Six Saints that surprised in 2021.

Re: Six Saints that surprised in 2021.

Byrnes could have been number 7

Jimmy Webster was one of the six mentioned in the article and they listed some of his scalps this year

Interesting that they think that Jimmy might feature in the Best and Fairest. Deserves a top ten place in my opinion

It always felt like Jimmy's ability and value was always judged by a narrow fan base through the prism of him being one of Richo's boy's. It was good to see him finally overcome his injury issues and get back to establishing himself as a bona fide top 10 player.

Vortex wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 9:26pm It always felt like Jimmy's ability and value was always judged by a narrow fan base through the prism of him being one of Richo's boy's. It was good to see him finally overcome his injury issues and get back to establishing himself as a bona fide top 10 player.
Will he keep Paton out next year?

Webster will finish top 5 or close to IMO

I think you’ll find 4 defenders in the top half dozen

All terrific, great acknowledgement well deserved.

My tribute would be to Hunter Clark. That brave effort in Cairns deserves to be in our folklore. Notwithstanding the tribunal Mackay's assault was a serious dog act. Hunter so brave. Hope he has healed and can return next year without any residual ill effects.

We haven't seen the best of Jimmy yet.

saynta wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 11:15pm We haven't seen the best of Jimmy yet.
Actually got better as the year went, confidence returned to his kicking by the last half of the year and he was spotting up 45 metre kicks into the corridor by the end of the year

Banger9798 wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 11:30pm
saynta wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 11:15pm We haven't seen the best of Jimmy yet.
Actually got better as the year went, confidence returned to his kicking by the last half of the year and he was spotting up 45 metre kicks into the corridor by the end of the year
I remember a poster on here quoting someone in the know that Jimmy will turn out one of the best players to come out of Tassie.

Way to go to join the greats, but still....

Yorkeys wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 11:13pm All terrific, great acknowledgement well deserved.

My tribute would be to Hunter Clark. That brave effort in Cairns deserves to be in our folklore. Notwithstanding the tribunal Mackay's assault was a serious dog act. Hunter so brave. Hope he has healed and can return next year without any residual ill effects.
Remember Jack Newnes.
Was a hard-at-it guy, tough in the contest, durable.
Until he went low for a ground ball vs Swines in about 2016 maybe. Came off 2nd best, bad head knock, and was never the same after that.
It changed him.
Players are human, they're not video game avatars.
I actually think he knocked heads with Hannas.

Somebody look it up

B.M wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 10:50pm Webster will finish top 5 or close to IMO

I think you’ll find 4 defenders in the top half dozen
I think Steele and Sinclair are a clear top 2. It's tough to pick after that - might come down to who played most of the season. If I had to guess:

1 - Steele
2 - Sinclair
3 - Howard
4 - Webster
5 - Crouch
6 - Higgins
7 - Membrey
8 - Wilkie
9 - Hill
10 - King

Paddy, Marshall, Jones, Dunstan, McKenzie, Highmore all probably played too few games to crack the top 10.

Jacks Back wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 10:34pm
Vortex wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 9:26pm It always felt like Jimmy's ability and value was always judged by a narrow fan base through the prism of him being one of Richo's boy's. It was good to see him finally overcome his injury issues and get back to establishing himself as a bona fide top 10 player.
You'd have to think Jim starts rounds 1 while Paton builds himself backup again.. Paton has a tough task to break back in and my guess is if he's playing seniors before round 6 then the wheels have fallen off again.

I reckon Wilkie will finish higher than that, as high as 3rd IMO

Not sure Higgins will make the top 10?

Not a hope in hell. Paton potentially one of the best lockdown small defenders in the game. (Big call, I know). Reckon Jimmy might be played further up the ground next year swapping between HBF and Wingman. His kick is deadly and could be used more in attack.

B.M wrote: Fri 17 Sep 2021 10:40am I reckon Wilkie will finish higher than that, as high as 3rd IMO

Yeah mate I think Wilkie will finish around 5th as well. He has been very consistent & durable all year IMO

bangaulegend wrote: Fri 17 Sep 2021 11:50am
B.M wrote: Fri 17 Sep 2021 10:40am I reckon Wilkie will finish higher than that, as high as 3rd IMO

Yeah mate I think Wilkie will finish around 5th as well. He has been very consistent & durable all year IMO

I’m sure the rankings get skewed by the late season mood and games.

Perhaps even Dunstan might be top ten, based on a solid mid season.

Higgins’s unfortunate 1.7 game surely must earn him some love (oddly) especially after atoning a few games later kicking four or so.

Gonna be very interesting to see how they poll.

No, he will not keep Paton out. And Paton will not keep Webster out.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Fri 17 Sep 2021 1:52pm
So then Trev, how would image the starting back six to ideally look from 2022?

It’s normally a back 7

My guess
Howard, Wilkie, Highmore, Webster, Paton, Sinclair, Battle/Coffield

bangaulegend re Wilkie: He has been very consistent & durable all year

‘Ken Oath!

Wilkie played every game in 2021. He played 100% game time in 9 of his 22 games and averaged around 95% game time for the other 12 matches.

If Wilkie doesn’t finish in the top 5 there’s something very wrong in the way they vote.

It makes you realise how reliant we are on the 2 KP defenders. Dougal only missed 1 game all year and also stays out on the ground with similar game time to Callum. In 8 games this year Howard was on the ground for 100% game time

I think with Battle getting over his stress fractures he’ll be needed at times to take on teams with 3 tall forwards. Although maybe Highmore will cement a spot and I think that means Battle only plays in defence if one of our tall defenders is injured. In most games, the combination of Highmore/Paton/Webster/Sinclair/Coffield will get the job done

WellardSaint wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 11:56pm
Yorkeys wrote: Thu 16 Sep 2021 11:13pm All terrific, great acknowledgement well deserved.

Remember Jack Newnes.
Was a hard-at-it guy, tough in the contest, durable.
Until he went low for a ground ball vs Swines in about 2016 maybe. Came off 2nd best, bad head knock, and was never the same after that.
It changed him.
Players are human, they're not video game avatars.
I actually think he knocked heads with Hannas.

Somebody look it up
Regarding the concussion to Newnes, I recall Jack Sinclair had a similar very heavy knock early in his career. It was in his second season with us and it set him back quite a bit.

He’s been in and out of the side for a few years and perhaps coinciding with him maturing as a person ( plus with a couple of seasons under Ratts) he is now achieving his potential.

Well done to Sincs for a fantastic year and runner up in the TBM

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 17 Sep 2021 3:01pm
I have absolutely no idea, I am not on the StKilda coaching panel. However, I am smart enough not to pigeon- hole players. A year ago, many geniuses were expecting / wanting / demanding Jack Sinclair to be delisted. Not traded, because nobody would want a one dimensional small forward like him. Tonight, he is the runner-up in Trevor Barker Medal. The coaches must have shared my thoughts.

Do you get my drift?

Paton is young enough and good enough to play anywhere he is put. We should be grateful Jimmy has returned to the team with the form he displayed.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Fri 17 Sep 2021 10:28pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 17 Sep 2021 3:01pm
I have absolutely no idea, I am not on the StKilda coaching panel. However, I am smart enough not to pigeon- hole players. A year ago, many geniuses were expecting / wanting / demanding Jack Sinclair to be delisted. Not traded, because nobody would want a one dimensional small forward like him. Tonight, he is the runner-up in Trevor Barker Medal. The coaches must have shared my thoughts.

Do you get my drift?

Paton is young enough and good enough to play anywhere he is put. We should be grateful Jimmy has returned to the team with the form he displayed.
aha!

Easy to do..easy to do.

I liked Sinclair and Hill, but I am surprised at Membrey and Ross so high. I blame Members after he shanks a shot - which is often - but I don't pay him enough credit for the work he does to get there and take those grabs, including running all the way down for kick outs etc., His fitness, in a year we were weak, must have been great. Same for Sincs.