Is David Rath our best appointment ever?

supersaints2

Is David Rath our best appointment ever?

Here is most of the article from the Age ..IMO He is going to be a very very good addition on his new position
The article also shows the coaching panel moves.
From my opinion I'm also glad to see Danny Sexton moved to another area

St Kilda have poached the AFL's top football guru David Rath to spearhead their football program, opening the door for former North Melbourne coach Brad Scott to join the league's football operations team.
Rath will become "head of football program" at the Saints and in doing so leave his role as the AFL's coaching innovation and education manager.
Prior to his time at the AFL he was Hawthorn's head of coaching services, where he implemented a ground-breaking kicking program among other lauded innovations, that made him a key influence in the club's recent premiership era.
"David is a really important appointment for the football club," Saints general manager of football Simon Lethlean said.

David Rath in 2010, during his time at the Hawks.
"We believe his knowledge, innovative thinking and strategic ability will give our football program a genuine edge moving forward.
"There are very few people in the industry with his level of experience and skill set.
"He will play a key role in shaping our football program alongside Brett Ratten and identifying areas for improvement across our coaching and football analysis team."

As the AFL's head of game analysis, hired by Hocking to give the league a better understanding of how football is played and its shape in the future, Rath has been a key figure in the rule changes that the AFL introduced at Hocking's behest last year, including six-six-six and the kick-in

In his new role, Rath will oversee St Kilda's assistant coaches, development coaches and football analysts. He will also be in charge of game plan, coach education and development, training, player skill acquisition, training analytics, game analysis and IT, leadership and player development.
Danny Sexton moves into the newly created role of head of football operations after 13 seasons in various coaching roles at the club. He will be in charge of football operations for the AFL, AFLW, VFL and VFLW operations.
The Saints have also hired Ben Robbins from North Melbourne to be the club's head of mental health and wellbeing, while former defender Sean Dempster joins the club as a part-time strength and conditioning coach.
Brendon Lade will replace new Saints senior coach Ratten as forward line and team offence coach, Adam Skrobalak will be midfield coach and Aaron Hamill will oversee the club's backline and team defence. Ben McGlynn will coach Sandringham in the VFL and Robbie Chancellor has been promoted to assistant and development coach

I used to be supersaints but after 16 years my profile dissapeared... ??? if I make any reference to past posts .. it will be under supersiants.. glad to be back on line

Re: Is David Rath our best appointment ever?

Betteridge's law of headlines.

But we'll see :D

Special

Edit the headline. His name is David Lee Rath

Secret Kiel

I'm really looking forward to watching our kicking skills in 2020, obviously with Ratten in charge our game plan is going to heavily rely on accurate kicking. It was interesting to learn that Brad Hill's kicking stats had deteriorated somewhat under 2 years of being coached by Ross Lyon, not surprising Ross's training had a heavy bias towards defence and zones and filling space and apparently a lot less on training skills by comparison to Clarko's training programs which apparently was heavily loaded with skills training. As such Brad's kicking wasn't as good which really does confirm skills like kicking are perishable. The exciting part for us is his skills were still elite during his time at Freo.

Special wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 7:08am Edit the headline. His name is David Lee Rath
I met a teenager called David Lee last year. I asked him if anyone ever called him David Lee Roth. He just gave me that blank stare like he'd never even heard the name.

I guess we move in different circles.

Regarding best appointment ever, I reckon Allan Jeans still gets the nod.

Ever? Ian Drake and Jeans amongst others.

Recently? We will have to wait and see. But yes his CV is good.

That Age article is months old!

..Good...I guess. In charge of game plan, training,game analysis, player development...geez...I wonder, what does the head coach do these days?

Secret Kiel

shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 10:48am ..Good...I guess. In charge of game plan, training,game analysis, player development...geez...I wonder, what does the head coach do these days?
press conferences

barneyboyz

kosifantutti wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 9:51am
Special wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 7:08am Edit the headline. His name is David Lee Rath
I met a teenager called David Lee last year. I asked him if anyone ever called him David Lee Roth. He just gave me that blank stare like he'd never even heard the name.

Ha ha, don't worry about the circles you move in kosi, David Lee Roth would have just turned 65 on October 10 (Wiki), and teenagers don't even listen to proper music anymore :)

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

With all of these great new people and especially their fancy titles, does Brett Ratten still have a job, other than attending the game and press conferences ??

Who reports to who and who makes the final decisions, looks a minefield. Stepping on other people's territories may become the main game.

Special

barneyboyz wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 2:23pm
kosifantutti wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 9:51am

Ha ha, don't worry about the circles you move in kosi, David Lee Roth would have just turned 65 on October 10 (Wiki), and teenagers don't even listen to proper music anymore :)
Agree. Hate the whinging shyte from these modern singers.

On a positive note, I took my 15 yr old daughter to see an excellent Queen cover band (5,000 crowd in Madrid!) and she knew many of the songs from watching Glee

Secret Kiel wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 9:10am I'm really looking forward to watching our kicking skills in 2020, obviously with Ratten in charge our game plan is going to heavily rely on accurate kicking. It was interesting to learn that Brad Hill's kicking stats had deteriorated somewhat under 2 years of being coached by Ross Lyon, not surprising Ross's training had a heavy bias towards defence and zones and filling space and apparently a lot less on training skills by comparison to Clarko's training programs which apparently was heavily loaded with skills training. As such Brad's kicking wasn't as good which really does confirm skills like kicking are perishable. The exciting part for us is his skills were still elite during his time at Freo.
1. Danny Sexton - Head of Football? Pfft - surely he's got photos of someone with a donkey. Or he's the donkey in the photos.

2. Did it really take David Rath to be appointed to address the diabolical kicking skills? I mean - they already hired Ben Dixon for goalkicking for negligible results (at best). I'm not sure how you can teach Ross and Dunstan - in particular - to hit a target at their respective ages - irrespective of who's coaching them.

Secret Kiel

Saintmatt wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 5:22pm
Secret Kiel wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 9:10am I'm really looking forward to watching our kicking skills in 2020, obviously with Ratten in charge our game plan is going to heavily rely on accurate kicking. It was interesting to learn that Brad Hill's kicking stats had deteriorated somewhat under 2 years of being coached by Ross Lyon, not surprising Ross's training had a heavy bias towards defence and zones and filling space and apparently a lot less on training skills by comparison to Clarko's training programs which apparently was heavily loaded with skills training. As such Brad's kicking wasn't as good which really does confirm skills like kicking are perishable. The exciting part for us is his skills were still elite during his time at Freo.
1. Danny Sexton - Head of Football? Pfft - surely he's got photos of someone with a donkey. Or he's the donkey in the photos.

2. Did it really take David Rath to be appointed to address the diabolical kicking skills? I mean - they already hired Ben Dixon for goalkicking for negligible results (at best). I'm not sure how you can teach Ross and Dunstan - in particular - to hit a target at their respective ages - irrespective of who's coaching them.
The thing we forget about Ross and Dunstan is that those two young fellas have done a really tough apprenticeship, they came into the AFL via a club that was at the start of a long rebuild, they debuted when they were boys and with boy bodies to match, Dunstan especially played hard in his first year and was really bashed up by the end of his second year. Opposition lined up their best for them most weeks because midfield talent was extremely weak in our team at that stage. Just have a look at how Daniel Rich went in 2019 when the cavalry arrived, he was a first round dp that really got Lions fans excited in his first year or so but due to being the number 1 banana most weeks he was a targeted man and it resulted in him frustrating lions fans, he was unfairly targeted for being some sort of disappointment to the fans. Anyway back on Ross and Dunstan, I am excited to see if these two can improve in 2020 with the extra A grade support they will have, it wont surprise if they go better by foot because it's amazing how much better a player can kick when he's not physically smashed. So hopefully an improved focus on skills training, plus them being just one more year in the system, so bigger fitter and stronger, and also the said A grade support being around them improves them and their kicking. We'll see.

I remember similar raptures at Pelchen's appointment.
Let's just wait a little while before creaming our pants!

whiskers3614 wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 8:31pm I remember similar raptures at Pelchen's appointment.
You need to get everything right. While most focus on Pelchen remember that;
- Bains was appointed before and left long after Pelchen
- Pelchen was appointed in 2011 as was Elshaugh (Trout) with Trout not leaving as the List Manager in 2018.
Pelchen was given the heave ho by the other two, but being left with the two stooges was not that helpful.

Our latest appointment has the advantage that the rest of his co-workers having already had a fair culling with many new appointments.

Footy clubs get success by doing many things right and in having many good people.

No

Chia Pelchen was, just ask everyone on SS from 2013!

Neil Balme.
If we got him, that would be our best appointment ever.

Once he settles in it will be just like living in paradise.

Secret Kiel

saintsRrising wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 9:26pm
whiskers3614 wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 8:31pm I remember similar raptures at Pelchen's appointment.
You need to get everything right. While most focus on Pelchen remember that;
- Bains was appointed before and left long after Pelchen
- Pelchen was appointed in 2011 as was Elshaugh (Trout) with Trout not leaving as the List Manager in 2018.
Pelchen was given the heave ho by the other two, but being left with the two stooges was not that helpful.

Our latest appointment has the advantage that the rest of his co-workers having already had a fair culling with many new appointments.

Footy clubs get success by doing many things right and in having many good people.

And for as long as possible.

SAINT-LEE

Absolute legend!
He is a good bloke.
He can rip your face off with his words and also say stuff that changes your life.
I chatted with him for a few hours on a flight back from Tassie years ago and without really knowing me from a bar of soap he ripped me a new ass over something I said, but in a way that inspired me to change my sales team completely and it mattered. We still use the idea, it works, I stopped complaining and took responsibility.

I have always respected him since that night and wondered if he memorized some guru books or something.

That said, I don't know if he still has the "touch" but I got a feeling.
I just don't want to be the one to ask though. I'm keen for more nuggets of wisdom but not the chainsaw through my soul.

I still don't know what the coach exclusively initiates nowadays but I'm hoping Diamond Dave really stirs up the nest in a good way.

My favourite David Lee Roth quote:

Money can't buy you happiness, but it can buy you a yacht big enough to pull up right alongside it.

I'm keen for more nuggets of wisdom but not the chainsaw through my soul.

best way is the quick way
someone was sure to say

shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 24 Oct 2019 10:48am ..Good...I guess. In charge of game plan, training,game analysis, player development...geez...I wonder, what does the head coach do these days?
I think the HEAD coach's job is to reduce the number of players being knocked unconscious.