Dougal Howard

Re: Dougal Howard

Tilthorpe took a devastating 2 marks for the game. Yeah, he absolutely destroyed Howard, didn't he? Seriously, this is just scapegoating at its worst

Howard is a good player and your focus on him is inept and unfair. The reason why we lost that game was that we only kicked 1 goal after half time. I said at about 1/2 way through the 3rd Quarter that I could not see who would kick our next goal. Kicking goals win games.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

I like Howard and has held the backline together at times,

All i wish is someone else kicked in as its a predictable as the pizza guy knocking on a door in a porno .

Gee older saint, still got your video's from the 70s?;)

Let Wilkie kick in. Just as simple as that, but what will happen is the opposition will give us the short kick to the pocket. Probably to Howard. Who will ultimately go down the line another 20 metres deeper.

B.M wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 1:16pm Who kicked the winning goal and why did it happen

Howard was 10m off Thilthorpe, the ball ricocheted to him and he kicked a goal

Howard defending his man first, he tackles Thilthorpe when he takes possession

From what I saw, Thilthorpe kicked 3 goals out of 9

Beat him one out for one
Free kick on the line for another
Loose at the top of the square at stoppage for the winner

This from an 18yo 7 gamer
Honestly....
The “winning goal” was the result of incessant bombardment into the Crows forward 50 from a midfield that threw in the contested ball towel...but you want to hang it all on Howard???
Have another think...
By the way I’d argue IF Howard had another decent stay at home tall defensive option to help him do he could fully play his intercept game we’d be potent down back
No wonder he looks exhausted at kick ins he’s doing it solo ffs
Least of our problems

Last night his opponent kicked the winning goal, because he sat 10m off him

That simple

He is not there to intercept, he is there to play Full Back, which means playing some one on one defence

I think Dougal is a solid player, not as good as he thinks he is though… because he doesn’t defend one on one… he sags off

B.M wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 5:24pm Last night his opponent kicked the winning goal, because he sat 10m off him

That simple

He is not there to intercept, he is there to play Full Back, which means playing some one on one defence

I think Dougal is a solid player, not as good as he thinks he is though… because he doesn’t defend one on one… he sags off
How many goals were kicked in second half. Why blame a defender? It was only 1 goal in a night of stuff ups.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Teflon wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 1:10am What a shyte thread
Howard and defence did all they could tonight
Under utter siege from midway through the second quarter - no defence stands up to that relentless ball coming in time and again
Bigger questions need to be asked than simply looking at Howard and going “gee Tilthorpe looked good” (clearly gifted a goal late from an incompetent umpire and that free ought to be reviewed but won’t be).
That aside ....
Why was our midfield second to the ball the complete second half?????
Why when we did manage to finally fumble a ball into our forward 50 was there no forwards there...just 2 Crow defenders????
Why the **** was Battle on a wing .....while Coffield (a defender) left to look lost in forward line???? (last weeks experiment was Highmore in forward line.....surely the brain dead twits realise now he’s a defender????)
Why is Howard taking kick ins - especially when exhausted ...,why not Hill who is a renowned kick???
Sorry, just lazy picking out Howard who I thought was one of our best ...

You have some good points to make but ... Any danger of you addressing the incident that B.M was talking about? Everyone criticises Ben Long and others, but they were shoulder to shoulder with their opponents when the ball was bounced. I can understand if Howard sags off at centre bounces or when the footy is up in our forward line, but this was a stoppage within 20 metres of the goal line.

I’ve added your other reply below too which you just continue with your attack of B.M but you’re still making excuses for a bloke who is supposed to be a leader. Dougal worked his butt off. I don’t blame him for the loss. In a team game, you can never blame just one bloke. I thought he was one of our better players on the night, however every little incident during a loss is an opportunity for our players to learn and get better

You’ve made a fair few posts with some excellent analysis and I totally agree that the club needs a review. If we are going to do things comprehensively, then we should also analyse every aspect of every players game.

I also agree that the forward line and the structure and the lack of cohesion with our inside 50 entries was a major reason we lost. The midfielders including Crouch and Steele and Higgins and Lonie and even our ‘supposed’ best kick in Hill made some horrible kicks inside 50 in that last quarter.

Teflon wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 1:07pm
B.M wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 2:42am Some of THE students???

What the hell does that mean??? Make sense if you can?!

And God

That’s funny to you? It’s ridiculous, something a moron would think is funny… or are you trying to denigrate me to hurt my feelings???

Sorry to tell you, little wisecracks on a fan forum are not really concerning

And Dougs OK?

He played on a first year player whose played 7 games, was beaten in one on ones and lead to the ball.

But from his point of view, it was the fault of others. Maybe he should try and defend first?!
Hurt the feelings of god??????? Never!
Just keep spewing out trash AFTER the fact
Howard is a fine intercept player whose being asked to do it all in a backline under siege CAUSE OUR MIDFIELD decided to be second to the ball and stop contesting
Go read what the coach said and stop your simplistic analysis and whining it’s boring to all

B.M wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 5:24pm Last night his opponent kicked the winning goal, because he sat 10m off him

That simple

There’s no problem doing that 90% of the time, but you can’t do it when there’s a stoppage deep in the opposition’s forward line...

Especially when there’s only a minute or two left on the clock.

This isn’t a rubbish thread...it’s a necessary thread. Sure, there were 10 other players before Howard that you’d be ripping into after such a loss and ...fans should be angry with them for being passengers or being soft or for terrible decision making, but every player needs to be accountable for 100% of the game.

I hate it when fans look for scapegoats. Every St Kilda player and every St Kilda coach is responsible for the loss.

It’s not ok to make continual errors that cost the team. These guys are professionals and they should be training the situations that come up and mentally preparing for every situation. Every one is sorry for a player at times if they are working hard and if their effort can’t be faulted....I’ll give you an example of one of our forwards. Higgins was fantastic in his effort last week and it was really just bad luck that he couldn’t cap off his terrific game with a late goal last week to give us the win...

In the match last night, Higgins was trying to kick the leather off a wet footy and trying to kick snags from a set shot 50-55 metres out from goal. This was late in the third or maybe even early in the last quarter...Now, I ask you; Is that the team thing to do? Does Higgins know his limitations? Does the forward line coach allow his players to do that or should they play the percentages?

Scollop wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 5:46pm
Teflon wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 1:10am What a shyte thread
Howard and defence did all they could tonight
Under utter siege from midway through the second quarter - no defence stands up to that relentless ball coming in time and again
Bigger questions need to be asked than simply looking at Howard and going “gee Tilthorpe looked good” (clearly gifted a goal late from an incompetent umpire and that free ought to be reviewed but won’t be).
That aside ....
Why was our midfield second to the ball the complete second half?????
Why when we did manage to finally fumble a ball into our forward 50 was there no forwards there...just 2 Crow defenders????
Why the **** was Battle on a wing .....while Coffield (a defender) left to look lost in forward line???? (last weeks experiment was Highmore in forward line.....surely the brain dead twits realise now he’s a defender????)
Why is Howard taking kick ins - especially when exhausted ...,why not Hill who is a renowned kick???
Sorry, just lazy picking out Howard who I thought was one of our best ...

You have some good points to make but ... Any danger of you addressing the incident that B.M was talking about? Everyone criticises Ben Long and others, but they were shoulder to shoulder with their opponents when the ball was bounced. I can understand if Howard sags off at centre bounces or when the footy is up in our forward line, but this was a stoppage within 20 metres of the goal line.

I’ve added your other reply below too which you just continue with your attack of B.M but you’re still making excuses for a bloke who is supposed to be a leader. Dougal worked his butt off. I don’t blame him for the loss. In a team game, you can never blame just one bloke. I thought he was one of our better players on the night, however every little incident during a loss is an opportunity for our players to learn and get better

You’ve made a fair few posts with some excellent analysis and I totally agree that the club needs a review. If we are going to do things comprehensively, then we should also analyse every aspect of every players game.

I also agree that the forward line and the structure and the lack of cohesion with our inside 50 entries was a major reason we lost. The midfielders including Crouch and Steele and Higgins and Lonie and even our ‘supposed’ best kick in Hill made some horrible kicks inside 50 in that last quarter.

Teflon wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 1:07pm
B.M wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 2:42am Some of THE students???

What the hell does that mean??? Make sense if you can?!

And God

That’s funny to you? It’s ridiculous, something a moron would think is funny… or are you trying to denigrate me to hurt my feelings???

Sorry to tell you, little wisecracks on a fan forum are not really concerning

And Dougs OK?

He played on a first year player whose played 7 games, was beaten in one on ones and lead to the ball.

But from his point of view, it was the fault of others. Maybe he should try and defend first?!
Hurt the feelings of god??????? Never!
Just keep spewing out trash AFTER the fact
Howard is a fine intercept player whose being asked to do it all in a backline under siege CAUSE OUR MIDFIELD decided to be second to the ball and stop contesting
Go read what the coach said and stop your simplistic analysis and whining it’s boring to all
If we are going to go through a match and start threads on players who make blues during the match where do we stop?????
It is a shyte thread that does nothing to address the fundamental problem of why we lost ....it should NEVER have mattered if Howard was 10 meters off his man in those final moments cause the game should’ve been iced well before that but forwards fail again to kick straight and midfielders decide to stop contesting. We all knew watching that ball relentlessly go back into Crows forward line that at some stage they were going to score...we hadn’t scored for an hour!!!

It should NEVER be about 1 incident so why start a thread on a player who we all acknowledge was one of our better players to make a point on incident ?
Sorry poor form - we’ve got much bigger issues imo
And I maintain Howard can’t play his natural game because once again we are deficient in another tall key defender but if you think Dougal Howard’s loose checking is our biggest systemic issue then good luck with that..
Oh and any “attacks” on BM have only been returned in kind.

happy feet wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 5:30pm

That simple

How many goals were kicked in second half. Why blame a defender? It was only 1 goal in a night of stuff ups.
That’s the key point
Once again it’s totally missed why we look to blame 1 guy for 1 incident

That simple

How would you know what he thinks???????
Harvs tell you ???

I think it’s a simple case here...

Howard is a really good player and absolutely essential. He’s not however a super man defender incapable of mistakes and prone to getting a bit lost or having the odd brain fade.

He actually needs a bit of support/leadership around him.

For all the criticism he got, Carlisle’s ability to read the play, drop back into the right spot and possibly even give his team mates some confidence knowing that they had back up has sorely been missed this season.

Wilkie and Howard have been great and are great but we’re missing another big tall down back ATM.

Pbly needs to be Battle IMO - at least for now

It’s not as if Howard who looked incredibly good last year and suddenly lost ability.
From last year, Carlisle and Paton are out injured, Coffield is playing all over the place and sometimes not at all... and Clarke who is by far the one oozing leadership is playing up the ground more.
In their place is SInclair who is more run/tag/create rather than structure and leadership and Long who has always been more instinct then structure. Then you have Highmore, Clavarino and Joyce being picked and dropped every other week.

We have a very inconsistent line up at the moment and it shows IMO

skeptic wrote: Sun 13 Jun 2021 10:00pm I think it’s a simple case here...

Howard is a really good player and absolutely essential. He’s not however a super man defender incapable of mistakes and prone to getting a bit lost or having the odd brain fade.

He actually needs a bit of support/leadership around him.

For all the criticism he got, Carlisle’s ability to read the play, drop back into the right spot and possibly even give his team mates some confidence knowing that they had back up has sorely been missed this season.

Wilkie and Howard have been great and are great but we’re missing another big tall down back ATM.

Pbly needs to be Battle IMO - at least for now

It’s not as if Howard who looked incredibly good last year and suddenly lost ability.
From last year, Carlisle and Paton are out injured, Coffield is playing all over the place and sometimes not at all... and Clarke who is by far the one oozing leadership is playing up the ground more.
In their place is SInclair who is more run/tag/create rather than structure and leadership and Long who has always been more instinct then structure. Then you have Highmore, Clavarino and Joyce being picked and dropped every other week.

We have a very inconsistent line up at the moment and it shows IMO
Totally agree re Howard needs help imo being asked to play I don’t think he’s naturally good at tbh

Dougal is a Jake Lever type- not the key full back. Lever has Martin as the full back, we have used a stop gap in Frawley and that went well...... I suspect Battle is too slow and not physical enough to play the role but we have no-one else.

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

Teflon,

The attacks are getting a bit tiresome

Easy to do from your keyboard, and that sort of stuff usually comes from people who are weak as piss!

Not sure where the Harves thing comes from?? Makes little or no sense,

And the ‘students’ thing is even more bizarre??

What are you trying to achieve by coming out with crap like this, is it a feeble attempt at trying to belittle me???

I think it’s pathetic

Oh, and as far as crap post goes

Who kicked the winning goal at a f50 stoppage, and who was his opponent.

Why do I think he rates himself? The way he plays and the way carries on, bit Goddard like

B.M wrote: Mon 14 Jun 2021 12:04pm Teflon,

The attacks are getting a bit tiresome

Easy to do from your keyboard, and that sort of stuff usually comes from people who are weak as piss!

Not sure where the Harves thing comes from?? Makes little or no sense,

And the ‘students’ thing is even more bizarre??

What are you trying to achieve by coming out with crap like this, is it a feeble attempt at trying to belittle me???

I think it’s pathetic

Oh, and as far as crap post goes

Who kicked the winning goal at a f50 stoppage, and who was his opponent.

Why do I think he rates himself? The way he plays and the way carries on, bit Goddard like
Agreed
My experience (and that of my families) are people who talk tough on internet usually aren’t. I don’t talk tough.
That said if people constantly have a go (like you’re doing) are going to get it back - if you don’t like it then stop with your petty little posts ...better still how bout just do t respond to my posts at all??
I’m happy not to read yours.

You’re the one with the personal attacks

You still haven’t stated what the

God
Harves
Students

Crap is about?

How’s that talking about footy

I post about Dougal Howard, you post about me… as I said, weake as piss!!

B.M wrote: Mon 14 Jun 2021 3:13pm You’re the one with the personal attacks

You still haven’t stated what the

God
Harves
Students

Crap is about?

How’s that talking about footy

I post about Dougal Howard, you post about me… as I said, weake as piss!!
Here’s macho man again with his “weak as piss” but whinges that everyone’s picking on him?????
You’ve got form on here tough guy for getting all macho when you get a bit back?? - absolute sook!
Toughen up big guy !!

Im a bit surprised with all the finger pointing going on
that no one has pointed out that one of the goals blamed on Howard was actually a pretty inept effort of a clearing kick by Ryder
it rebounds off a stkilda players' back to result in the goal

But regardless - I was reasonably impressed with Howards first few games
but stupid free kicks against have crept into his game - followed by the precocious kid argument with the umpire
& no I dont think he works hard enough
but that seems to be a theme with stkilda players for large chunks of the game - wasn't there a big argument here about fitness level???

As I said

Name calling is weak as piss, which is exactly what you’re doing!

It’s also pathetic and childish

Says more about you than me

Would have thought pathetic and childish is name calling but hey

No, it describing a behaviour

Pathetic and childish pretty much sums up this thread. Who said that? Give them a jelly bean.