repeat, NEVER come to St Kilda.
He could also come to the saints, help win that elusive second flag and bask in all the glory and fan fare
Preach it mate!!! I hope so.

But being an identical twin myself and having my younger bro tell me how hard it was for him in my
" shadow"....which I never realised or even thought was true....I don't reckon it will happen.

We both went to a family therapist in 1989 ( our parents passed in a auto accident, we were 15 and it fudged us 6 kids up) and it shocked me how he felt and the freedom he found by joining the army and being "out" from under both the "twin" and my stranglehold.
I was and am book smarter but I never thought that mattered. He was behind me athletically but he had all the ladies and I spent many a lonely night at the servo magazine rack....

I don't know if these twins feel the same unspoken struggle to find their unique self...I know that pain behind the laugh after hearing 78,000 times...."now which one are you?"

Hopefully they're healthier emotionally and we see a family reunion!!!!
I have identical girl twins. They dont leave each other alone and constantly find ways to reunite. Thats including school and sport. Dont piss one of them off because the other is not far away.

maverick wrote: Thu 09 Sep 2021 10:23am This is very interesting

From a trade perspective if you are going to commit to a player and woo them across you have to follow through otherwise your rep in the market is sullied.

Having said that, on this individual deal we paid overs, but in all sincerity acres was never coming on the way we wanted and we did some other trading which at least softened the blow

Remember
We swapped pick 6 for pick 12 and 18
We then swapped pick 12 and 18 to port for Howard Ryder and pick 10 plus a swap of 3rd and 4th round
So effectively we got hill Howard and Ryder for pick 6 2019 pick 58 pick 40 2020 and acres

Not bad in my book
Freo weren’t happy when we split pick 6 either
Hill not performing is a development issue for mine
Can't believe the baloney being peddled in mitigation of the Hill disaster.
What we got Howard and Ryder for was in no way dependent on the Hill shafting!

B.M wrote: Thu 09 Sep 2021 10:41am Hill development??

He was 26 and a B&F winner when we recruited him

To me it’s a fitness and strategy problem

He not all of a sudden a worse player.
I agree stacked on too much weight & has lost a bit of his speed & agility but still a very talented player . If we can recruit well & stay relatively injury free we can be a top 8 team & Hill can be the player to make a big difference if he can back to the fitness level he had at Freo IMO anyway

Agreed

There is NO doubt he is not as powerful a runner now

He is clearly heavier

Hill’s biggest issue is between his ears.

If he played with Long’s intensity he’d be one of the best players in the comp.

Longs intensity or lack of composure?!

The problem with being manic, is that you’re not effective

We knew when we traded Hill in, exactly what sort of player he was… an outside receiver who uses it.

He is not, or never was a contest player.

At Freo he was probably the best Winger in the game. At the moment he can’t even get a game on the wing!

B.M wrote: Sat 11 Sep 2021 8:33pm Longs intensity or lack of composure?!

The problem with being manic, is that you’re not effective

We knew when we traded Hill in, exactly what sort of player he was… an outside receiver who uses it.

He is not, or never was a contest player.

At Freo he was probably the best Winger in the game. At the moment he can’t even get a game on the wing!
It’s got nothing to do with being ‘outside’ or ‘inside’, it’s about playing with intensity

maverick wrote: Thu 09 Sep 2021 10:55am Yep fitness and strategy which to me is development
I still maintain we were not fit enough this year and that is part of development for mine
Totally agree right across the list, the fitness levels were down.

A number of the group in particular Hill, Long, Butler, Higgins, Clark & Coffield need to have a really big off seasons to take their games to the next level.

Isn’t Hill rated as one of the hardest runners in the game?

His top speed of 35.4kph is in the top echelon of AFL players

He covers 15-16km per game which also places him in the top bracket of AFL players

Long has high intensity in the contest, but lacks composure.

I don’t think you understand what playing with intensity means.

Those are nice stats, but unfortunately this is football and not a track meet.

How are you measuring intensity?

Subjectivity

Contest??