Time to assemble the selection panel?

In view of the multitude of posts calling for a change in Senior Coach and assistants, would it not be wise to begin the "process" (God, THAT'S an overworked phrase at our dear club!) of preparing the groundwork now for selecting the VERY best "bright new hope" to be our senior coach?

Who would we have on the selection panel? Hmmmmmmm? Oh yeah, dear old Robert Walls, perhaps Lindsay Fox? Cadel Evans? Eric Bana? Steve Bedwell?

What about candidates? Well there's HEAPS of talent available, ready-made to step into the job, and get us the flag in one-two seasons.....(OR ELSE!) let's see......... there's ...........? Oh yes...Rocket Eade ( well he WILL be available next year)
Nathan Buckley, Michael Voss, Choco Williams, Brenton Sanderson, MICK MALTHOUSE ! GRANT THOMAS has unfinished business at the club!

While we're at it, maybe we could ( in best Blues Brothers tradition) " get the old band together" you know.... President Butterss, CEO Waldron, and GT! NOW we're talkin!

Can't wait for those " happier times" to just come rocking back!

Oooooh wait on, almost forgot....... we could ask Blighty if he'd like to have another go!

sainters85

Re: Time to assemble the selection panel?

maybe we should have selected choco over richo those years ago. We also selected richo because of the hype surrounding the exciting and electrifying game style that port were showing. However, they were pretty s*** the next few years so it all turned out disastrous for us

sainters85 wrote:maybe we should have selected choco over richo those years ago. We also selected richo because of the hype surrounding the exciting and electrifying game style that port were showing. However, they were pretty s*** the next few years so it all turned out disastrous for us

Spot-ON! Disastrous indeed! Call out the fire brigade I say! Look folks, there really is only ONE foolproof, completely FOOLPROOF way of getting ourselves a Flag-winning coach, and here it is: ( don't forget you heard it HERE! From the Jiggster!)

(1) We assemble as many of the faithful as can fit into Moorabbin

(2) We ALL join hands and begin singing "oh when the Saints go marching in"

(3) We wait, very patiently, very respectfully, for the second coming of Yabby Jeans!

Yes folks! The St Kilda Footy Club, ever the innovators, will select a Flag Winning coach via a mass-seance! Let me hear y'all say HALLELUJAH !!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Richo is the right choice he just needs a change up in assistants. Particularly to get rid of Sexton the guy is that incompetently over rated.

Impatient Sainter wrote:Richo is the right choice he just needs a change up in assistants. Particularly to get rid of Sexton the guy is that incompetently over rated.
Too late mate! Doris Stokes is on her way to Moorabbin for the "second coming" of Yabby Jeans! Can I hear a HALLELUJAH ?!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

He's got another year to go but he would have to get massive improvement out of the list to get a new contract.
This year we have looked fairly good in our wins , but the losses have been pathetic. Early in games you can see that if our game plan isn't working, we look hopeless . For the rest of the game it doesn't change.
Last week we had 42 more possessions than the swans , they had a few more clearances and a few more contested possessions. So WTF were we doing with the ball
Surely the coaches would say kick the effing thing into the forward line. This only happened 37 times for the match .
Things have to change big time, when game plan A doesn't work.

Time for the seance mate! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

thejiggingsaint wrote:Time for the seance mate! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Just don't invite James Randi, Jiggster! :D

White Winmar wrote:
ROKAY!

White Winmar wrote:
ROKAY!

Hang on a minute!
There isn't a "multitude of posts" calling for Richo to be burned at the stake.
I think we have many naughty posters (one from Perth, goes by initials WS)
who say Richo isn't the Messiah, he's "just a naughty boy"
And we have a lot who want to keep this "false prophet" (my words)

OK, there's a multitude of posts then.
Richo is polarising

I would like a selection panel to NOT include rusty old ex-coaches who live in the past (Walls and Malthouse)
They have their own stupid ideas that belong in an era when they could belt someone off the ball to demonstrate toughness.

We need some former players that only retired after 2010 and are currently in the system as assistants.
No media performers, because these blokes don't know the day-to-day stuff behind the scenes at a club.

Richo needs to go, as do the Disciples, they all have to go.
If the false prophet has to remain, my dream is for every single assistant to clean out their desks and walk away
and make room for new blood.

WellardSaint wrote:Hang on a minute!
There isn't a "multitude of posts" calling for Richo to be burned at the stake.
I think we have many naughty posters (one from Perth, goes by initials WS)
who say Richo isn't the Messiah, he's "just a naughty boy"
And we have a lot who want to keep this "false prophet" (my words)

OK, there's a multitude of posts then.
Richo is polarising

I would like a selection panel to NOT include rusty old ex-coaches who live in the past (Walls and Malthouse)
They have their own stupid ideas that belong in an era when they could belt someone off the ball to demonstrate toughness.

We need some former players that only retired after 2010 and are currently in the system as assistants.
No media performers, because these blokes don't know the day-to-day stuff behind the scenes at a club.

Richo needs to go, as do the Disciples, they all have to go.
If the false prophet has to remain, my dream is for every single assistant to clean out their desks and walk away
and make room for new blood.
Oh I THINK you'll find there IS a "multitude of posts calling for the coach to go" ...... IF you read between the lines :lol: as a matter of fact they began the day after Richo was appointed........ they just hadn't been articulated on HERE. SPOT-on re: Richo not being the Messiah....... (we ALL know that the true Messiah is Blight!) so yes, burn him at the stake for the heretic he is!
Can I get a HALLELUJAH ?!

It doesn't matter who is coach- results are the only thing, and climbing the ladder is the indicator- if the coach can't achieve that, then usually they are moved on. If we don't get higher than 9 this season, then Richo and the recruiters I expect will be under scrutiny.

spert wrote:It doesn't matter who is coach- results are the only thing, and climbing the ladder is the indicator- if the coach can't achieve that, then usually they are moved on. If we don't get higher than 9 this season, then Richo and the recruiters I expect will be under scrutiny.
Well it looks like they're gathering the kindling then!

santazzi

Here it is TJS......HALLELUJA........

OR...........
" say it out LOUD! I'm Saints an' I'm PROUD!"

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

thejiggingsaint wrote:
spert wrote:It doesn't matter who is coach- results are the only thing, and climbing the ladder is the indicator- if the coach can't achieve that, then usually they are moved on. If we don't get higher than 9 this season, then Richo and the recruiters I expect will be under scrutiny.
If I wasn't stuck in Perth,
I'd be marching along East St (East Rd?) carrying a pitchfork and a burning torch
(not a Dolphin torch, but a medieval one- a big stick with a burning cloth wrapped around the end)

WellardSaint wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:
I'd be marching along East St (East Rd?) carrying a pitchfork and a burning torch
(not a Dolphin torch, but a medieval one- a big stick with a burning cloth wrapped around the end)
:lol: :lol: :lol: oh yes! always have to have the "burning cloth wrapped around the end"..... no fun otherwise :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

There is some merit in getting rid of our assistant coaches. But are any one of them worth keeping?

borderbarry wrote:There is some merit in getting rid of our assistant coaches. But are any one of them worth keeping?
Kingsley? Personally, I'd love to see someone like Eade in the coaches box with Richo. Rocket may not have the requirements of a senior coach, but as an assistant? Could be the vital piece in the jigsaw for us.

oh when the

The Club could do with a Rocket

oh when the wrote:The Club could do with a Rocket
:lol: nice one! :lol: yes, it's hard to disagree with that assessment! However, should they beat Port this week, I'll certainly "be in orbit"!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

thejiggingsaint wrote:
WellardSaint wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:
:lol: :lol: :lol: oh yes! always have to have the "burning cloth wrapped around the end"..... no fun otherwise :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

spert wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:
WellardSaint wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:
NICE one Spert! The dude showed Alice Cooper a thing or two!